dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Cyrem » 2018-9-14 @ 09:24

Dege wrote:
Cyrem wrote:Excellent, looking forward to trying the next version. The lighting issues aren't as much an issue since 2.54... there are a few oddities here and there, I'll post them some other time. Main thing was just getting the game working again on nVidia. :happy:

You can already test it with WIP50:
viewtopic.php?f=59&t=51790&start=460#p696238


Tested it and it no-longer freezes! perfect.... but then found another issue that I'm hoping you could test.

I was just playing the level "Driller Night!" upon discovering a new cavern after drilling northward the game camera seems to fly go way out of bounds and the map goes black. Everything else works though.

This is what happens after opening a new cavern: http://prntscr.com/kuaq7y

Thanks mate!
Cyrem
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-8-14 @ 03:52

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby ZellSF » 2018-9-16 @ 13:27

Jeff Wayne's War of the Worlds mouse issues was fixed in the latest dgVoodoo2 version. Still crashes when changing resolution, but not sure that is dgVoodoo2's fault (other wrappers don't like it either). Figured out the crash in options menu was because I only gave it one supported resolution. As long as dgVoodoo2 enumerates at least two supported resolutions it will work fine. Which is a bit weird, since at the time the game was released it was possible someone would have a computer that only supported 640x480. Very unlikely, but possible.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Deffnator » 2018-9-16 @ 14:15

DMA Design/Rockstar Tanktics has some serious screen flicks when using ddraw
the menus becomes garbled with artifacts flashing, and the in-game 2d interface keeps flashing
Deffnator
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2018-9-05 @ 01:03

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby FulValBot » 2018-9-16 @ 16:19

V-sync is enabled or not?

Some games flicks seriously when v-sync is disabled into dgVoodoo2
FulValBot
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2008-3-01 @ 18:43

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Deffnator » 2018-9-16 @ 21:12

Deactivated, i tried it with DxWnd and it works perfectly, besides the mouse cursor still flashing when i select something in the menu
Deffnator
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2018-9-05 @ 01:03

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Cyrem » 2018-9-16 @ 22:42

Cyrem wrote:
Tested it and it no-longer freezes! perfect.... but then found another issue that I'm hoping you could test.

I was just playing the level "Driller Night!" upon discovering a new cavern after drilling northward the game camera seems to fly go way out of bounds and the map goes black. Everything else works though.

This is what happens after opening a new cavern: http://prntscr.com/kuaq7y

Thanks mate!


Just an update on this, after switching the video card to the 5700 Ultra, this stopped. Even after switching it back to dg's Virtual 3D card it didn't come back. Not sure whats going on, but if it happens again will let you know.
Cyrem
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-8-14 @ 03:52

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby FANTOMAS » 2018-9-17 @ 16:11

0 problem with Hydro Thunder (2001)...........frame rate seems limited to 30.
Dgvoodoo 2.55 @1600x1200 @MSAAX8 enhanced with 8x Sparse Grid Supersampling (nvidia inspector)

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.285
Attachments
04.jpg
03.jpg
02.jpg
01.jpg
01
User avatar
FANTOMAS
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-8-08 @ 15:27

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RJ8 » 2018-9-19 @ 14:28

Hello guys,

Aquanox 1 has been reported working here with DGVoodoo2 and Google was no help at all, so i post this here.

The game works without DGVoodoo2 , tested with WIN7/64 GTX970,
but when running with DGVoodoo2 it crashes with the following error:

D3DUtil::BuildAdpatorInfoArray() num of display modes overflow

any idea what i can do about that ?


UPDATE: Ive just tried Aquanox 2 with the same error on DGVOODOO2 .

RJ
RJ8
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2018-9-19 @ 14:52

Aquanox 2 is D3D9! Maybe the problem lies in the DX7-9 compatibility (the GPU-compliant range supported by the engine).
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1008
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RJ8 » 2018-9-19 @ 15:08

@lowenz - I cant confirm that, the cover sais DX8 and when throwing a corrupt DX9 dll into the game folder the game does not crash. I also tried enbs D3D8to9 wrapper. The game crashes with another error which confimes that a its DX8. Not DX9. Thanks though for answering.
I wonder how the other folks got it to work with DGVoodoo2.
RJ8
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby ZellSF » 2018-9-19 @ 15:59

Aquanox 2 is D3D9:
AN2 2018-09-19 17-38-17-98.jpg
Aquanox isn't and works with dgVoodoo2, but since dgVoodoo2 adds some extra resolutions (and maybe orders them differently than Windows?) then it crashes because as the error message says: too many resolutions. To fix either create a dgVoodoo.conf in the game directory (by clicking "Add" in dgVoodooCpl.exe) or edit the global one (in %appdata\dgVoodoo) and find this section:

DefaultEnumeratedResolutions = all
ExtraEnumeratedResolutions =

Set DefaultEnumeratedResolutions to "none" and add your the resolutions you want comma seperated to ExtraEnumeratedResolutiom. For example:

DefaultEnumeratedResolutions = none
ExtraEnumeratedResolutions = 640x480,1600x1200
Aqua 2018-09-19 17-42-48-21.jpg
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RJ8 » 2018-9-19 @ 20:02

@ZellSF - THAT was helpfull ! Thank you so much.

I finally found out the following that might be interesting.
At least some retail (boxed) versions of AQ2 are DX8 , using the same engine as AQ1.
Ive got them both to work with DGVoodoo2 now after making the conf settings you have described.

There is a patch that updates AQ2 to DX9, probably download- versions are patched to DX9 already.

Thanks again !

RJ
RJ8
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-9-20 @ 10:33

RJ8 wrote:@lowenz - I cant confirm that, the cover sais DX8 and when throwing a corrupt DX9 dll into the game folder the game does not crash.

A tip for such cases: you can always use the spec-release versions of dgVoodoo to see if any of its components is touched by the game. ;)
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RJ8 » 2018-9-20 @ 11:09

Oh shurely will use that hint , thanks Dege !
RJ8
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby ZellSF » 2018-9-22 @ 14:34

Ghost Temple has issues (textures?):
gtx 2018-09-22 16-14-31-52.jpg
Natively is fine:
Clipboard01.jpg
One of the few games that need MSD3DDeviceNames = true

Edit: Apparently there's an English demo:
https://www.gamepressure.com/download.asp?ID=1433
But I can't find any evidence the game was actually released in English.
Last edited by ZellSF on 2018-9-23 @ 10:53, edited 1 time in total.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby UCyborg » 2018-9-22 @ 19:06

I was messing with the old WON version (1.1.1.0) of Half-Life recently. Direct3D renderer works in windowed mode, but craps out in fullscreen since dgVoodoo requires SetCooperativeLevel to be called with valid (non-null) hWnd. Why is that even allowed natively?
UCyborg
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: 2015-9-04 @ 11:10

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Peixoto » 2018-9-26 @ 17:33

UCyborg wrote:I was messing with the old WON version (1.1.1.0) of Half-Life recently. Direct3D renderer works in windowed mode, but craps out in fullscreen since dgVoodoo requires SetCooperativeLevel to be called with valid (non-null) hWnd. Why is that even allowed natively?


Fullscreen mode also requires a valid window handle on MS DirectDraw. A null handle is only valid on windowed mode. Half-Life is not working for another reazon
User avatar
Peixoto
Member
 
Posts: 177
Joined: 2013-6-13 @ 23:48

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-9-30 @ 13:09

Peixoto wrote:Fullscreen mode also requires a valid window handle on MS DirectDraw.

MS DDraw only requires valid wnd handle for exclusive cooperative level. A true fullscreen flipping chain can only be created in exclusive mode.
But both DDraw::SetDisplayMode and fake-fullscreen with the blitting model can be implemented in normal cooperative level with a NULL window.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-9-30 @ 13:11

Sorry for being inactive nowadays. But I'd like to address fixing the reported problems only in the next version (I'm working on it).
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby ZellSF » 2018-10-07 @ 18:09

Asterix and Obelix Take on Caesar black screens (audio and input is responsive). Works natively. Terrible game though. If you want to try it, the installer won't work and you need to copy the game directory to HDD and run the game like "asterix.exe 0 HDD".
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest