YMF744+DSDMA+DOS+P965(and other PCIe chipsets)=success

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: YMF744+DSDMA+DOS+P965(and other PCIe chipsets)=success

Postby truemaster » 2018-3-31 @ 12:58

i have test my sblive in another pci port the result is the same. no go. is there a way to make it work? or a yamaha-aureal vortex 2 is needed??
truemaster
Newbie
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2015-11-30 @ 08:00

Re: YMF744+DSDMA+DOS+P965(and other PCIe chipsets)=success

Postby Kamerat » 2018-4-03 @ 03:40

truemaster wrote:i have test my sblive in another pci port the result is the same. no go. is there a way to make it work?

No, you need an ICH5 southbridge or earlier. If you want to run the Live! under DOS on a PCIe based setup you need to go for VIA or SiS (also ULi/ALi with Athlon 64).
or a yamaha-aureal vortex 2 is needed??

That's correct for you current motherboard.
User avatar
Kamerat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 727
Joined: 2014-3-14 @ 19:09
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: YMF744+DSDMA+DOS+P965(and other PCIe chipsets)=success

Postby truemaster » 2018-4-03 @ 14:22

thanks i will try aureal once arrived
truemaster
Newbie
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2015-11-30 @ 08:00

Re: YMF744+DSDMA+DOS+P965(and other PCIe chipsets)=success

Postby sparky4 » 2018-4-04 @ 14:54

Kamerat wrote:@sparky4

That chipset doesn't support DDMA, so there is no help in modifying SETUPDS.EXE.


what should i do then? reduce the ram and try a different slot? or is it no hope? original DOOM works perfectly with OPL3 and SOUND BLASTER support.
or should i try a different card?

cyclone3d wrote:Have you tried a different PCI slot?

What are the exact settings you are using in the setupds.exe configuration utility?

Post pics if possible.


not 100% sure but i can try by removing all my cards and just have the pcie slot in use by graphics card only. with the ymf724 in a pci slot next to it of course.

here is the ds.ini
Code: Select all
LEGEN=1
SBIO=0
SBIRQ=0
SBDMA=1
MPUIO=0
MPUIRQ=0
JOYIO=0
INTAIRQ=5
IRQMODE=1
DMAMODE=3
FIRSTTRY=0
SLAVEBASE=0
SLAVEADDR=0
LEGMAS=77
VOICE=77
FM=77
MASTER=0
MONO=8000
PCBEEP=8000
PHONE=8008
MIC=8008
LINE=8808
CD=8808
VIDEO=8808
AUX=8808
PCM=808
SBFILE=YMH8.WAV
NAFILE=YMH16.WAV
FMFILE=YMH.MID
PIRQRC=0
LOADTSR=1
IRQSHARE=0
wwww
User avatar
sparky4
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-8-07 @ 14:21
Location: northern Louisiana

Re: YMF744+DSDMA+DOS+P965(and other PCIe chipsets)=success

Postby Kamerat » 2018-4-04 @ 18:20

sparky4 wrote:what should i do then? reduce the ram and try a different slot? or is it no hope? original DOOM works perfectly with OPL3 and SOUND BLASTER support.
or should i try a different card?

I would try using 512/256MB of RAM and EMM386 instead. If you change PCI slot remember to change FIRSTTRY= to 1 for SETUPDS to automatically reconfigure and always use the LOADTSR batch file to initialize the card and load DSDMA (if DSDMA doesn't load automatically there's something wrong).

One thing I don't know if there's any differences in compatibility between the different 7x4 revisions when it comes to using the DSDMA TSR. Have you tried your card in any other computer?
User avatar
Kamerat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 727
Joined: 2014-3-14 @ 19:09
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: YMF744+DSDMA+DOS+P965(and other PCIe chipsets)=success

Postby sparky4 » 2018-4-04 @ 22:12

Kamerat wrote:
sparky4 wrote:what should i do then? reduce the ram and try a different slot? or is it no hope? original DOOM works perfectly with OPL3 and SOUND BLASTER support.
or should i try a different card?

I would try using 512/256MB of RAM and EMM386 instead. If you change PCI slot remember to change FIRSTTRY= to 1 for SETUPDS to automatically reconfigure and always use the LOADTSR batch file to initialize the card and load DSDMA (if DSDMA doesn't load automatically there's something wrong).

One thing I don't know if there's any differences in compatibility between the different 7x4 revisions when it comes to using the DSDMA TSR. Have you tried your card in any other computer?

ok i will try those things!

not yet! because finding a test computer and set up because of lack of time
wwww
User avatar
sparky4
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-8-07 @ 14:21
Location: northern Louisiana

Re: YMF744+DSDMA+DOS+P965(and other PCIe chipsets)=success

Postby truemaster » 2018-4-25 @ 16:55

aureal vortex 2 works ok and the good thing is it doesent need any ems. heres the comparison, in all windows game is superior to sb live. but back when i have the p3 mobo the live has better audio in dos but for pure dos the live need ems when the aureal does not.
truemaster
Newbie
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2015-11-30 @ 08:00

Re: YMF744+DSDMA+DOS+P965(and other PCIe chipsets)=success

Postby sparky4 » 2018-6-13 @ 18:40

truemaster wrote:aureal vortex 2 works ok and the good thing is it doesent need any ems. heres the comparison, in all windows game is superior to sb live. but back when i have the p3 mobo the live has better audio in dos but for pure dos the live need ems when the aureal does not.

hmmm what dose it look like? i may have one
wwww
User avatar
sparky4
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-8-07 @ 14:21
Location: northern Louisiana

Re: YMF744+DSDMA+DOS+P965(and other PCIe chipsets)=success

Postby sparky4 » 2018-6-14 @ 22:32

i tested the setup on a different motherboard... and it works.. i am going to check the hardware now
wwww
User avatar
sparky4
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-8-07 @ 14:21
Location: northern Louisiana

Previous

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Evert and 3 guests