PCI OPL3 card?

Emulation of old PCs, PC hardware, or PC peripherals.

PCI OPL3 card?

Postby MrGlasspoole » 2019-6-18 @ 17:24

I'm building a portable PC and it would be nice to have original OPL3 sound in DOSBox/ScummVM.

This is my main XP gaming machine but will also have Win 8.1 and maybe Win 10.
So there are no ISA slots but 3x PCI.

Is there a real OPL3 PCI card out there with 8.1 (maybe 10) drivers?
The main PCI sound card is a Auzentech X-FI Prelude 7.1
User avatar
MrGlasspoole
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2014-5-27 @ 13:50

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby Rawit » 2019-6-18 @ 17:35

Parallel port available? OPL3LPT might be an option.
User avatar
Rawit
Member
 
Posts: 324
Joined: 2015-4-17 @ 07:01

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby MrGlasspoole » 2019-6-18 @ 21:01

Never heart of it before.

The board does not have a parallel port. But with one of these its not a problem to add one:
https://www.sybausa.com/index.php?route ... h=64_77_83

Already have such a controller card in my workstation for the old HP LaserJet's :happy:
20-25 years old and still printing...
User avatar
MrGlasspoole
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2014-5-27 @ 13:50

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby mothergoose729 » 2019-6-18 @ 22:25

MrGlasspoole wrote:Never heart of it before.

The board does not have a parallel port. But with one of these its not a problem to add one:
https://www.sybausa.com/index.php?route ... h=64_77_83

Already have such a controller card in my workstation for the old HP LaserJet's :happy:
20-25 years old and still printing...


The most affordable is the YMF744. You can get new old stock on ebay, look for AOPEN Yamaha XG.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNCg_zy1_d4
mothergoose729
Oldbie
 
Posts: 517
Joined: 2018-4-10 @ 03:04

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-6-19 @ 01:41

mothergoose729 wrote:The most affordable is the YMF744. You can get new old stock on ebay, look for AOPEN Yamaha XG.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNCg_zy1_d4


Driver support ends at XP/2000 for all of the YMF7xx based cards.

Edit: You may be able to get it working in Windows Vista / 7/ 8 / 10.. but you would have to be running a 32-bit version of Windows which is really lame since you won't be able to run 64-bit applicatyions and you will be limited to 4GB RAM.
See here:
https://www.driverguide.com/driver/detail.php?driverid=1033909

However, you can get a USB to ISA adapter and use the special DOSBOX code / version that the makers of the adapter released. They come in 1, 3, and 7 slot configurations:
http://arstech.com/install/ecom-catshow/usb2.0.html

Software info:
http://arstech.com/install/cms-display/ste_uniformdos.html

That way you should be able to use an ISA sound card.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby MrGlasspoole » 2019-6-19 @ 09:09

That USB ISA adapter is to expensive for something that would be just an add-on to this build.
I have 2 Voodoo DOS machines and it was just an idea to make this build a DOS emulator i can use anywhere.

I don't see drivers for the OPL3LPT? Does it work in Win 8.1/10 x64?
I like the idea of the OPL3LPT because you could also use it with an old Thinkpad.
User avatar
MrGlasspoole
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2014-5-27 @ 13:50

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby Rawit » 2019-6-19 @ 09:31

I think you need this: https://github.com/datajake1999/OPL3EMU

This topic has some info: viewtopic.php?f=62&t=57951&start=100

From what I gather the driver is an OPL emulator which a passthrough option to real hardware.
User avatar
Rawit
Member
 
Posts: 324
Joined: 2015-4-17 @ 07:01

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby MrGlasspoole » 2019-6-19 @ 09:34

Just found this:
https://sites.google.com/site/yamahasou ... river/home
https://www.helpjet.net/Fs-89169514-460 ... 60909.html

I wonder if it will work.

EDIT:
Another question came up.

Is there a cheap PCI/PCIe MIDI card (intelligent mode)?
Is intelligent mode needed in DOSBox/ScummVM?

Or is there a USB Midi and do they have intelligent mode?
If i get it right the Roland UM-ONE goes from "MIDI to USB" and is not a USB MIDI card?
User avatar
MrGlasspoole
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2014-5-27 @ 13:50

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-6-19 @ 14:09

MrGlasspoole wrote:Just found this:
https://sites.google.com/site/yamahasou ... river/home
https://www.helpjet.net/Fs-89169514-460 ... 60909.html

I wonder if it will work.

EDIT:
Another question came up.

Is there a cheap PCI/PCIe MIDI card (intelligent mode)?
Is intelligent mode needed in DOSBox/ScummVM?

Or is there a USB Midi and do they have intelligent mode?
If i get it right the Roland UM-ONE goes from "MIDI to USB" and is not a USB MIDI card?


The first link is to the same 32-bit XP driver that can be made to work in 32-bit Windows 7 / 8, and maybe 10.
That second link is for the fake remarked CMI based cards.

There are no PCI or PCIe intelligent mode midi cards.
The Roland UM-ONE is a Midi USB card.. but no intelligent mode.

DOSBOX has an intelligent mode midi option built in.
https://www.dosbox.com/wiki/Configuration:MIDI
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby MrGlasspoole » 2019-6-19 @ 17:21

So the UM-ONE works in both ways?

The X-FI Prelude does not have a MIDI port. Only with an add-on card that is hard to find.
If i want to go the MIDI emulation route like here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSk9S1bkRS8
i need two UM-ONE and connect them?

One is MIDI out from the "game PC" and the other one is MIDI in for the "MIDI emulation PC"?

That DOSBox intelligent mode option means that games that need it do work?

EDIT:
Just realised i make it maybe to complicated.
If i use DOSBox i don't need a MIDI output or "MIDI emulation PC" - right?
I can run the Falcosoft MIDI Player and DOSBox on the same PC at the same time...

But I'm still curious if it would work with two UM-ONE?
User avatar
MrGlasspoole
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2014-5-27 @ 13:50

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-6-19 @ 21:11

The UM-ONE has both an input and and output.

The only games that would need intelligent mode would be most games that use the Roland MT-32 for music. Nothing else needs it as far as I am aware.

You can always use MUNT for MT-32 emulation though.

Also, OPL3 has nothing to do with MIDI.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby MrGlasspoole » 2019-6-20 @ 01:41

Sure OPL has nothing to do with MIDI.
The OPL question is already clarified but non of the MIDI questions.
User avatar
MrGlasspoole
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2014-5-27 @ 13:50

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-6-20 @ 01:53

MrGlasspoole wrote:Sure OPL has nothing to do with MIDI.
The OPL question is already clarified but non of the MIDI questions.


Ok, gotcha. Just wanted to make sure as there have been a few threads that the person was confusing MIDI and OPL3.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: PCI OPL3 card?

Postby dr_st » 2019-6-20 @ 07:53

Might want to look into this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=31&t=51520
User avatar
dr_st
l33t
 
Posts: 2002
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18


Return to PC Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests