Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby yawetaG » 2018-6-12 @ 19:34

Roman555 wrote:Also I tried the GETROM.ZIP - it works. I ran it twice and compared the images. They have difference in one address (just 1 byte). I don't know why it is, but it means that different checksums of bios could be generated even in a working system.


Faulty memory could be a cause of this.
yawetaG
Oldbie
 
Posts: 982
Joined: 2016-6-14 @ 14:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-6-12 @ 20:13

Or incorrect memory being used (EDO, for example), or mismatched memory (latency being lower than the other). Sometimes I get the memory error with the 2x 16MB SIMM-72 RAM installed (latency is 70ns). Another example is, if you want to use 60ns RAM, disable the on-board RAM to prevent conflicts or errors. I can't even install L2 cache in my system (Windows would throw a memory fault message and the system would lock up at times when turning it on).
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby Thermalwrong » 2018-6-12 @ 23:03

Hmm, I'm not sure if it's just my machine's own quirks but the memory slot furthest from the CPU has been giving me some trouble, I had to remove the RAM in that slot so that Windows could finish installing.

bjwil1991: It's worrying that you've had so many issues with the L2 cache, I've been trying to get that working too but I've only got the 128KB cache and TAG RAM chip, not the DB ram chip it apparently also requires(?) Right now, it either doesn't boot with the cache fitted or doesn't detect it.

ahtoh: Have you had a chance to try an alternative video card yet?
Thermalwrong
Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2018-3-18 @ 19:24
Location: England

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-6-13 @ 13:52

Thermalwrong wrote:bjwil1991: It's worrying that you've had so many issues with the L2 cache, I've been trying to get that working too but I've only got the 128KB cache and TAG RAM chip, not the DB ram chip it apparently also requires(?) Right now, it either doesn't boot with the cache fitted or doesn't detect it.

The L2 cache requires the following:

4x 32K x 8 (or 256Kb) 20ns 28-pin or 4x 128K x 8 (or 1Mb) 20ns 32-pin
1x 32K x 8 (or 256Kb) 15ns 28-pin TAG
1x 64K x 1 15ns 22-pin DB

The cache chips must match in order for it to successfully work, and I believe it goes by the BIOS string of which chips will work with it.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby ahtoh » 2018-6-13 @ 21:18

I purchased a few VGA cards but they're not yet delivered.
I also sourced a working PB450 board and did some comparison between the two.
I tried to swap the bios chip and it made no difference, this makes me believe it is not the bios problem
Diag showed minimum difference but it detected monitor on the working board:

Monitor label: IBM 8514
Monitor type: Color

This makes me believe that it is VGA chip fault.
Strange thing is the low Diag performance of both motherboards, only scored 4166.7 Dhrystones (the value matches on both boards!)
But this is probably due to missing L2 cache.
ahtoh
Newbie
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2016-11-15 @ 00:24

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-6-13 @ 21:47

Can you post some up-close pictures of the video chip area (video chip itself, and the memory for the video card)? Could need a reflow of the solder.

Also, did the other board act the same way with the lock ups or did that work as well? The dead VGA sounds like the issue there.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby ahtoh » 2018-6-14 @ 00:46

yes, the working board sometimes locks up as I think because it tries to detect a hard drive.
this fixes by going to bios and changing the hard drive to none

Does anyone have this bios from Micro Firmware BTW?
https://www.rigacci.org/docs/biblio/onl ... fibios.htm
pb450 version 4.05.10
ahtoh
Newbie
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2016-11-15 @ 00:24

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby ahtoh » 2018-6-14 @ 03:06

bjwil1991 wrote:Can you post some up-close pictures of the video chip area (video chip itself, and the memory for the video card)? Could need a reflow of the solder.


I inspected the chip very carefully and all the soldering is visually OK
I now plan to replace the 5428 chip with 5424 from another board (dead pb430 with leaked battery)
Not sure if I have to somehow adjust the video bios as I change the chip
ahtoh
Newbie
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2016-11-15 @ 00:24

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby Roman555 » 2018-6-14 @ 07:06

ahtoh wrote:I now plan to replace the 5428 chip with 5424 from another board

It's better to do some measuring around videochips on both mainboards and compare to be sure.
Because I've read a lot how people replaced suspect bridges, hubs, MIOs but in fact bad components were just little resistors, chokes, capacitors.
For example, as the CL-GD542X datasheet sais there are pins AVDD[1-4] that are used to supply +5 volts to the different blocks of the chip. Power goes to these pins either directly from the +5V rail or via 33 Ω resistors (or it could be chokes, IMHO).
Roman555
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2018-5-16 @ 08:14
Location: Ukraine

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-6-14 @ 13:58

The Micro Firmware Phoenix BIOS requires the actual Micro Firmware Phoenix BIOS to be on the chip itself. I might plan on flashing the BIOS onto a blank chip and get the video BIOS from the chip installed in my Packard Bell as well to copy it onto.

Here's a link: https://www.driverguide.com/driver/deta ... riverid=39
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby pbuser » 2018-6-14 @ 22:00

According to the Readme :
This BIOS Update file will update prior revisions of Micro Firmware's P4HS20 BIOS Upgrade to P4HS20 version 4.05.10.

In order to install this update, the P4HS20 BIOS must already be resident on your PC. You can confirm this by booting your PC and watching for the Micro Firmware BIOS part number which will appear on the boot screen. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO INSTALL THIS UPDATE IF YOU DO NOT SEE THE "P4HS20" PART NUMBER ON THE BOOT SCREEN.
pbuser
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2018-5-16 @ 18:50

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby ahtoh » 2018-6-22 @ 23:25

Update:
I received a graphics card and it works.

Will try to replace the chip
ahtoh
Newbie
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2016-11-15 @ 00:24

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-6-23 @ 02:02

Glad you got it sorted out, man. Check the resistors next to the video chip to see if any of them are bad just in case.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: Packard bell PB450 two beeps

Postby Roman555 » 2018-6-23 @ 15:20

I bought a videocard recently (S3 Virge DX, but it doesn't matter).
It didn't show anything, a monitor stayed in "stand-by" mode, but DOS loaded and I could get diag447 report.
Almost the ahtoh's case.
Long story short there were cold joints of videochip pins to pads. I fixed them with a soldering iron.
The videochip is OK.
So, ahtoh, if you haven't replaced videochip yet, try to inspect the soldering of the chip with a toothpick or a needle.
Roman555
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2018-5-16 @ 08:14
Location: Ukraine

Previous

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: britain4, Eleanor1967, Evert, Google [Bot], MCGA, relo999 and 8 guests