C2Q Build - OS suggestions

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

C2Q Build - OS suggestions

Postby CarlHopkinsUK » 2018-5-17 @ 13:45

Im am considering "downgrading" my Core2Quad machine to cover 2000 > 2009 games along with maybe sticking to 32 bit based OS (with a reduction of RAM to 4GB).

What would everyone recommend for this in terms of OS, i have keys/licences of most things so choice is not a problem.

I was thinking Windows XP SP3 but is this too old or am i loosing out?...one advantage however is i could use my Soundblaster Live! Value in this if i did go this way.

Final spec would be:-
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-G41M LGA775
CPU: C2Q Q8400 @ 2.66ghz
Cooler: Coolermaster MasterLiquid 120 AIO
Ram: Corsair DDR-3 1333 2x 2GB
GPU: Nvidia GTX650 1gb
Sound: Soundblaster Live! Value / Onboard AC97
Drives: 1Tb WD Black HDD
Image
User avatar
CarlHopkinsUK
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2018-5-09 @ 22:40
Location: UK

Re: C2Q Build - OS suggestions

Postby BinaryDemon » 2018-5-17 @ 14:33

I don't see any problems with your plan to run XP. There were some very rare pc games released < 2009 that require Vista, mostly because MS was trying to encourage Vista adoption not because they truely used DX10. Games like Shadowrun or Halo2 (PC).
Check out DOSBox Distro:

https://sites.google.com/site/dosboxdistro/ [*]

a lightweight Linux distro (tinycore) which boots off a usb flash drive and goes straight to DOSBox.

Make your dos retrogaming experience portable!
BinaryDemon
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2018-1-17 @ 00:35

Re: C2Q Build - OS suggestions

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2018-5-17 @ 16:48

I also vote XP. My c2q runs xp 32 bit with a 4:3 monitor. I much prefer that over the hassles on a modern pc and black bars.

You may as well just use your modern pc for anything Vista and beyond imho. Could just be that I'm getting older and Vista still seems like it just came out though, but I have no nostalgia for that era (short of a few good games) and a new pc rarely has issue with running them.

The only drawback to XP 32bit today is browsing.. but a simple solution is to just dual boot with any Linux distro you want and browse from there. I have 8 gigs in mine available to linux, it's pretty useful even today.
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 513
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: C2Q Build - OS suggestions

Postby CarlHopkinsUK » 2018-5-18 @ 12:49

Thanks for the suggestions :-D

Going to try the Xeon/LGA771 route on this build first as i have just secured a X5460 which i know others have had success running on this board...hopefully this can keep this machine useful as a main machine for a bit longer.

I have a Optiplex 330 which i have just brought back to life which is probably a better fit for an XP build, got a E6420 in this at the moment - but i know the Q8400 also works in this, so i may well dump that in here :lol: Only shame is that its a SFF build so the Live! wont fit...

or i could have another crack at a SKT370 build... too many options!
Image
User avatar
CarlHopkinsUK
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2018-5-09 @ 22:40
Location: UK

Re: C2Q Build - OS suggestions

Postby vvbee » 2018-5-18 @ 14:55

I adopted xp in 2009 and don't remember issues. Win 2000 was the old one then.
User avatar
vvbee
Member
 
Posts: 390
Joined: 2017-2-06 @ 17:56

Re: C2Q Build - OS suggestions

Postby CarlHopkinsUK » 2018-5-18 @ 22:08

Well this happened today - https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=17341&p=673009#p673009

So I guess that settles it... :-D
Image
User avatar
CarlHopkinsUK
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2018-5-09 @ 22:40
Location: UK


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests