Compaq Deskpro 386 keeps complaining about CMOS?

Emulation of old PCs, PC hardware, or PC peripherals.

Compaq Deskpro 386 keeps complaining about CMOS?

Postby superfury » 2017-11-15 @ 19:45

I have the CMOS fully emulated(with RTC clock synchronized with actual system time difference(in nanoseconds) instead of in-emulation clock, although interrupts are synchronized with the emulator CPU clocking). It emulates 128 bytes of CMOS RAM at 0x70/0x71. But the Deskpro 386 keeps complaining about an uninitialized BIOS for some odd reason? Does the secondary CMOS at 0x74/0x76 (http://bochs.sourceforge.net/techspec/PORTS.LST) exist in that machine as well? Is that why it's complaining?
superfury
l33t
 
Posts: 2040
Joined: 2014-3-08 @ 11:25
Location: Netherlands

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386 keeps complaining about CMOS?

Postby vladstamate » 2017-11-16 @ 16:08

Do you see it reading/writing to 74/76?

It is also possible that by "uninitialized" it actually means checksum error. So watch out for reads from address 2E/2F and then in the code see what value it compares against.
User avatar
vladstamate
Oldbie
 
Posts: 689
Joined: 2015-8-23 @ 01:43

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386 keeps complaining about CMOS?

Postby superfury » 2017-11-16 @ 17:32

Well, the test AT BIOS i've used before(besides protected mode issues) also said errors exist with the CMOS, but that shouldn't be true(I see it writing and reading values from CMOS RAM and RTC time properly after all)? So a CPU error on it's data?

UniPCemu's CMOS emulation: https://bitbucket.org/superfury/unipcem ... ?at=master

PORT_readCMOS and PORT_writeCMOS handle I/O 70/71 as well as XT RTC emulation.

Can you see any problem?
superfury
l33t
 
Posts: 2040
Joined: 2014-3-08 @ 11:25
Location: Netherlands

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386 keeps complaining about CMOS?

Postby superfury » 2017-11-21 @ 23:12

I've just tried the Supersoft/Landmark AT ROM from mimuszerodegrees again. It detects faults in CGA Memory(should work fine, though, using VGA emulation modes transparently with some extra CGA/MDA wrapping?), CMOS RAM(odd, since it's a simple RAM array being accessed?) and keyboard errors? It crashes after the CGA RAM test reporting beeps, rebooting?

Can anyone see what causes the CMOS RAM reads/writes to go bad? All CMOS RAM memory accesses should be correctly mapped, then WHY is it always erroring out?
superfury
l33t
 
Posts: 2040
Joined: 2014-3-08 @ 11:25
Location: Netherlands


Return to PC Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Leoprime and 3 guests