Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby Axecutter » 2007-5-02 @ 16:26

Hello all i am trying to run tie fighter in dosbox. ive mounted the drive and the cdrom all that i figured out from reading the intros. what i am having trouble with is the joystick mapper and everything. to me its doesnt make any sense i dunno what im doing wrong. when i calibrate the joystick in game it goes all weird and it takes me a lot of time to get out of the game to try again.

if anyone has any information that would help i would be greatful to them for the help.

with the other posts ive read they really didnt make much sense to me so please be simple and to the point so i can get this problem fixed. i really miss playing this game and havent been able to for about 8 years or something like that, probably more.

mounting makes sense mapping everything doesnt cuz i know very little about it. please i beg for any and all assistance. thank you
Axecutter
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-5-02 @ 16:17
Location: Ontario Canada

Re: TIE FIGHTER JOYSTICK PROBLEMS

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2007-5-02 @ 16:31

timed=false in dosbox.conf
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: TIE FIGHTER JOYSTICK PROBLEMS

Postby Axecutter » 2007-5-02 @ 16:38

thats perfect thank you oh so much :D
Axecutter
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-5-02 @ 16:17
Location: Ontario Canada

Re: TIE FIGHTER JOYSTICK PROBLEMS

Postby Kreshna Aryaguna Nurzaman » 2007-5-03 @ 14:30

h-a-l-9000 wrote:timed=false in dosbox.conf


I wonder: what does it exactly mean? And does it apply only to this particular game (TIE Fighter), or to other games as well? I recently won Secret Weapons of Luftwaffe from ebay, and plan to play it with DOSBox; does it need the same setting as well?
Never thought this thread would be that long, but now, for something different.....
User avatar
Kreshna Aryaguna Nurzaman
l33t
 
Posts: 2674
Joined: 2006-11-15 @ 06:44
Location: Indonesia

Re: TIE FIGHTER JOYSTICK PROBLEMS

Postby gulikoza » 2007-5-03 @ 14:49

timed=true is more precise emulation that takes computer speed (= dosbox cycles) into account when calculating joystick movement. Timed=false is old behaviour before the patch. For some reason, some games like the old behavior (Tie Fighter), others need timed=true (Descent 2). Leave the default, if you have problems, try timed=false.
User avatar
gulikoza
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: 2004-6-25 @ 14:53

Re: TIE FIGHTER JOYSTICK PROBLEMS

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2007-5-03 @ 15:05

Different games can go different approaches of reading the joystick position.
The general porblem is real hardware did not change the CPU speed at runtime, DOSBox however does that with cycles=auto or when you change speed manually. Most games need fixed speed for their joystick routines, a few can handle different speeds.

The DOSBox versions before 0.70 have a simplified (kind of hack) joystick emulation that works speed independent with the games that require fixed speeds. However it causes problems with the other type of game and that's why timed=true was added. It's a more realistic implementation but is speed dependent in most games.


timed=false should be the best setting for most games.

timed=true is for Wing Commander Armada, Wing Commander 3, and probably other later Origin titles, but not the ealier like WC1/2 and Privateer.
Try it as well if the joystick doesn't work properly with timed=false.

You have to recalibrate in the game after changing timed=.
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: TIE FIGHTER JOYSTICK PROBLEMS

Postby Axecutter » 2007-5-06 @ 00:21

thats a lot of info thank you all for your time spent explaining. that makes a lot more sense, only thing is i had just downloaded dosbox poked around with it mount the c and the cdrom cuz that stuff was pretty straight forward. everything else was a little out of my league cuz i dont deal with that stuff on regular basis. most times i dont fiddle around with things i dont have any understanding about cuz i dont want to mess it up more then it already was.
Axecutter
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-5-02 @ 16:17
Location: Ontario Canada

Re: TIE FIGHTER JOYSTICK PROBLEMS

Postby crellt » 2007-5-25 @ 10:13

Hello, im a new user and am encountering a similar problem, as the first one mentioned above...
Ive got vista and ive got tie fighter running on dosbox etc. However if i try to run the game normally the cursor goes crazy, and if i try 'timed=false' then the cursor goes normal, but the joystick isn't recognised. I can't calibrate the joystick in-game either. Ive tryed using my microsoft sidewinder joystick and an xbox 360 controller but niether work. Can anyone help?
crellt
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-5-24 @ 19:31

Re: TIE FIGHTER JOYSTICK PROBLEMS

Postby Maldoror » 2007-5-28 @ 20:57

I have a similar problem...

When I enter the game it runs fine...it calibrates my Joystick (MS idewinder) and the crusor seems to respond to the commands of joystick before going into combat...but when i enter into a mission, the ship starts spinning out of control....the buttons of the joystick do not fire (they only switch the cockpit mode, from visible to invisible, all of them), and the joystick command bar does not respond at all....pressing the buttons of the mouse seems to stop spinning of the ship, but it doesnt give me any control...

I tried the solution proposed here (timed=false) but it is the same thing...what else can I do?
Maldoror
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007-5-28 @ 20:45

Re: Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby eL_PuSHeR » 2007-5-29 @ 08:52

[Moved]
Intel i7 5960X
Gigabye GA-X99-Gaming 5
8 GB DDR4 (2100)
8 GB GeForce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming (Gigabyte)
User avatar
eL_PuSHeR
Moderator
 
Posts: 6441
Joined: 2003-6-20 @ 16:39

Re: Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby crellt » 2007-5-29 @ 15:44

whats going on with the [moved]?
crellt
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-5-24 @ 19:31

Re: Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2007-5-29 @ 15:51

Tried with cycles not at auto?
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby eL_PuSHeR » 2007-5-29 @ 18:43

crellt wrote:whats going on with the [moved]?


You posted in the dos section and you are using DOSBox. Not the same thing, mate. I relocated your post.
Intel i7 5960X
Gigabye GA-X99-Gaming 5
8 GB DDR4 (2100)
8 GB GeForce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming (Gigabyte)
User avatar
eL_PuSHeR
Moderator
 
Posts: 6441
Joined: 2003-6-20 @ 16:39

Re: Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby ewnabommer » 2007-6-01 @ 15:43

I tried timed=false and that didn't do anything for me. But I set joysticktype=2axis and it worked like a charm! I have a cheapie usb 3-axis 6 button stick with no trim adjustment. WinXP, athlon xp 2400.
ewnabommer
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007-6-01 @ 15:37

Re: Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby AceJoel96 » 2007-9-20 @ 18:57

Are you using TIE Fighter Collector's Edition CD like me, the plain 7-mission CD version, or the floppy-based version? I'm using DBGL, and I can't get mine to run the setup in DosBox; I get an error message saying that I can't install it from the hard drive. How is yours mounted? I have everything but the destination of the install set to CD drive, with forced ioctl.
I have it installed outside of DOSBox already.
The Long, Long History of TIE Fighter...Coming Soon!
User avatar
AceJoel96
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2007-5-04 @ 19:55

Re: Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby AceJoel96 » 2007-9-26 @ 17:02

I fiddled around with DBGL some more. I made a new folder in My Documents as the target for the install. I set the installation to run from the CD drive. I set it to execute from the hard drive after the install. I still get the message from within DOSBox that I can't install it from the hard drive.
The Long, Long History of TIE Fighter...Coming Soon!
User avatar
AceJoel96
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2007-5-04 @ 19:55

Re: Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby MiniMax » 2007-9-26 @ 17:26

> can't install it from the hard drive.

Obviously, the installer believes that it is running from a hard drive.

Please tell us how you have your mounting setup in DOSBox.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby AceJoel96 » 2007-9-29 @ 17:43

Setup is done from CD drive D, using \install.exe, with forced ioctl.
User avatar
AceJoel96
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2007-5-04 @ 19:55

Re: Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby Dominus » 2007-9-30 @ 07:14

Please tell us how you have your mounting setup in DOSBox.

This means that you should write us EXACTLY how you are mounting everything before you try to install.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7244
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Tie Fighter Joystick Problems

Postby M3n747 » 2008-2-02 @ 18:19

Hi. I don't want to start a new thread like a n00b, so I'll just write here. :)

I've installed TIE-Fighter Collector's CDROM under DOSBox and it works perfectly. However, playing this game with a mouse is murder, so I'm thinking about buying a joystick. What concerns me, is wether a modern USB joystick will work fine, or do I need to look for an old-type joystick, connected to a sound card's game port? Ewnabommer here says (s)he's using a cheap USB joystick, but someone on some other forum said not to use USB joystick with DOSBox - this is a bit confusing, to say the least. I would appreciate any info you can give me.

Cheers.
<_<
User avatar
M3n747
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008-2-02 @ 18:06
Location: Gdańsk, Poland

Next

Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Neville and 2 guests