DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby theepicjoshua » 2018-7-10 @ 22:57

So, I started up my DOSBox, one day, and I saw a white screen. Nothing on it, No logo, Just that; a white blank screen.
I uninstalled it, reinstalled it, nothing changed. Just the same old white screen. Staring at me as if I didn't touch it.

I am using Windows 10 64-bit: Version 1803

Hopefully, someone will find a solution to this problem.

Thank you.
Last edited by theepicjoshua on 2018-7-12 @ 02:08, edited 1 time in total.
- Josh
theepicjoshua
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-7-10 @ 22:43

Re: DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby Qbix » 2018-7-11 @ 06:05

which video card do you have and which drivers ?
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10635
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2018-7-11 @ 09:06

Have you tried a much more recent SVN release? 0.74 is some years old by now, maybe a current SVN works much better.
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 327
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby theepicjoshua » 2018-7-12 @ 02:06

Qbix wrote:which video card do you have and which drivers?

Did you mean what 'Display adapters' I have or what 'graphics card' I have?

If you meant what Display adapter I have, I have an Intel HD Graphics 3000.

If you meant what Graphics Card I have, well, it's hard to say and believe, but I don't have one.
But, that's not to say it hasn't worked before, it has worked before.
Last edited by theepicjoshua on 2018-7-12 @ 22:06, edited 1 time in total.
- Josh
theepicjoshua
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-7-10 @ 22:43

Re: DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby Qbix » 2018-7-12 @ 14:41

Thanks, that was what I was asking for.
I suspect that a driver has updated (maybe by microsoft or by intel) as there are suddenly 3 people with this problem. (Got 2 by email as well)

Can you check when the driver of your display adapter was updated ?
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10635
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby theepicjoshua » 2018-7-12 @ 20:48

Qbix wrote:Thanks, that was what I was asking for.
I suspect that a driver has updated (maybe by microsoft or by intel) as there are suddenly 3 people with this problem. (Got 2 by email as well)

Can you check when the driver of your display adapter was updated ?

Sure! I believe the last time it was updated was on the 22nd of June, 2018.
- Josh
theepicjoshua
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-7-10 @ 22:43

Re: DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby theepicjoshua » 2018-7-13 @ 00:04

Yesterplay80 wrote:Have you tried a much more recent SVN release? 0.74 is some years old by now, maybe a current SVN works much better.

Hey, I just tried the latest version of DOSBox, which is r4130. Nothing changed. Just the same white screen as if nothing ever happened to it.
- Josh
theepicjoshua
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-7-10 @ 22:43

Re: DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby DosFreak » 2018-7-13 @ 00:45

DOSBox 0.74 working fine on Windows 10 x64 w/ Intel HD Graphics 530 v24.20.100.6194 6/20/2018

Wonder if 1803 is incompatible with old Intel HD drivers. On the Intel site the highest OS is Windows 8 for the Intel HD 3000.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9783
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2018-7-13 @ 01:38

Are you using the output=surface setting, which is the default? If so then try the output=opengl setting.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4224
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby theepicjoshua » 2018-7-13 @ 13:15

ripsaw8080 wrote:Are you using the output=surface setting, which is the default? If so then try the output=opengl setting.

I tried changing the Output setting from ‘surface’ to ‘opengl’ and it actually fixed my problem! I still don’t have a logo on startup, but the important thing is, it works. Thanks!
- Josh
theepicjoshua
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-7-10 @ 22:43

Re: DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby Qbix » 2018-7-13 @ 19:37

if you are still hanging around.
Could you tell us with which version of dosbox this was ?
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10635
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOSBox 0.74 shows a white screen

Postby theepicjoshua » 2018-7-13 @ 22:03

Qbix wrote:if you are still hanging around.
Could you tell us with which version of dosbox this was ?

I tried it on both the SVN and 0.74, I believe. They both worked fine.
- Josh
theepicjoshua
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-7-10 @ 22:43


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron