ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby matze79 » 2018-1-24 @ 16:51

Hi,

run a K6-2 CPU with a Commate Mainboard with ALI Chipset,

it does not work with the Radeon 7000/7500 or GeForce 1/2/3 Cards i tested.
Also TNT2 will not work welll.

I getting freezes and Random lookups.

(Radeon only in Games, GeForce also in Controlpanel)

I'm thinking this has todo with AGP Chipset of the ALI Mainboard. Commate A7SX.

Anyone knows howto fix this ?

A Creative 3D Blaster Savage is working fine. Also Trio 3D AGP.

Merci

Matthias
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby colpoz » 2018-1-24 @ 18:08

My Geforce2 MX works perfectly on an Asus P5A (Ali Aladdin V) and K6-2
RetroPc I: Asus P3V4X - PentiumIII 1000MHz - 256MB Ram - Geforce3 Ti 200 - SLI VoodooII 12MB - Aureal Vortex2 - HDD 80GB - Win98 SE
RetroPc II: Asus P5A - K6-2 333MHz - 64MB Ram - Geforce2 MX - Voodoo 4MB - Soundblaster AWE64 - HDD 13GB - Win95
colpoz
Newbie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 2016-1-10 @ 00:38
Location: Italy

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby derSammler » 2018-1-24 @ 18:18

Have you installed the ALI AGP drivers?
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1607
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby matze79 » 2018-1-25 @ 12:31

reinstalled AGP Driver.. seems Radeon Driver messed up something.

I may retry with GeForce :) Radeon has lower Performance then Savage 4 on slow CPU..

Only benefit, i can use high resolutions without Framedrop :)
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby matze79 » 2018-1-25 @ 12:39

still lookups, maybe the power supply is too weak/bad capacitors etc.

Now testing Radeon 7000 PCI.
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby matze79 » 2018-1-25 @ 13:01

Running 3 times 3dmark99, still no lockup.. maybe AGP has weak Power ?

EDIT:
Rage 128 Pro - 32Mb also lookups. (AGP 4x Card..)

Now Trying older Rage 128 (2x)
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby synrgy87 » 2018-1-25 @ 13:33

Ali chipsets have problems with Nvidia AGP cards sometimes, although ATI and others should work.
synrgy87
Newbie
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 2016-4-17 @ 19:00

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby matze79 » 2018-1-25 @ 13:52

Yes but Radeon 7000 PCI 32Mb works fine, damn it, no Powersupply problem then.

Rage 128 16Mb AGP 2x also looks up.

Hmm i will try out a different harddisk and try a clean install.
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby derSammler » 2018-1-25 @ 13:59

Try running pure DOS and some game that uses VESA for high resolution (e.g. Duke3D). If it crashes there as well, you most likely have a hardware problem.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1607
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby matze79 » 2018-1-25 @ 14:09

DOS is fine.
Also no Problems in Software Mode on UT with AGP Card etc..

Only 3D Stuff is affected and only on AGP.

Maybe its not enough Power on the Bus.
As LowEnd Cards work well too (Savage 4, MPact!, Laguna3D, S3 Trio GX2, Riva128ZX..)
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby derSammler » 2018-1-25 @ 14:48

This is certainly no power issue if even a Rage 128 locks up.

How's the AGP Aperture Size set in the BIOS?
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1607
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby lazibayer » 2018-1-25 @ 15:38

Can you find "AGP Turbo Mode" in the BIOS? You can try disabling that and see if it eases the problem. You may also use powerstrip to disable some of the AGP features such as side band addressing and 2x speed.
Can you install AGP bridge as standard PCI bridge? We may rule out electrical and mechanical problems if the cards work under PCI mode.
The latest ALi chipset driver is released by NVidia, just in case you didn't know.
User avatar
lazibayer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: 2014-10-21 @ 21:16

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby meljor » 2018-1-25 @ 21:17

I had very good results with the ali agp driver 1.72 and also the driver Lazibayer pointed at, the 2.13 driver from Uli (Nvidia). Other drivers can be troublesome.

You can also alter the agp settings in the windows registry and test which option gives you problems. Also disabling ''agp turbo'' in bios'' can fix things.
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1485
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby matze79 » 2018-1-29 @ 15:43

i disabled SBA, now it works.

Looks like a Chipset Bug.
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby meljor » 2018-1-30 @ 19:43

Thanx for sharing the solution to your problem. Was sba a bios option or did you disable it in the registry?
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1485
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby matze79 » 2018-5-17 @ 04:28

i used rivatuner.

Now using newest ULI Driver and no agp tweaks, settings are changed.
the ULI Driver works fine and also gives my a boost in performance.
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: ALI Chipset vs AGP Card - K6-2 Commate S7AX

Postby dionb » 2018-5-17 @ 08:30

Great :)

Another example of suspected hardware issues in the Aladdin V that just turn out to be driver issues. Very impressed that nVidia fixed so much so long afterwards :)

Out of interest, exactly which revision Aladdin V is on that S7AX? You can see that on the M1541 northbridge, it's the last letter on the line above "TAIWAN".
User avatar
dionb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 784
Joined: 2017-12-23 @ 15:35
Location: Amsterdam


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Silanda and 3 guests

cron