939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-3-11 @ 23:45

Hello

Simple goal for today :
I would like to use AMD Radeon R9 390X on my 939Dual-VSTA board :)

Main problem I can't seem to figure out is this :
Image

Because of ^that, there are no video adapters to install drivers for :
Image

GPU clearly works (because I can do everything in Basic VGA mode), but... it can't do anything more than that.

PCI-e 3.0 isn't the issue here as GTX 780 Ti works flawlessly on this setup :
Image

Any ideas ?
Thank you.

PS. Cards I'm using : LINK
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby The Serpent Rider » 2018-3-12 @ 03:32

PCI-e 3.0 isn't the issue here as GTX 780 Ti works flawlessly on this setup :

I would test another Radeon PCI-E 3.0 card before dropping that theory. Or maybe motherboard just can't comprehend 8gb of VRAM.
User avatar
The Serpent Rider
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1013
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 19:07
Location: Stagnant Demesne

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby cyclone3d » 2018-3-12 @ 05:15

Doesn't the R9-390X require a UEFI capable system?

I know even some of the R9-280X cards require UEFI.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 2210
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-3-12 @ 06:15

cyclone3d wrote:Doesn't the R9-390X require a UEFI capable system?

I know even some of the R9-280X cards require UEFI.
I'm using EFI bootloader (Clover), to force Windows installation in UEFI mode (on GPT HDD).
Also, I thought UEFI only vBIOS woudn't even boot/POST on Legacy BIOS board ?

@The Serpent Rider OK, fair enough.
However, I don't have another Radeon PCIe 3.0 GPU...

PS. Board can handle 8GB of RAM with AM2 CPU : https://valid.x86.fr/5xzn0b
Problem still persist with it installed :/
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby MrMateczko » 2018-3-13 @ 01:55

Try every BIOS version you can find, including beta/unofficial ones.
User avatar
MrMateczko
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2015-12-22 @ 10:56
Location: Poland

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby Kamerat » 2018-3-14 @ 07:05

I got a spare Radeon R9 290 (same GPU as the R9 390X) and a 939Dual-SATA2 with an AM2 CPU which I can try together under Windows 7 if you want me to. Just have to swap out the crappy 300W PSU in that rig.
User avatar
Kamerat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 848
Joined: 2014-3-14 @ 19:09
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-3-14 @ 19:02

@MrMateczko Well, there are only 3 BIOS'es for this board (aside from First release), and unofficial one (1.30A) adds... better Fan control.
I don't think there is a BIOS that can help me :(
Unless... someone could mod AMD PCI-e 3.0 support into official one ;)

@Kamerat
If you could, please do. I would like to know if it's something that can be bypassed on other AMD PCI-e 3.0 GPU.
BTW, I tested my other AM2 board :
AliveDual-eSATA2, and it doesn't even show post with this card :/
However, based on sounds, it does try to boot... there simply is no picture on monitor and it fails in loading Windows (crash and restart on booting, from what I can hear).

On my Rampage Extreme (X48, LGA 775) - card works fine (so, it can't be UEFI only card) : LINK
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby havli » 2018-3-14 @ 20:51

Most likely this is some kind of incompatibility with the ULI chipset. Unfortunately I don't have this board to test it myself, the oldest chipset I was using with Hawaii card is nForce Pro 3600 http://hwbot.org/submission/3699921_hav ... 8022_marks
HW museum.cz - my collection of PC hardware
User avatar
havli
Oldbie
 
Posts: 670
Joined: 2014-11-07 @ 16:51
Location: Czech Republic

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby Kamerat » 2018-3-16 @ 07:01

agent_x007 wrote:@Kamerat
If you could, please do. I would like to know if it's something that can be bypassed on other AMD PCI-e 3.0 GPU.

It works. Installed a XFX R9 290 (reference design) on a 939Dual-SATA2 today and drivers intalled just fine in Windows 7 64 bit. Not running any EFI bootloader BTW. Also tried a couple of games which also works. The board is stuffed with 6GB DDR2 memory.
User avatar
Kamerat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 848
Joined: 2014-3-14 @ 19:09
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby The Serpent Rider » 2018-3-16 @ 17:02

Looks like 8gb is just too much.
User avatar
The Serpent Rider
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1013
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 19:07
Location: Stagnant Demesne

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-3-17 @ 09:37

Kamerat wrote:It works. Installed a XFX R9 290 (reference design) on a 939Dual-SATA2 today and drivers intalled just fine in Windows 7 64 bit. Not running any EFI bootloader BTW. Also tried a couple of games which also works. The board is stuffed with 6GB DDR2 memory.
The Serpent Rider wrote:Looks like 8gb is just too much.
Indeed :(
@Kamerat Can I ask for a 3DMark Firestrike run screen shot or a valid link (would like to know if it's stable and how far in score it can go on Athlon64 S939 platform) ?
Thank you very much for your help.

Wish someone had a OG GTX Titan or GTX 980 Ti with 6GB VRAM to see if they can work in this board...
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby matze79 » 2018-3-17 @ 10:04

Looks like clover isnt delivering configuration information for VGA Card..
https://www.dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-3-17 @ 13:22

It doesn't for Radeon R9 390X, but it does for GTX 780 Ti (same system config) ?
Ok, I will check if legacy booting will change the outcome, but I doubt it...
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby Kamerat » 2018-3-17 @ 19:18

agent_x007 wrote:@Kamerat Can I ask for a 3DMark Firestrike run screen shot or a valid link (would like to know if it's stable and how far in score it can go on Athlon64 S939 platform) ?
Thank you very much for your help.

Here you go. :)
User avatar
Kamerat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 848
Joined: 2014-3-14 @ 19:09
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-3-17 @ 21:50

Awesome, Good job !
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-9-16 @ 18:42

Half-year update on this (it took a while to get a 4GB+ VRAM card to test this :D)
We were wrong. The board works with 8GB VRAM cards (Memory Hole option enabled), it simply defaults to 16 color (that's NOT "16-bit" mind you), palette without drivers.

I tested GTX 1080 with mine :
Image
Valid : LINK
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby KCompRoom2000 » 2018-9-16 @ 19:39

agent_x007 wrote:Half-year update on this (it took a while to get a 4GB+ VRAM card to test this :D)
We were wrong. The board works with 8GB VRAM cards (Memory Hole option enabled), it simply defaults to 16 color (that's NOT "16-bit" mind you), palette without drivers.

It must be shocking to see Windows 7 in 16 colors (I assume that's what you were running judging by the screenshot above). :dead:

Anyways, glad to hear you got your GTX 1080 to work with your 939Dual-VSTA motherboard, that graphics card has twice the memory as your RAM.
1988-96:SL-54U5|P233MMX|64MB|Virge325|YMF719-S
1995-98:P2B-VE|C433|192MB|Rage Pro|Voodoo2|CT4500/32M
1998-01:GX150MT|PIII-S 1400|384MB|GF4Ti4200|CT4670
2000-05:A8V|A64 3700+|2GB|RadeonX800
User avatar
KCompRoom2000
Oldbie
 
Posts: 614
Joined: 2017-5-24 @ 22:38
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-9-16 @ 20:56

agent_x007 wrote:it simply defaults to 16 color (that's NOT "16-bit" mind you), palette without drivers.
KCompRoom2000 wrote:It must be shocking to see Windows 7 in 16 colors (I assume that's what you were running judging by the screenshot above). :dead:
My screenshot clearly has them installed ;)
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby KCompRoom2000 » 2018-9-17 @ 19:16

agent_x007 wrote:
agent_x007 wrote:it simply defaults to 16 color (that's NOT "16-bit" mind you), palette without drivers.
KCompRoom2000 wrote:It must be shocking to see Windows 7 in 16 colors (I assume that's what you were running judging by the screenshot above). :dead:
My screenshot clearly has them installed ;)

Yes, I know, I was talking about what it must've been like before having the drivers installed. Sorry for not being clear enough.
1988-96:SL-54U5|P233MMX|64MB|Virge325|YMF719-S
1995-98:P2B-VE|C433|192MB|Rage Pro|Voodoo2|CT4500/32M
1998-01:GX150MT|PIII-S 1400|384MB|GF4Ti4200|CT4670
2000-05:A8V|A64 3700+|2GB|RadeonX800
User avatar
KCompRoom2000
Oldbie
 
Posts: 614
Joined: 2017-5-24 @ 22:38
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Re: 939Dual-VSTA + R9 390X = VGA Mode only ?

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-9-30 @ 18:49

Final update : Memory Hole = [Enabled] to the rescue !
Image
CPU-z Valid : https://valid.x86.fr/dhl3hv
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest