Are There Any Source Ports for Doom/Doom 2 + Expansions That Support External MIDI Devices?

Getting old DOS games working. (DOSBox topics belong in DOSBox areas below, not here).

Are There Any Source Ports for Doom/Doom 2 + Expansions That Support External MIDI Devices?

Postby the_ultra_code » 2018-10-08 @ 12:07

Hello VOGONS memebers!

I have an... interesting question.

I currently have installed on my P3 Slot 1 machine Doom and Doom 2 w/ expansions that I run under MS-DOS mode, and I began using with Doom 2 (because when I was playing Doom 2 I acquired one) a Roland SC-88 w/ SoftMPU for MIDI playback along with my AWE64 Value for sound effects. Now, I'm thinking that I might want to upgrade that system to a slightly newer platform - a socket 370 800-series chipset motherboard w/ Tualatin support and no ISA slots. Obviously, that would mean that I wouldn't be able to use the AWE64, and, if I did want to use MS-DOS mode, I would have to forgo whatever benefits the AWE64 had over comparable PCI sound cards, and then have to deal with all the DOS games that are looking for an ISA sound card. Now, one option (and probably the best for A+ compatibility) is to move my Doom installations to my P1 system, which has an AWE64 Gold and all. However, I only have room for two PCs in my retro setup (one of them being my late Win98/early XP P4 machine; not moving that), so if I would want to play any DOS games that fancy me on real hardware, I would have to spend a few minutes pulling the P1 system together and all. While not hard to do, it would be... dissuading, in terms of convenience.

The other options I have are emulation/source ports. The first, obvious solution would be DOSBox - it emulates straight DOS, and, if I remember correctly, supports external MIDI devices; more likely than not, if I hooked up my SC-88 to my modern PC running DOSBox using the official Roland USB-to-MIDI adapter and set everything up properly, it would all work just fine, and any sound effects differences between the emulated sound card in DOSBox and a real-life AWE card (to me any how) would be hard to differentiate.

The other, more potentially complicated solution are source ports - the main focus of this thread. AFAIK, some of these source ports use some of the original Doom game files, while rewriting the whole Doom engine - not much emulation beyond sound (if I am correct). Now, (finally) my question is this - does anyone know any source ports that support external MIDI devices? It seems that ZDoom might (if someone could verify, that would be nice), but do any of the alternatives do to?

Sorry for the long, drawn-out intro. Felt the context was necessary. Also, in advance, sorry if this topic doesn't fit perfectly into this branch of VOGONS, since this is focused on software that runs on Windows, not DOS - thought the "Windows" branch wouldn't be appropriate, since Doom and Doom 2 are DOS games, "Software" is focused on older hardware, not modern systems, "DOSBox General" is, well, DOSBox, and that isn't the main focus here really, and "PC Emulation" isn't focused on software (at least games anyhow). Felt like this is somewhat the best place to post this. *shrug* :/

Anything would be appreciated. Thanks!
User avatar
the_ultra_code
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2017-10-09 @ 00:21

Re: Are There Any Source Ports for Doom/Doom 2 + Expansions That Support External MIDI Devices?

Postby dr_st » 2018-10-09 @ 08:41

Most modern DOOM source ports can play MP3/OGG/WAV music, and you can just download pre-recorded Roland MIDI output tracks. This is probably the easiest way to get high-quality and original-sounding music in modern DOOM source ports.
User avatar
dr_st
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1373
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18

Re: Are There Any Source Ports for Doom/Doom 2 + Expansions That Support External MIDI Devices?

Postby leileilol » 2018-10-09 @ 22:53

I think the scope of the support lies more in the OS's midi mapper than the source port...
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9364
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Are There Any Source Ports for Doom/Doom 2 + Expansions That Support External MIDI Devices?

Postby M-HT » 2018-10-10 @ 09:08

But only if the source port uses OS's midi mapper and doesn't use softsynth directly.

More to the point: I don't have personal experience with source ports, but based on the description, PrBoom+ should support external MIDI devices (if the OS supports them). I have no idea about other source ports.
M-HT
Newbie
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2008-9-01 @ 12:55
Location: Bratislava

Re: Are There Any Source Ports for Doom/Doom 2 + Expansions That Support External MIDI Devices?

Postby SuperDeadite » 2018-10-10 @ 15:13

GZDoom allows you to choose any MIDI device you have connected. It recognizes and lets me choose between all 6 output ports on my Yamaha UW500.
Modules: CM-64, CM-500, SC-55MkII, SC-88 Pro, SY22, TG100, MU2000EX, PLG100-SG, PLG150-DR, PLG150-AN, SG01k, NS5R, GZ-50M, SN-U110-07, SN-U110-10, Pocket Studio 5, Dreamblaster X2
SuperDeadite
Newbie
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 2017-6-09 @ 10:46

Re: Are There Any Source Ports for Doom/Doom 2 + Expansions That Support External MIDI Devices?

Postby Azarien » 2018-10-11 @ 07:18

You can try CoolSoft MIDIMapper to select default MIDI device in Windows 8 and later.

https://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/midimapper
Azarien
Oldbie
 
Posts: 561
Joined: 2015-5-14 @ 07:14

Re: Are There Any Source Ports for Doom/Doom 2 + Expansions That Support External MIDI Devices?

Postby the_ultra_code » 2018-10-13 @ 23:55

dr_st wrote:Most modern DOOM source ports can play MP3/OGG/WAV music, and you can just download pre-recorded Roland MIDI output tracks. This is probably the easiest way to get high-quality and original-sounding music in modern DOOM source ports.


I mean, it's a nice feature, but *shrug* eh, not what I plan to do, really. Or, at least not yet. I mean, if I have the hardware, why not put it to good use, no? :)

M-HT wrote:But only if the source port uses OS's midi mapper and doesn't use softsynth directly.

More to the point: I don't have personal experience with source ports, but based on the description, PrBoom+ should support external MIDI devices (if the OS supports them). I have no idea about other source ports.

SuperDeadite wrote:GZDoom allows you to choose any MIDI device you have connected. It recognizes and lets me choose between all 6 output ports on my Yamaha UW500.


Okay, that's good. I might try PrBoom+, but GZDoom is one of the more popular options, so I'll start with that.

Azarien wrote:You can try CoolSoft MIDIMapper to select default MIDI device in Windows 8 and later.


Actually already have that installed. I have to use it alongside MIDI-OX to connect my MT-32 to my PC for the MT-32 OST to be played by Dune Dynasty (a Dune II: The Building of a Dynasty source port; even then, I had to take the SC-55 sound files and rename them to the MT-32 ones just for the MT-32 to work :/ ).
User avatar
the_ultra_code
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2017-10-09 @ 00:21

Re: Are There Any Source Ports for Doom/Doom 2 + Expansions That Support External MIDI Devices?

Postby dr_st » 2018-10-14 @ 07:37

the_ultra_code wrote:
dr_st wrote:Most modern DOOM source ports can play MP3/OGG/WAV music, and you can just download pre-recorded Roland MIDI output tracks. This is probably the easiest way to get high-quality and original-sounding music in modern DOOM source ports.


I mean, it's a nice feature, but *shrug* eh, not what I plan to do, really. Or, at least not yet. I mean, if I have the hardware, why not put it to good use, no? :)
It all depends on your goals: do you want to enjoy DOOM with good music or do you want to tinker with old hardware?

Even though the title of VOGONS suggests it to be the former, most folks actually seem to be more focused on the latter, and your truly is frequently among them. ;)
User avatar
dr_st
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1373
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18

Re: Are There Any Source Ports for Doom/Doom 2 + Expansions That Support External MIDI Devices?

Postby the_ultra_code » 2018-10-17 @ 00:56

dr_st wrote:
the_ultra_code wrote:
dr_st wrote:Most modern DOOM source ports can play MP3/OGG/WAV music, and you can just download pre-recorded Roland MIDI output tracks. This is probably the easiest way to get high-quality and original-sounding music in modern DOOM source ports.


I mean, it's a nice feature, but *shrug* eh, not what I plan to do, really. Or, at least not yet. I mean, if I have the hardware, why not put it to good use, no? :)
It all depends on your goals: do you want to enjoy DOOM with good music or do you want to tinker with old hardware?

Even though the title of VOGONS suggests it to be the former, most folks actually seem to be more focused on the latter, and your truly is frequently among them. ;)


I mean, while is can become a pain in the ass to deal with old hardware, I will say, once everything works, putting convenience aside, who wouldn't want to tinker with old hardware a bit? At least that's my opinion. :)
User avatar
the_ultra_code
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2017-10-09 @ 00:21


Return to DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 0 guests