VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 31980 of 32202, by mpe

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
CoffeeOne wrote on 2020-01-15, 20:37:

Why do people have still unboxed staff from the 90s? I have no idea.

In case of SCSI adaptors and other "enterprise" stuff it is easy. Many of these were reserved as spares for a part installed in a critical production system.

My retrobuilds:
486DX-50 EISA|NexGen Nx586

Reply 31981 of 32202, by mpe

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I bought InPort card and grey-eyed Microsoft bus Mouse from late 80's. I actually prefer that design over newer ones.

Last edited by mpe on 2020-01-19, 08:50. Edited 1 time in total.

My retrobuilds:
486DX-50 EISA|NexGen Nx586

Reply 31982 of 32202, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I bought a NIB Adaptec CardPark for my computer a couple of years ago and used it in my 486 for a while to test the 56K PCMCIA modem card and NIC PCMCIA card, but not a lot of room in there. It'll be used in another project.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.

Reply 31983 of 32202, by bearking

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Got this 19" LCD today for a little more than 20 euros.
It's an EIZO FlexScan S1921 from december 2009. It has 15k hours of usage, but hey, it's made in Japan... I really like the stand, it has all the options for rotating, tilting and height adjustment. Since I don't have space for a good CRT, this will be perfect.

Attachments

  • PSX_20200115_225729.jpg
    Filename
    PSX_20200115_225729.jpg
    File size
    269.11 KiB
    Views
    456 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 31984 of 32202, by liqmat

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
CoffeeOne wrote on 2020-01-15, 20:37:
New Adaptec EISA 2742W […]
Show full quote

New Adaptec EISA 2742W

Not sure if I dare to unbox it, new hardware from 1995. I hope it still works.
Why do people have still unboxed stuff from the 90s? I have no idea.

I have to decide to either put it into the Compaq Prosignia Server, or into the machine with the Micronics EISA mainboard.

What model Micronics board do you have?

Reply 31985 of 32202, by CoffeeOne

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
liqmat wrote on 2020-01-15, 22:01:
CoffeeOne wrote on 2020-01-15, 20:37:
New Adaptec EISA 2742W […]
Show full quote

New Adaptec EISA 2742W

Not sure if I dare to unbox it, new hardware from 1995. I hope it still works.
Why do people have still unboxed stuff from the 90s? I have no idea.

I have to decide to either put it into the Compaq Prosignia Server, or into the machine with the Micronics EISA mainboard.

What model Micronics board do you have?

https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=71184

Reply 31986 of 32202, by Intel486dx33

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
liqmat wrote on 2020-01-15, 18:51:
A good example is this lovely Mach64 VLB card I found in a box. I was so confident it would work because it looked mint and fres […]
Show full quote
derSammler wrote on 2020-01-15, 18:27:

Fully agree. People do this because electronics don't visibly wear, so you can easily say "NOS" if it still looks new - even if it was used for hundreds or thousands of hours. And it's of course fully believable that people back then bought this stuff for lots of money just to never use it. 😉

I ignore "NOS" when it comes to electronics. If the price is right, I buy it. But I don't pay extra because someone claims NOS. I better buy something used but tested instead.

A good example is this lovely Mach64 VLB card I found in a box. I was so confident it would work because it looked mint and fresh.

ati_mach64_vlb.jpg

Oh, how reality sets you straight though...

ascii_fun.jpg

After a good cleaning and inspection still nothing obvious. So being too tied up to go any further, Vogons member Deksor got the card for the price of shipping. Hopefully one day it will live again.

Possibly just need to reflow the ram chip legs to the PCB with some no-clean flux and a heat gun. a 3 minute job.
Thats where I would start if not then reflow the GPU chip legs too.
No need to add solder. Just let the no-clean flux do the job of repairing the solder joints.

Reply 31987 of 32202, by liqmat

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
CoffeeOne wrote on 2020-01-15, 22:14:

Interesting. I picked up a very similar system awhile back. It's in storage right now and I haven't had time to clean it up, but everything works at least. Hoping to get to it this summer.

https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?p=722866#p722866

https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?p=722867#p722867

https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?p=722993#p722993

Reply 31988 of 32202, by CoffeeOne

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
liqmat wrote on 2020-01-15, 22:37:
Interesting. I picked up a very similar system awhile back. It's in storage right now and I haven't had time to clean it up, but […]
Show full quote
CoffeeOne wrote on 2020-01-15, 22:14:

Interesting. I picked up a very similar system awhile back. It's in storage right now and I haven't had time to clean it up, but everything works at least. Hoping to get to it this summer.

https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?p=722866#p722866

https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?p=722867#p722867

https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?p=722993#p722993

Awesome, that seems to be the exact same mainboard. You seem to have the original 64kB cache, I upgraded it to 256kB.
EDIT: zoomed into the photograph, MT 5C2568-20, so that board came already with the full amount of cache, even more awesome.

And you also have a Weitek 4167 in it? I guess it's pretty useless especially when you have a turbochip with 133MHz, the weitek is only clocked with 33MHz 😀, but an incredible rare collector item 😀

I have a different tower, it's described here:

The tower was originally from an Escom 486: posted by user arncht
https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f= ... 86#p723216

Reply 31989 of 32202, by keenerb

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Picked up two 200LXs locally in the same area of town. One is in poor shape, missing IR window cover and big hinge crack, other is new in box, sealed manuals, literally unused. Guy worked for HP and told me it was given as a company reward of some sort, he stuck it in a closet and forgot about it.

He also has some new-in-box HP calculators he's going to dig out for me, including he thinks a 42 and 48GX with several upgrade cards.

Reply 31990 of 32202, by imi

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Predator99 wrote on 2020-01-15, 20:12:

Nice...didnt notice that one 😉

thank you, yeah it was a pretty fresh one with buy it now option... I just quickly checked what cards those were exactly and the fact that 10 other people or so were already watching it and that there were some other generic cards in there I could always use just made me pull the trigger immediately before anyone else did ^^

Reply 31991 of 32202, by Disruptor

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
CoffeeOne wrote on 2020-01-15, 20:37:
New Adaptec EISA 2742W […]
Show full quote

New Adaptec EISA 2742W

Not sure if I dare to unbox it, new hardware from 1995. I hope it still works.
Why do people have still unboxed stuff from the 90s? I have no idea.

I have to decide to either put it into the Compaq Prosignia Server, or into the machine with the Micronics EISA mainboard.

IMG_7362 (2).JPG

Cool. I have been looking for this since years. I just got a 2740W.
Remember to load ASPI7DOS.SYS to get full performance (~18 MB/s).

Reply 31992 of 32202, by Turbo ->

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Bought this Cherry RS 6000 M keyboard today in second hand shop, along with a few floppys they had. Keyboard doesnt have a cable, but from the looks of it, it seems like new. So i paid 2 EUR. At home I opened her up and saw that the cable is missing indeed.

Attachments

  • IMG_8917.JPG
    Filename
    IMG_8917.JPG
    File size
    588.84 KiB
    Views
    297 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • IMG_8918.JPG
    Filename
    IMG_8918.JPG
    File size
    426.82 KiB
    Views
    297 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • IMG_8919.JPG
    Filename
    IMG_8919.JPG
    File size
    395.28 KiB
    Views
    297 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 31993 of 32202, by imi

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

ah that reminds me of the time when I repaired a broken trace on the foil of my cherry rubberdome with a piece of a paperclip and some tape, the keyboard still works to this day ^^

I guess someone needed the cable to repair another keyboard ^^

Reply 31994 of 32202, by Turbo ->

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
imi wrote on 2020-01-16, 13:40:

I guess someone needed the cable to repair another keyboard ^^

No matter. I won't be searching for a suitable cable right away, but when I come across it, I will know where to use it.

Reply 31995 of 32202, by dionb

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Turbo -> wrote on 2020-01-16, 12:26:

Bought this Cherry RS 6000 M keyboard today in second hand shop, along with a few floppys they had. Keyboard doesnt have a cable, but from the looks of it, it seems like new. So i paid 2 EUR. At home I opened her up and saw that the cable is missing indeed.

"RS6000M" isn't the actual name of the keyboard, that's more like G83-6000 or something similar. Given the price it's hardly a bad deal, but I personally wouldn't bother with any kind of cost outlay or effort to fix a totally generic rubber dome keyboard. Now, if it had been a G80-1000, it would have been a different story...

I had one. I accidentally gave it away, donated it to a retro game console/pinball museum who only needed a random DIN/AT keyboard for testing purposes. I thought I was giving them an underwhelming G81-3000, but somehow I picked out the G80-1000 with nice XT/AT switch too. Oh well, their test bench is now glorious and capable of handling pretty much any device they find.

Reply 31996 of 32202, by liqmat

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
CoffeeOne wrote on 2020-01-15, 23:23:
Awesome, that seems to be the exact same mainboard. You seem to have the original 64kB cache, I upgraded it to 256kB. EDIT: zoom […]
Show full quote

Awesome, that seems to be the exact same mainboard. You seem to have the original 64kB cache, I upgraded it to 256kB.
EDIT: zoomed into the photograph, MT 5C2568-20, so that board came already with the full amount of cache, even more awesome.

And you also have a Weitek 4167 in it? I guess it's pretty useless especially when you have a turbochip with 133MHz, the weitek is only clocked with 33MHz 😀, but an incredible rare collector item 😀

I have a different tower, it's described here:

The tower was originally from an Escom 486: posted by user arncht
https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f= ... 86#p723216

Nice to find someone else with this board. The only odd thing about the board I have is the power connector is not standard like yours. The wires are soldered onto the board and the PSU connects to that wire via a Molex connector of some sort. Also, I know Stason has the motherboard settings, but a scan of that manual would be nice when you have time. I have the EISA config util if needed.

Reply 31997 of 32202, by matze79

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

- Freecom Traveller PCMCIA
- 386SX20 Mhz Board with FPU and Cache and MrBIOS!
- Sensormatic DF11 486 Mainboard

Attachments

https://dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de - under constructing since ever

Reply 31998 of 32202, by CoffeeOne

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
liqmat wrote on 2020-01-16, 14:59:
CoffeeOne wrote on 2020-01-15, 23:23:
Awesome, that seems to be the exact same mainboard. You seem to have the original 64kB cache, I upgraded it to 256kB. EDIT: zoom […]
Show full quote

Awesome, that seems to be the exact same mainboard. You seem to have the original 64kB cache, I upgraded it to 256kB.
EDIT: zoomed into the photograph, MT 5C2568-20, so that board came already with the full amount of cache, even more awesome.

And you also have a Weitek 4167 in it? I guess it's pretty useless especially when you have a turbochip with 133MHz, the weitek is only clocked with 33MHz 😀, but an incredible rare collector item 😀

I have a different tower, it's described here:

The tower was originally from an Escom 486: posted by user arncht
https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f= ... 86#p723216

Nice to find someone else with this board. The only odd thing about the board I have is the power connector is not standard like yours. The wires are soldered onto the board and the PSU connects to that wire via a Molex connector of some sort. Also, I know Stason has the motherboard settings, but a scan of that manual would be nice when you have time. I have the EISA config util if needed.

HI again,
Your board is not exactly the same as mine, I just have seen it.
I seem to have higher integrated (less) chips on it. And what's obvious: Your board has the Weitek and the cpu socket exchanged. So also the link to Stason does not fit 100% to your board, because there is the Weitek and cpu socket like on my board. But maybe that's just a minor detail.

Reply 31999 of 32202, by eisapc

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
CoffeeOne wrote on 2020-01-15, 20:37:
New Adaptec EISA 2742W […]
Show full quote

New Adaptec EISA 2742W

Not sure if I dare to unbox it, new hardware from 1995. I hope it still works.
Why do people have still unboxed stuff from the 90s? I have no idea.

I have to decide to either put it into the Compaq Prosignia Server, or into the machine with the Micronics EISA mainboard.

IMG_7362 (2).JPG

Nice find. Got mine from a retired Adaptec employee years ago.
Still have 4 NIB AHA 2742T still shrinkwrapped.
I would keep it boxed. The benefit of the wide SCSI interface ist not really worth unboxing the board.
eisapc