Quake CD Music

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Quake CD Music

Postby gladders » 2018-8-12 @ 21:43

I have burned the soundtrack to a CD which runs in the CD player. I boot up Quake. The launch monitor recognises there's a CD in the tray, but no music is played when I proceed. Sound effects are fine, though. I'm using an AWE64 and Windows 98.

What am I missing, folks?
gladders
Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: 2016-2-06 @ 00:26

Re: Quake CD Music

Postby spiroyster » 2018-8-12 @ 22:33

Perhaps an audio cable from the CD-ROM drive to the AWE64?
User avatar
spiroyster
Member
 
Posts: 407
Joined: 2015-10-12 @ 12:26

Re: Quake CD Music

Postby gladders » 2018-8-13 @ 05:30

spiroyster wrote:Perhaps an audio cable from the CD-ROM drive to the AWE64?


I have one, it's connected and working, hence the CD player playing the CD no problems.
gladders
Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: 2016-2-06 @ 00:26

Re: Quake CD Music

Postby zirkoni » 2018-8-13 @ 12:57

Have you tried any of these console commands:
Code: Select all
cd on
    Re-enables the CD audio system after a "cd off" command.
   
cd off
    Shuts down the CD audio system. No more music will be
    played unless it is re-enabled.
   
cd reset
    Causes the CD audio to re-initialize. This is useful
    if you change CDs or insert the CD after you've
    already run Quake.
   
cd play <track number>
    Plays the specified track one time.
   
cd loop <track number>
    Plays the specified track. It will be repeated until
    either it is manually stopped or another track is started.
   
cd stop
    Stops the currently playing track.
   
cd resume
    Will resume playback of a stopped track.
   
cd eject
    This is for CD players that do not have a manual eject button.
   
cd info
    Reports information such as the number and types of
    tracks on the current CD, what track (if any) is
    currently playing, and the playback volume.
User avatar
zirkoni
Member
 
Posts: 169
Joined: 2014-7-17 @ 08:54

Re: Quake CD Music

Postby gladders » 2018-8-14 @ 17:08

So the secret it seems was to hav the game data on the disc and not just the music, and not bother with WINQUAKE but only use the DOS version. Odd but there you go.
gladders
Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: 2016-2-06 @ 00:26

Re: Quake CD Music

Postby dr_st » 2018-8-14 @ 20:37

Heh. If you had offered this information from the start, you may have gotten this suggestion earlier.

Some games are willing to play any CD that's inserted, and some check and only play their own CD.
User avatar
dr_st
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18

Re: Quake CD Music

Postby SpeedySPCFan » 2018-8-16 @ 04:35

gladders wrote:So the secret it seems was to hav the game data on the disc and not just the music, and not bother with WINQUAKE but only use the DOS version. Odd but there you go.


That seems bizarre, because I've played Quake with my own music in the drive before from some legit audio CDs and it played them just fine.
YouTube
SoundCloud
Musician & YouTuber. Currently working on Planet X3 and Necrolepsy.

MIDI modules: Roland MT-32, SC-55 (2.00 ROM), SC-8850, KORG NX5R, Yamaha MU1000EX. PM me if you want any music/soundtracks recorded in 24-bit quality!
User avatar
SpeedySPCFan
Member
 
Posts: 182
Joined: 2014-10-30 @ 20:34


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dreamblaster and 2 guests