How to Run Anachronox on XP

Getting old Windows games working.

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby Davros » 2013-9-06 @ 20:07

just wondered what would happen if you try and leave the starting map without buying a battery for pal ?
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2632
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby Gamecollector » 2013-9-06 @ 21:00

Davros wrote:Is this the same location as your first screenshot ?

Almost. Wrong blending is in the lift only. Lift glass must be fully transparent.
I have attached the fraps movie to show the effect exactly. http://www.4shared.com/video/9fh9A_78/Anox.html

what would happen if you try and leave the starting map without buying a battery for pal ?

IIRC you can't enter the bus to the Spaceport, Boots will say something about "I need my old friend".
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby CrisGer » 2013-9-07 @ 00:23

thanks for the Doorlord fix, . Even after the amazing work done by Chinaman during his long solo effort that added so much to this wonderful game we still have a few spots that take work to get thru. I am replaying to see the side quest that you get when you choose the bot as a party member...the other side quest was wonderful and loved what you got to see. A truly remarkable job and Tom Hall has so much more to do and it is all planned out and scripted..just looking for a backer and publisher, and working with Square Enix to get them to particpate. One step at a time but at least we sill have Tom, even tho he had a stroke not too long ago ... so there is hope to see the story finish.

and i will try to conform where to find the tooth for you sorry to have not helped with that yet... too much going on .
Admin
3D Worlds and Game Developers Group Linkedin
http://3dworldandgamedevelopers.blogspot.com/
User avatar
CrisGer
Member
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 2006-9-19 @ 04:51
Location: Colorado, California

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby Davros » 2013-9-07 @ 17:22

ps: there is a bug on a quest early on you need to follow a guy to find eddie
you lose the quest on level transitions so you need to use a slowdown utility during that task
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2632
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby Davros » 2013-9-07 @ 22:01

re the orange light in sendormitory
gog version is supposed to be fixed
also read you can run it with nglide and its fixed I tried this but didnt seem to work maybe I didnt do it right and nglide wasnt being used
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2632
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby Gamecollector » 2013-9-07 @ 22:56

NGlide run Anachronox through the MetaGL. Install nGlide, run the file anox_v2v3.bat in the gamedir.
Metagl (trial version) is included with 1.02 build 44 patch. And with the GOG version, by the way.
The trouble is - no hi-res mode, because glide isn't supporting 1280x960 mode (gl_mode 8 ), only 1280x1024.
I will test the GOG version and will tell results.
*Censored*, my Anox saves are dead... :(
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby Davros » 2013-9-08 @ 09:12

you can have my saves but im not far into it
ps: cant use metagl + nglide menu's all messed up

edit: use opengl type gl_fog 0 in the console
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2632
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby Gamecollector » 2013-9-08 @ 21:24

No, GOG version have the transparency glitch.
More places to see this: Mystech Museum (demonstration cases), bookstore in Tenements (front glass)
Plus it looks like there is no fog in museum with Radeon HD2600.
Attachments
Anachronox.JPG
Anachronox.JPG (18.25 KiB) Viewed 1034 times
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby [Zeus] » 2013-9-26 @ 19:04

Davros wrote:ps: cant use metagl + nglide menu's all messed up

Which nGlide version did you use, Davros? IIRC this bug was fixed in 1.00.
User avatar
[Zeus]
Newbie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2012-11-04 @ 14:55

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby Davros » 2013-10-01 @ 14:06

0.95
Thanks for that will upgrade
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2632
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby CrisGer » 2019-6-12 @ 13:10

OK years later i am trying to replay Anachronox and found that the GOG version is NOT fully patched and is missing stuff.

i hope to get it going once i find my own original disk.... but i see from old posts i will need to turn on extension limit...one way is to edit the dll but can anyone tell me what program to use to open it up to edit it?

here is the post about this from some years ago..wow how time flies..

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby Gamecollector » 2013-9-04 @ 14:20
Another method is - edit ref_gl.dll, find strings "GL_EXTENSIONS: %s" and replace "%s" to "%p". This is working for all Q1 and Q2 engine games, by the way.
Admin
3D Worlds and Game Developers Group Linkedin
http://3dworldandgamedevelopers.blogspot.com/
User avatar
CrisGer
Member
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 2006-9-19 @ 04:51
Location: Colorado, California

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby Gamecollector » 2019-6-21 @ 00:45

Far Manager.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: How to Run Anachronox on XP

Postby hwh » 2019-7-09 @ 03:54

...retail version doesn't have the transparency bug?
hwh
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: 2008-7-06 @ 18:18

Previous

Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests