DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby _Rob » 2019-3-20 @ 13:27

rfc wrote:Hi, I downloaded (updated) from the latest version at http://members.quicknet.nl/blankendaalr/dbgl/ but fetching meta-data via Moby doesn't work.

No error message, just always get:
> Moby Games returns no results for "Commander Keen"

Tried it with lots of other words, always the same. I noticed that the feedback dialog comes _almost_ instant, like it doesn't even try. Unfortunately I couldn't find any debug log or so to dig into this myself.

Pouet.net seems to work for some I tried.

TheGamesDB.net consistently throws a SAX error:
> Technical information: org.xml.sax.SAXPArseException; lineNumber: 1; columnNumber: 50; White spaces are required between publicId and systemId

I don't care much abuot pouet/thegamesDB but Moby would be nice to get working again.

Thanks!

PS: AFICS I made sure to update _all_ files (dbgl.jar, lib folder jars, xsl, launcher exe, etc.)


Known problem, just grab the latest version from here for now: http://members.quicknet.nl/r.blankendaal/090/
_Rob
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2019-2-03 @ 10:46

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby Neville » 2019-3-20 @ 13:43

I'm having Alpha 3 freezes after removing categories from the profile list. Can't reproduce it with a fresh install, so there's that.

Using Java JRE 8 Update 131 as well, I should update it.
User avatar
Neville
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: 2004-8-09 @ 14:01

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby rcblanke » 2019-3-21 @ 21:07

Neville wrote:.. freezes after removing categories from the profile list.

Can you please explain what it is exactly that you're doing, I do not understand?
User avatar
rcblanke
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1359
Joined: 2005-4-01 @ 09:44
Location: Sethanon

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby Neville » 2019-3-22 @ 01:06

Sorry. After setting up a few test profiles, I went to Preferences and removed several items from the profile list, such as Setup, Publisher or DBID.
User avatar
Neville
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: 2004-8-09 @ 14:01

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby Neville » 2019-3-22 @ 15:47

I''ve updated to Java JRE 8 Update 192 x64. Alpha3 seems more stable, but I'm exiting DBGL after every change, trying to find issues, because two previous installs just stopped working. One froze as explained above, and the second wouldn't show anything after setting up a few profiles.

Of course I'm not using this alpha versions on my regular collection, instead I keep a small install just for testing purposes.

Image

EDIT: I think I found a bug... if there are Internet addresses in your link boxes, DBGL adds the current folder to them. I've imported a few more profiles, and when I click on their MobyGames entries I get error messages, naturally. Editing the profiles doesn't solve it either, it keeps adding the folder name unless you add https:// to MobyGames links. New profiles aren't affected.
User avatar
Neville
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: 2004-8-09 @ 14:01

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby jaygame1 » 2019-3-23 @ 20:21

Hey, one thing I think needs adding is when you have multiple box shots of a game, you should be able to select which one should be used for the game in the list. You know, like the "Use screenshot in profiles list" that D-Fend has...

There's another issue with 0.9 alpha 3: The "Edit Profile" box doesn't save my changes when I hit Ok. When I edit the game, in the "Mounting" tab, the executable boxes are blank. After refilling them and hitting OK, it acts as if nothing was entered into the executable boxes, and sure enough, if I edit the profile, the boxes are blank again.
jaygame1
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-8-12 @ 00:52

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby ANGO » 2019-3-26 @ 07:33

rcblanke wrote:
Neville wrote:.. freezes after removing categories from the profile list.

Can you please explain what it is exactly that you're doing, I do not understand?


It´s working fine for me, no matter which category I select or deselect

Image
ANGO
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2018-8-30 @ 17:59

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby Neville » 2019-3-26 @ 13:45

I should stress that I have not suffered any unexpected crashes since I updated to Java JRE 8 Update 192 x64.
User avatar
Neville
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: 2004-8-09 @ 14:01

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby dbgl-user » 2019-4-06 @ 10:41

hi there,

i noticed that dbgl 0.90 a3 seems not to be portable anymore under linux.

i needed to move its folder to /home/user and rename it to .dbgl in order to get it working, otherwise it would complain about missing the default.xml template.

quick question: i am very much after a portable usage. dbgl is the only program asking for an installed java runtime (openjdk java 11) here. any chance to include it in the dbgl folder just like dosbox, so to create a 'portable' linux dbgl version? this way, i could finally uninstall java.
dbgl-user
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-4-06 @ 10:23

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby danlucio » 2019-4-07 @ 01:15

jaygame1 wrote:Hey, one thing I think needs adding is when you have multiple box shots of a game, you should be able to select which one should be used for the game in the list. You know, like the "Use screenshot in profiles list" that D-Fend has...


It would be very useful, I also wish that! Another nice thing would be a column in the list for the game cover (like that one for screenshot)
User avatar
danlucio
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-4-07 @ 00:55

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby ANGO » 2019-4-09 @ 08:40

danlucio wrote:
jaygame1 wrote:Hey, one thing I think needs adding is when you have multiple box shots of a game, you should be able to select which one should be used for the game in the list. You know, like the "Use screenshot in profiles list" that D-Fend has...


It would be very useful, I also wish that! Another nice thing would be a column in the list for the game cover (like that one for screenshot)


... also a function to sort the screenshots per drag & drop, would be great ;)
ANGO
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2018-8-30 @ 17:59

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby rcblanke » 2019-5-08 @ 14:36

Thanks for the testing, comments and replies people!

0.90 ALPHA 4 is up:
  • Fixed portability for Linux and MacOS, the directory structure was incorrectly created in ~/.dbgl/ (dbgl-user);
  • Fixed internet addresses in link boxes, also when importing profiles (Neville);
  • Fixed link boxes relative paths;
  • Fixed possible crash when removing visible columns from profile table (Neville)

All the latest files
To upgrade from another alpha build, update the dbgl.jar as usual
User avatar
rcblanke
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1359
Joined: 2005-4-01 @ 09:44
Location: Sethanon

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby Neville » 2019-5-08 @ 15:39

I unzipped it right on top of the earlier release... it seems as stable as the previous alpha. The internet addresses are indeed fixed, but I noticed the links can't display the "&" symbol.

https://i.imgur.com/VgPCKFh.png

The last link under the description of "Gunship 2000" should read "Manual Islands & Ice", but the & symbol is missing.

EDIT:; Also, now DBGL never remembers window size and position after exit.
User avatar
Neville
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: 2004-8-09 @ 14:01

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby rcblanke » 2019-5-08 @ 18:18

Thank you Neville, both issues should be fixed in ALPHA5.
User avatar
rcblanke
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1359
Joined: 2005-4-01 @ 09:44
Location: Sethanon

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby pantercat » 2019-5-09 @ 11:44

Hi, I think I found a bug. Same result with alpha3 and alpha5.

When in profile / info properties the "link 1" field is empty, the characters are displayed on top of each other. I'm using Debian testing.

Image


Image

Thanks
pantercat
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-9-06 @ 17:22

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby rotaxt » 2019-5-10 @ 11:55

hi!

if i want to use DOSBox ECE inside of the new DBGL 0.90 - is there anything special to take care of or are both programs working together "out of the box"?

thanks and best regards
rotaxt
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2015-1-11 @ 19:48

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby arobbo » 2019-5-10 @ 12:44

Hi Ronald - great job with dbgl90 alpha 4 (now 5), many thanks! Working well in Win10pro where I set it up on a fresh install and was able to import a few of my collections from a 32-bit Puppy Linux setup (dbgl82), and finally complete some retrievals from the Moby database etc. Back in the Puppy Linux environment however when I updated with your alpha5 links, I received this error below, and I wonder if it signifies that currently only 64-bit platforms are currently operational? Many Thanks for such great work on DBGL :)
Code: Select all
Launching DBGL using 32-Bit VM 1.8.0_212 on Linux v4.1.48i386, HSQL Database Engine 1.8.1.3, SWT v4924gtk
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: Cannot load 64-bit SWT libraries on 32-bit JVM
   at org.eclipse.swt.internal.Library.loadLibrary(Library.java:261)
   at org.eclipse.swt.internal.Library.loadLibrary(Library.java:241)
   at org.eclipse.swt.internal.C.<clinit>(C.java:19)
   at org.eclipse.swt.internal.Callback.<clinit>(Callback.java:41)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Control.<clinit>(Control.java:100)
   at org.dbgl.gui.dialog.MainWindow.<init>(MainWindow.java:152)
   at org.dbgl.gui.Launcher.main(Launcher.java:52)
Script completed hit RETURN to close window.
arobbo
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-5-10 @ 12:29

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby dbgl-user » 2019-5-11 @ 08:23

@rcblanke: thanks for alpha5. regarding portability, i moved dbgl to its former location and upgraded it. when starting the new version, the layout returned to default setup. also, a hidden .dbgl folder is now created under home upon every start, still making it not as portable as before.

forgot to mention the .dosbox folder under home, which is also created, btw.
dbgl-user
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-4-06 @ 10:23

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby rcblanke » 2019-5-15 @ 09:53

rotaxt wrote:if i want to use DOSBox ECE inside of the new DBGL 0.90 - is there anything special to take care of or are both programs working together "out of the box"?
Should be the same as for DBGL 0.82, see the website. Let me know if you experience any issues!

jaygame1 wrote:Hey, one thing I think needs adding is when you have multiple box shots of a game, you should be able to select which one should be used for the game in the list.
Screenshot filenames are sorted alphabetically and the first one is always used in the list. Maybe in the future I'll add support for a manual picture selection.

ANGO wrote:... also a function to sort the screenshots per drag & drop, would be great ;)
... Would be great :happy:

danlucio wrote:Another nice thing would be a column in the list for the game cover (like that one for screenshot)
Hmm, didn't think of that before, I'll put it on my to-do list...

arobbo wrote:... a 32-bit Puppy Linux setup (dbgl82), and finally complete some retrievals from the Moby database etc. Back in the Puppy Linux environment however when I updated with your alpha5 links, I received this error below, and I wonder if it signifies that currently only 64-bit platforms are currently operational?
Code: Select all
Launching DBGL using 32-Bit VM 1.8.0_212 on Linux v4.1.48i386, HSQL Database Engine 1.8.1.3, SWT v4924gtk
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: Cannot load 64-bit SWT libraries on 32-bit JVM
   at org.eclipse.swt.internal.Library.loadLibrary(Library.java:261)
   at org.eclipse.swt.internal.Library.loadLibrary(Library.java:241)
   at org.eclipse.swt.internal.C.<clinit>(C.java:19)
   at org.eclipse.swt.internal.Callback.<clinit>(Callback.java:41)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Control.<clinit>(Control.java:100)
   at org.dbgl.gui.dialog.MainWindow.<init>(MainWindow.java:152)
   at org.dbgl.gui.Launcher.main(Launcher.java:52)
Script completed hit RETURN to close window.
Correct, the various DBGL 0.90alphaX packages only contain /lib/swt.jar files for 64-bit operation systems. If you really want to use DBGL 0.90 on a 32-bit system, you'll need to download the appropriate latest SWT release for your OS - in your case you'll need this. Extract the contents of the archive and rename swt.jar to swtlin64.jar and copy it into your dbgl/lib folder, overwriting the existing file there. Then DBGL should work on your Puppy Linux just fine, methinks.

dbgl-user wrote:regarding portability, i moved dbgl to its former location and upgraded it. when starting the new version, the layout returned to default setup. also, a hidden .dbgl folder is now created under home upon every start, still making it not as portable as before. forgot to mention the .dosbox folder under home, which is also created, btw.
Well, the ~/.dbgl folder is DBGL's default location for user-generated content such as profiles, templates and the like, but if you just want to use the main dbgl directory for this data, simply edit the ./dbgl startup script and set the parameter dbgl.data.userhome=true to false, like so:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
export SWT_GTK3=0
symlink=`find "$0" -printf "%l"`
cd "`dirname "${symlink:-$0}"`"
"${JAVA_HOME:-/usr}"/bin/java -Djava.library.path=lib -Ddbgl.data.userhome=false -jar dbgl.jar
If you already have created some content, you will probably want to copy/move the existing data in ~/.dbgl into your main dbgl directory. Regarding the .dosbox folder, I think that is the default location for dosbox.conf, but if you want to make it all portable, put DOSBox' executable and dosbox.conf into a subdirectory of dbgl and configure it as such in DBGL (see attached image).

jaygame1 wrote:The "Edit Profile" box doesn't save my changes when I hit Ok. When I edit the game, in the "Mounting" tab, the executable boxes are blank. After refilling them and hitting OK, it acts as if nothing was entered into the executable boxes, and sure enough, if I edit the profile, the boxes are blank again.
That sounds pretty bad - is this problem easily reproducible? If so, can you explain exactly what you're doing, maybe with screenshots? PM me directly, if you like.
Attachments
portable.jpg
User avatar
rcblanke
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1359
Joined: 2005-4-01 @ 09:44
Location: Sethanon

Re: DOSBox Game Launcher (DOSBox Frontend)

Postby rcblanke » 2019-5-15 @ 10:03

pantercat wrote:When in profile / info properties the "link 1" field is empty, the characters are displayed on top of each other.
Thank you, the issue is fixed in ALPHA6.
User avatar
rcblanke
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1359
Joined: 2005-4-01 @ 09:44
Location: Sethanon

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest