"call file.bat" not working under "Norton Commanders"

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

"call file.bat" not working under "Norton Commanders"

Postby alexfru » 2013-4-19 @ 22:02

Set-up: I'm using DosBox 0.74 on Windows 7 74-bit.

I have two batch files.

QQQ.BAT:
@echo qqq start!
@call www.bat
@echo qqq finish!

and WWW.BAT:
@echo www!

If I run QQQ.BAT directly from DosBox, I get all three lines printed:

Image

But if I try to run this batch file from under any shells similar to the Norton Commander, "CALL WWW.BAT" doesn't seem to return control from WWW.BAT back to QQQ.BAT.

Dos Navigator:

Image

Volkov Commander:

Image

And finally, my very own Frunze Commander:

Image

If I exit whatever commander I'm running and run QQQ.BAT again, all is back to normal, all three lines are printed.

What could be the problem and is there any fix or workaround for it?
alexfru
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-4-19 @ 21:30

Re: "call file.bat" not working under "Norton Commanders"

Postby Joey_sw » 2013-4-20 @ 01:02

i would suspect its because those program run the bat using "COMMAND.COM /C" method, which ...

anyway, you can have similar result by running the following in dosbox:
Code: Select all
command /C QQQ.BAT


the /C command should have work properly on real DOS.
-fffuuu
User avatar
Joey_sw
Member
 
Posts: 317
Joined: 2011-8-17 @ 12:03

Re: "call file.bat" not working under "Norton Commanders"

Postby alexfru » 2013-4-20 @ 01:40

I have the same (correct) behavior in DOS7 (from Windows 98) command shell, whether I type "qqq.bat" or "command.com /c qqq.bat". 3 echo lines are printed.
alexfru
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-4-19 @ 21:30

Re: "call file.bat" not working under "Norton Commanders"

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2013-4-20 @ 02:03

Here's a patch against current source that resolves the issue in my testing. It also matches the internal batch loop to the command prompt batch loop more closely.
Attachments
shell_run_internal.diff
(662 Bytes) Downloaded 43 times
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 3393
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: "call file.bat" not working under "Norton Commanders"

Postby alexfru » 2013-4-27 @ 10:52

This change appears to fix the CALL command.
Thank you!
alexfru
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-4-19 @ 21:30


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests