DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby vasya segment » 2018-10-06 @ 05:34

Hello, @Yesterplay80
Does build R4160 support Win2k SP4 ?
Yesterplay80 wrote:(:
User avatar
vasya segment
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2009-1-16 @ 07:16

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby valnar » 2018-10-07 @ 04:37

Is it possible to add a variable for the video memory to the config file? With the 8Mb video RAM, the S3 Windows 3.1 driver shows a black block as a mouse cursor. With 2Mb, I think it would be fine.
valnar
Oldbie
 
Posts: 644
Joined: 2002-7-17 @ 13:50

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2018-10-07 @ 10:06

vasya segment wrote:Hello, @Yesterplay80
Does build R4160 support Win2k SP4 ?

I don't know, you're gonna have to just try it out.

valnar wrote:Is it possible to add a variable for the video memory to the config file? With the 8Mb video RAM, the S3 Windows 3.1 driver shows a black block as a mouse cursor. With 2Mb, I think it would be fine.

It ist possible, I just don't know how. :depressed:
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 336
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Srandista » 2018-10-07 @ 11:37

valnar wrote:With the 8Mb video RAM, the S3 Windows 3.1 driver shows a black block as a mouse cursor.

In the mean time, you can use build r4095 for Windows 3.1, which is the last one with 2MB VRAM set.
My overkill "retro" PC - Pentium E6500K, 512MB/2GB RAM, Radeon 9500@9700 (Softmod), 80GB HDD, Win 98/XP
User avatar
Srandista
Member
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 2017-4-07 @ 17:14
Location: Czech Republic

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby valnar » 2018-10-07 @ 12:51

Well r4095 works, so that's definitely the problem. I just hate to go back to that for Win31. Thanks.
valnar
Oldbie
 
Posts: 644
Joined: 2002-7-17 @ 13:50

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Delfino Furioso » 2018-10-08 @ 07:47

Hi yesterplay, since you're still actively adding patches to your build...

would you consider this one as well?
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=62417#p699251
Delfino Furioso
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-12-07 @ 10:02

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby olddos25 » 2018-10-08 @ 11:37

It looks pretty good. Maybe Yester should add it.
Currently mod on several Discord servs and a forum, so you can trust me if you want a DOSBox mod here!
Other places to find me:
DraStic: http://drastic-ds.com (as dsattorney)
EPForums: http://www.epforums.org (as emulationfan)
olddos25
Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: 2017-5-14 @ 02:34
Location: Argentina

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2018-10-11 @ 14:58

So, what this patch basically does is adding support for ReDump images, did I get that right? And it works with CDs, "classic" CUE+BIN or imaes images as well as ISO + OGG?
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 336
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Delfino Furioso » 2018-10-12 @ 06:44

basically yes


it makes easier to get specific games to work, particularly those that rely on the physical attributes of the audio tracks position on disk

without that patch, only single-track cuesheet works (one binary file containing both data and audio, a scenario typical of cue+img+ccd+sub dumps)
with it, we can convert those dumps in regular (and disk-space saving) multitrack cuesheet (one bin/iso file for data, multiple files ogg/mp3 files for audio)
Delfino Furioso
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-12-07 @ 10:02

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2018-10-12 @ 06:57

Delfino Furioso wrote:with it, we can convert those dumps in regular (and disk-space saving) multitrack cuesheet (one bin/iso file for data, multiple files ogg/mp3 files for audio)
That's already possible, I store all my games this way (ISO+OGGs).
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 336
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Delfino Furioso » 2018-10-12 @ 08:24

what I meant is that there are some games which do not work when using ISO+OGGs and that patch enable dosbox to play nice with them too
so storing images as ISO+OGGs become possible for ALL games

the patch's author gives a more technical explanation here
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=62417#p699194

the issue has even been submitted as a bug on sourceforge
https://sourceforge.net/p/dosbox/bugs/489/
Delfino Furioso
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-12-07 @ 10:02

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2018-10-12 @ 21:57

Alright, krcrofts patch is added as of ECE r4168, please play around with it to see if everything's still working fine.

http://dosbox.yesterplay80.net/DOSBox%20ECE%20r4168.7z
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 336
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Neville » 2018-10-12 @ 22:48

Hello there. See if I can get this solved... I've been following DOSBox ECE with interest since the project started, because I previously used Yhkwong's DOSbox build to run MT-32 and 3Dfx games. However, since it has been a while since it was updated and is not as stable as ECE, I've trying to switch to ECE. But I still haven't been able to run any 3Dfx games with ECE...

I'm running Windows 10 and I've tried with or without a Glide wrapper (previously I used nGlide). I usually run ECE from DBGL, but I've also tried on its own and I got a DLL not found message when running "Blood" with its 3Dfx patch. That's not the first time I've seen that message and I know it usually goes away by using the setting memsize=63, but this is not the case.

Is there any kind of 3Dfx test I can run to see what is going wrong here? I'd be happy to attach system info and results.

There's also a very annoying thing... lately DOSBox ECE tends to use a disproportionate amount of my screen while it previously didn't... is this normal? Here's a capture:

Image
User avatar
Neville
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: 2004-8-09 @ 14:01

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby zirkoni » 2018-10-13 @ 05:35

Why would you want to run the Glide version of Blood? It looks terrible compared to the normal version and probably crashes every few minutes...

Anyway, make sure the game can find the glide2x.ovl file (easiest to just put it in the game directory) and set memsize=64
User avatar
zirkoni
Member
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 2014-7-17 @ 08:54

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Neville » 2018-10-13 @ 12:40

I chose "Blood" for simplicity. The rest of my 3Dfx games require me to mount two units, a harddrive and a CD-ROM drive.

Which version of glide2x.ovl should I use? 3Dfx's? Yhkwong's? nGlide's?
User avatar
Neville
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: 2004-8-09 @ 14:01


Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Neville » 2018-10-13 @ 19:02

Thank you. Same result, unfortunately. I also tried the same file from here.

Maybe it's a game related issue, I'll try with other games later.

EDIT: Other games seem to work now with the file you mentioned. I'm getting 3Dfx logos and exclusive fullscreen modes in a bunch of games, such as Screamer 2, Nascar Racing 1999 and Screamer Rally. Others have issues, though. I don't think it's working for Carmageddon (gameplay is in window mode by default) and Whiplash / Fatal Racing shows a corrupted sky.
User avatar
Neville
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: 2004-8-09 @ 14:01

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows)

Postby Delfino Furioso » 2018-10-13 @ 21:15

Yesterplay80 wrote:Alright, krcrofts patch is added as of ECE r4168, please play around with it to see if everything's still working fine.


Great!

I tested it with Destruction Derby and everything seems to work fine, thanks!
Delfino Furioso
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-12-07 @ 10:02

Previous

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: knowledge [bot], Silanda and 0 guests