VOGONS

Common searches


Reply 140 of 145, by Akuma

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I ran into a problem with one of the patches: Re: Blood 1997 & Gravis Ultrasound
After an hour of troubleshooting I found the issue to be in one of the .PAT files.

Is there anyone who knows why that patch fails to work with Blood (c) 1997 Monolith,
and can we fix it ?

EDIT: Out of memory, just use the basic sample set without applying the PPL

Attachments

  • needhelp.jpg
    Filename
    needhelp.jpg
    File size
    73.57 KiB
    Views
    1103 views
    File license
    Public domain
Last edited by Akuma on 2021-06-25, 16:30. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 142 of 145, by Fuggin-Nuggets

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Sorry for the bump years later. I can't get gus working in doom or duke nukem 3d. I tried following the thread but nothing works. I gave up and deleted everything. pulling my hair out here after working on this for hours. help?

Reply 143 of 145, by darry

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
Fuggin-Nuggets wrote on 2022-03-25, 16:44:

Sorry for the bump years later. I can't get gus working in doom or duke nukem 3d. I tried following the thread but nothing works. I gave up and deleted everything. pulling my hair out here after working on this for hours. help?

Does it work with any game or application ? Does playmidi work ? AFAICR, at least Doom requires DMA to be working to load patches, otherwise will freeze at startup or make no sound, AFAICR .

Reply 144 of 145, by W49n3r

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
K.A.R.R. wrote on 2017-02-13, 21:30:
i suggest to simply use pre installed drivers like this one […]
Show full quote

i suggest to simply use pre installed drivers
like this one

http://www80.zippyshare.com/v/c6N015fi/file.html

this pack contains GUS 4.11 drivers + Pro Patches Light 1.61 + Pro Patches Lite 1.61 corrected anti looping patches (includes 3 ppl 1.61 patches found by Tsyu removing a looping bug)

I literally registered just to thank you.

GUS Emulation on DosBox eluded me for years (well, I definitely could've put more effort into it... but I digress) and your post was what made things finally work for me.

Man, I feel sorry for my 90s self. Never had a Gravis Ultrasound and finally hearing what it sounded like is pure retrogaming joy.

Fuggin-Nuggets wrote on 2022-03-25, 16:44:

I can't get gus working in doom or duke nukem 3d.

I just tried now (with the ultrasnd folder above) and worked flawlessly. Be sure to use an up to date DosBox as Gravis emulation didn't work well with some old versions bundled together with the game.

Reply 145 of 145, by Daatta

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
K.A.R.R. wrote on 2017-02-13, 21:30:
installing the drivers can cause some problems because no real gus is found or an real autoexec.bat is missing. […]
Show full quote

installing the drivers can cause some problems because no real gus is found or an real autoexec.bat is missing.

i suggest to simply use pre installed drivers
like this one

http://www80.zippyshare.com/v/c6N015fi/file.html

Registered to the forum to thank you as well. I had problems with my real GUS 486 setup, never got the Ultramidi working. I even though that my GUS (proud first owner since 90's) is broken somehow and just let it be. But after googling to this thread I decided to give it a try. I downloaded your pre installed driver package, extracted it to the compact flash card (replacing current ulrasnd folder), rebooted the 486 and without much hope ran the mididemo.bat. First nothing happened, I hit the space bar couple of times. Without realizing that it takes some time to load the song, I freaked out as the midi started playing! This is the first time I've heard my GUS playing midi's since the 90's.

I'm so glad I kept the GUS, knowing what the current value is. Gravis Ultrasound was so precious to me as a kid, it served me well until being replaced by generic Sound Blaster card. I lost my 486dx4 setup when my parents house was sold. But just couldn't let the GUS go so i saved it, kept in storage for years. Still have regrets about the 486 though, I should have preserved it too... I was able to grab decent 486 setup a while a go, glad to see that Dosbox can support GUS as well.