Bubble Bobble Hercules

Getting old DOS games working. (DOSBox topics belong in DOSBox areas below, not here).

Bubble Bobble Hercules

Postby fede2222 » 2016-6-25 @ 04:14

Hi

I remember playing Bubble Bobble on an Hercules machine... the version that i have now can run on EGA/VGA, CGA, Tandy...

I run with SIMCGA and hangs on the TAITO screen... with HGCIBM the game starts but don't work well, on the first stage the little dragon never falls...

I know that can be played on hercules, kid memories... but i'm not sure if it was an HERCULES native version available or was a SIMCGA playable game. I tried with SIMCGA with no luck...

Somewhere remember or know how to play the game?

Thanks
fede2222
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2016-6-06 @ 21:48

Re: Bubble Bobble Hercules

Postby konc » 2016-6-25 @ 12:36

Actually I have the completely opposite memories: that the game was not playable on a Hercules, no matter what you tried (SIMCGA and similar).
I'm not aware also of a Hercules-capable version but I strongly doubt it ever existed.
User avatar
konc
Oldbie
 
Posts: 932
Joined: 2013-1-14 @ 15:09
Location: Greece

Re: Bubble Bobble Hercules

Postby coolhaken » 2016-6-25 @ 14:21

It existed.
I remember it needs a special version of SIMCGA.

Try this ...
Attachments
BBSIMCGA.7z
(892 Bytes) Downloaded 46 times
coolhaken
Newbie
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2010-5-15 @ 02:16

Re: Bubble Bobble Hercules

Postby konc » 2016-6-25 @ 15:03

Wow, it does start with the simcga you posted! It doesn't "work" though, as with HGCIBM there are so many problems that it's unplayable
Any more info on it? Where it originates from, who made it... The "original" simcga weights a couple of KBs, so it's not a modified version of that one, is it?
User avatar
konc
Oldbie
 
Posts: 932
Joined: 2013-1-14 @ 15:09
Location: Greece

Re: Bubble Bobble Hercules

Postby coolhaken » 2016-6-26 @ 12:53

konc wrote:Wow, it does start with the simcga you posted! It doesn't "work" though, as with HGCIBM there are so many problems that it's unplayable

It works/playable here. Do you use DOSBox ?
In fact, this game is keydisk copy protected. You can only use Teledisk to dump diskimages and run it using PCE without crack.
If you can crack this game by yourself and run it under DOSBox. I suggest setting "cycles = fixed 1000" and using the lastest SVN build.
Also note that this game will heavily lag running on a real 486 or higher machine due to it's bug.

konc wrote:Any more info on it? Where it originates from, who made it... The "original" simcga weights a couple of KBs, so it's not a modified version of that one, is it?

I don't know who made it. This program attached in this game's first disk sold in my country. Maybe by the reseller.
coolhaken
Newbie
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2010-5-15 @ 02:16

Re: Bubble Bobble Hercules

Postby konc » 2016-6-26 @ 13:15

I checked it on real hardware, an XT with a Hercules clone. For convenience I took the following screenshots in dosbox which behaves the same:
-all written text is missing
-very often the game becomes unplayable because the enemies never drop, or drop and get stuck in places they shouldn't be and stuff like that. I mean like 1/3 times.
I am aware of the bug in fast computers, despite being an awful conversion it's one my all-time favorites because of... memories and childhood.

I do own the original game btw (one of the very first games I ever bought, hence the memories thing) and it doesn't contain anything like this file. Are you referring to an original/retail copy of the game? If so, as you said, it might've been a decision of the local reseller (which country?). Also maybe it's my Hercules clone to blame and it does work on the real thing, I can't tell, but the identical behavior when using my card & dosbox leads me to believe that this isn't the case.

bubbob_000.png
bubbob_000.png (1.53 KiB) Viewed 632 times

bubbob_001.png
bubbob_001.png (3.38 KiB) Viewed 632 times
User avatar
konc
Oldbie
 
Posts: 932
Joined: 2013-1-14 @ 15:09
Location: Greece

Re: Bubble Bobble Hercules

Postby coolhaken » 2016-6-26 @ 13:55

I don't know anything about your Hercules card. But your problem seems caused by the OS you used (and/or timer on your motherboard).
Anyway, as I said, just try "PCE" or the lastest "DOSBox_SVN".
coolhaken
Newbie
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2010-5-15 @ 02:16

Re: Bubble Bobble Hercules

Postby fede2222 » 2016-6-27 @ 04:14

Yeah!!! coolhaken!.. i test on real hardware and it works!!

Image

With HGCIBM or SIMCGA 4.2 i have the problemas described in the thread, but with this PARTICULAR SIMCGA works perfectly... Yes, the text is missing..

I don't remember the text, but i remember the image streched vertically like the screenshot... with HGCIBM is not streched and use "full" screen

Thank you very much!!!

Konc
I'm using real hardware: AT286 8-12Mhz + Hercules Clone Card

If you add R parameter to the command line it resets the config and you can select different options.. can you try that... i forced CGA mode
fede2222
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2016-6-06 @ 21:48

Re: Bubble Bobble Hercules

Postby OldCat » 2018-7-06 @ 08:18

Just leaving a big thank you for this special SimCGA version! Works with some titles that could not be emulated on Hercules otherwise.
User avatar
OldCat
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: 2017-9-19 @ 09:37
Location: Poland


Return to DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests