CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX (Commited r3804)

Here you can discuss the development of patches

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby kiyotewolfe » 2011-2-23 @ 09:15

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B9rTTvlXICE

The Ranma sample video in *.CGA format, under DOSBOX, in my viewer.
User avatar
kiyotewolfe
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-2-19 @ 17:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby leileilol » 2011-2-23 @ 12:24

BdR wrote: it's just made to look as if it is running on CGA.


To pull that off would need to
- cgamap, a 256-byte table with one of 16 colors to map to
- a decent x86 ASM screen blitter algorithm to calculate which of these to choose in 640x200 CGA
- a re-port of DOOM using Hexen sources as a DOS platform base, and hooking Apogee Sound System to it for making up the lack of DMX (theoretically better than crappy Allegro solutions found in all those dos doom ports)
94cheen : AM5x86P75ADW@160mhz; AWE64; Trio64v+ 1mb; 95C
97cheen : PII-300; 440LX; AWE32 8MB; Voodoo3 3000 16mb; 98se
pvrcheen : P4 2.8GHz Northwood; SBPCI128; Rage128 32mb; PowerVR PCX2 4mb; 98se
PRJ: Q3V - 3dfx Pixel Shader - Engoo
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 5991
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby nikiniki » 2011-3-01 @ 13:39

kiyotewolfe wrote:Anyone interested in the source codes of both the player & the transcoder?

They require QuickBasic to be compiled into *.EXE files.



~Kiyote!

o3o Anyone like what they have to play with now?


Hi. Your player and the transcoder are awesome. They work even in 4.77 mhz.

Can you please make a gif - pic converter? I'd appreciate that.
User avatar
nikiniki
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2010-1-20 @ 01:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby kiyotewolfe » 2011-3-02 @ 04:47

"gif - pic converter"

A gif to pic converter?

I'm not sure what you mean by "pic" .. is it a ..

filename.pic?

What is a PIC file, more details.. I'm not sure exactly what filetype or program you want to be using.

Look here, at the FAQ page, for my email address.

http://www.tgwv.webs.com
User avatar
kiyotewolfe
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-2-19 @ 17:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby kiyotewolfe » 2011-3-02 @ 04:49

Yeah, it's kinda cool.

Even if you can't view the video in the CGA colors, you can see it in a B/W which is discernable and watchable.

I watch them on both DOSBOX and other random things.

It even runs under XP.
User avatar
kiyotewolfe
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-2-19 @ 17:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby nikiniki » 2011-3-02 @ 14:33

CGA videos run fine on my computer

I was talking about converting gif to pic. Pic is a picture format not a video format.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PICtor_PIC_image_format

I like adding pictures in my games.
User avatar
nikiniki
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2010-1-20 @ 01:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby kiyotewolfe » 2011-3-06 @ 07:31

I looked into the details of the filetype. It's kinda sorta like a PCX, but the machine specific nature makes it hard to understand, let alone develop a converter for with such lackluster documentation.

http://cd.textfiles.com

This site should have something which will convert to & from that filetype.

I don't think you need me to do any work on my own for this, you can look & I'll look around for a converter.

Can you go into more detail on what you're doing with these images, what game you're augmenting, and if you're sure you couldn't use something else besides the PIC format?

What type of screen does this use? 640x200x2 like CGA and like my video thing? Because I can make a static image view program, by itself, and a converter to make individual composite 16 color type images.

Details man. Need more input! Input..
User avatar
kiyotewolfe
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-2-19 @ 17:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby nikiniki » 2011-3-06 @ 14:00

I can make a gif - pic converter myself.

I'll need your source code of gif cga converter. I'll do the rest.
User avatar
nikiniki
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2010-1-20 @ 01:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby kiyotewolfe » 2011-3-12 @ 01:52

User avatar
kiyotewolfe
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-2-19 @ 17:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby nikiniki » 2011-3-12 @ 14:24

None of your sources are working. I got this same error:
"Subprogram not defined".

I used Quickbasic 4.5 and 7.1.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
nikiniki
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2010-1-20 @ 01:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby wd » 2011-3-12 @ 14:35

The internet is quite elaborate on where your problem lies.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10819
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23


Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby kiyotewolfe » 2011-3-12 @ 22:30

Almost..

you have to run QuickBasic with the command line like this




QB /L

not

QBX /L
User avatar
kiyotewolfe
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-2-19 @ 17:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby wd » 2011-3-12 @ 22:36

If you have the real thing you use qbx of course.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10819
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby kiyotewolfe » 2011-3-12 @ 22:46

I compiled & made the program and had to run

QB /L

you're talking about some other version of QuickBasic or Power Basic or something.
User avatar
kiyotewolfe
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-2-19 @ 17:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby nikiniki » 2011-3-12 @ 23:56

I managed to make gif to pic converter with kiyotewolfe's gif to cga tool.

What's new:

- Support PIC format. Converting gif > cga still possible

- Just write the name file witout need to add ".cga" ".gif" and ".pic"
The program will add them.

About PIC format

- Unlike other formats, PIC is easiest to put on your programs without
write extra codes for it. Even Basica support it.

10 '
20 KEY OFF
30 SCREEN 1
40 BLOAD "duke3d.pic"
50 K$=INPUT$(1)
59 END
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by nikiniki on 2011-3-13 @ 00:44, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
nikiniki
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2010-1-20 @ 01:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby nikiniki » 2011-3-13 @ 00:00

Here some screenshots:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
nikiniki
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2010-1-20 @ 01:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby kiyotewolfe » 2011-3-13 @ 04:23

"Isabella Coq: a present for my dad in CGA composite"

What's that first screenshot?

That looks neat! Never heard of the title of that game.
[edit]
A fangame .. google is your friend.

Very cool!!
User avatar
kiyotewolfe
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2011-2-19 @ 17:09

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby wd » 2011-3-13 @ 10:28

you're talking about some other version of QuickBasic or Power Basic or something.

Yeah, professional version which is why they mentioned qbx.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10819
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: CGA Composite Mode under DOSBOX?

Postby kiyote » 2011-12-18 @ 20:59

nvm
Last edited by kiyote on 2011-12-18 @ 23:40, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kiyote
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-2-25 @ 04:34

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests