Core Processor equivalencies

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Core Processor equivalencies

Postby Danfun64 » 2018-7-31 @ 03:27

Hello. I'm curious as to what Hz each cputype (386 | 386_slow | 486_slow | pentium_slow | 386_prefetch) is supposed to be equivalent to. In this case, I'd like to set PCem to the equivalent of DOSBox's "pentium_slow" setting (I don't want to overshoot the mark).
Danfun64
Newbie
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 2009-11-15 @ 20:33

Re: Core Processor equivalencies

Postby Qbix » 2018-7-31 @ 05:44

They have nothing to do with HZ or speed at all.
It controls the features available. Slow and fast control which algorithm is used when dealing with pagefaults.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10594
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: Core Processor equivalencies

Postby leileilol » 2018-7-31 @ 06:23

Also they'll never be equivalent as DOSbox treats all instructions as one cycle. Different games have different demands. Even 3000 cycles isn't consistently reflective. Don't trust TOPBENCH either (which was made on the pretense that you could tune dosbox to 'match' an older PC to get some placebo effect of emulation authenticity)
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
386DX vs SX isn't about a missing FPU
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
Old PCs aren't 'aesthetic'
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9250
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Core Processor equivalencies

Postby awgamer » 2018-8-01 @ 07:54

The DOSBox wiki answers this I think. https://www.dosbox.com/wiki/Performance
awgamer
Member
 
Posts: 440
Joined: 2014-7-26 @ 07:42

Re: Core Processor equivalencies

Postby Kerr Avon » 2018-8-11 @ 18:44

Incidentally, why doesn't DOSBox have an option to act specifically like a given PC, at a given speed? Such as

/basetype 286 /mz 12

/basetype 486dx /mx 66

I can see that this would at best be only an approximation, since two 486DX 66 PCs, for example, could have vastly different hardware so that not only is one PC noticeably faster than the other, but actually the slower one might be faster than the fast PC in a specific component, and also that DOSBox doesn't emulate cycle accuracy (which doesn't matter, of course - DOSBox is brilliant for games!) but wouldn't the ability to choose (roughly) the speed of the emulated PC be useful for some people?

Apologies if I'm missing some obvious technical reason why this is a stupid or impractical option (I probably am).
Kerr Avon
Member
 
Posts: 422
Joined: 2007-6-29 @ 14:33

Re: Core Processor equivalencies

Postby awgamer » 2018-8-12 @ 01:24

There are some batch files posted here that do that somewhere.
awgamer
Member
 
Posts: 440
Joined: 2014-7-26 @ 07:42

Re: Core Processor equivalencies

Postby Jo22 » 2018-8-12 @ 17:26

Kerr Avon wrote:Incidentally, why doesn't DOSBox have an option to act specifically like a given PC, at a given speed?

Well, not all 386es and 486es had the same cycle timings either. Especially the 80486 platform had many clones.
Of course, we could go with the intel ones as reference. But not all users would agree on that, since many had clone chips.
Personally, when I think of 386es, I think of the AM386DX40, which never got an Intel complement. :neutral:
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BLEXBot [Bot] and 2 guests

cron