Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby smeezekitty » 2009-9-27 @ 02:33

i know this topic is super old
but win 3.1 looks better in 16 vs 256
because it does some dithering in 16
so you have a choice of 16 dithered or 20 undithered
you take your pick
p.s. i cant get windows 3.1 to display ing 65536 colors in dosbox
smeezekitty
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: 2009-9-26 @ 18:28

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby Neville » 2009-9-27 @ 09:36

Have you tried using any of the Tseng settings / drivers? I noticed that in v0.73 Tseng are capable of some modes S3 Trio isn't, such as 1024x768x256c
User avatar
Neville
Oldbie
 
Posts: 805
Joined: 2004-8-09 @ 14:01

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby ih8registrations » 2009-9-27 @ 19:15

The default 3.11 svga driver works with et4000 or there's a patch/replacement driver to work with VESA, which works with the dosbox default s3.
ih8registrations
Oldbie
 
Posts: 931
Joined: 2003-7-25 @ 17:20

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby madcrow » 2009-11-28 @ 15:57

What's all this about the S3 emulation not being capable of 1024x768x256c? I'm using the standard 0.73 S3 emulations, with the S3 drivers linked from the Win3.x tutorial and I'm using 1024x768x256c in Windows 3.11. Am I just lucky or are some people just plain stuck in the past?
User avatar
madcrow
Newbie
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2007-8-06 @ 13:16

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby HunterZ » 2009-12-01 @ 19:52

I'm pretty sure I've been able to achieve 64k (16-bit) colors in Win3.11 under DOSBox using S3 drivers. Some games require running in 256 (8-bit) color modes though due to palette manipulation effects.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 5777
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby arromdee3 » 2011-5-19 @ 18:12

To the person who managed to get 64K colors, exactly what settings did you use? I tried Dosbox 0.74, machine=svga_et4000, and in Windows setup, selecting "S3 868 1.41B5 640x480 64K colors". Trying to do this failed and a second Windows setup told me it couldn't initialize the display; using VGA succeeded. Is Windows 3.11 specifically required and not 3.1?

I am trying to run the Windows 3.1 version of Daedelus Encounter, which uses 64K colors.
arromdee3
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2003-12-01 @ 17:52

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby arromdee3 » 2011-5-19 @ 19:01

Never mind. Let's see what happens when I use 864 as I'm supposed to....
arromdee3
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2003-12-01 @ 17:52

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby kolano » 2011-5-19 @ 21:52

One thing to consider would be that certain DOSBox builds support setting a VGA memory size. Using one of these builds with more memory than specified in the default configuration may enable higher resolution/color-modes to be utilized. Unsure regarding failures of 8b color modes though, as they should fit in default memory up to 1024x768 without issue.
User avatar
kolano
Member
 
Posts: 392
Joined: 2010-12-26 @ 21:03

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby leileilol » 2011-5-19 @ 22:11

Why on earth are you using a Tseng video card with a S3 driver?
94cheen : AM5x86P75ADW@160mhz; AWE64; Trio64v+ 1mb; 95C
97cheen : PII-300; 440LX; AWE32 8MB; Voodoo3 3000 16mb; 98se
pvrcheen : P4 2.8GHz Northwood; SBPCI128; Rage128 32mb; PowerVR PCX2 4mb; 98se
PRJ: Q3V - 3dfx Pixel Shader - Engoo
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 5848
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby arromdee3 » 2011-5-20 @ 07:16

Because I didn't have any documentation that told me that wasn't the right card to use?

Anyway, I was able to install it (using the 864141b5.zip driver) by installing as VGA and then doing setup after that to set it to S3 at 64K colors. It refused to install as S3 directly.

This still gives me problems, however:

1) Dosbox won't scale the screen. In particular, if I select a 64K color mode or a 32K color mode, and run Dosbox in fullscreen, it gives me a tiny 640x480 section in the middle of the 1280x1024 monitor. The Windows splash screen will properly scale (by a factor of 2). Dos games will also properly scale. Windows will scale *if* I choose VGA or 256 color S3, but it won't scale if I choose 64K color S3. It looks strange when I start Windows because the splash screen comes up, properly scaled, and then Windows itself comes up without scaling. I'm wondering if this has anything to do with Windows at all--does Dosbox scale with 64K color mode at all?

Relevant Dosbox settings are:

fulldouble=true
fullresolution=1280x1024
windowresolution=640x480
output=overlay
...
machine=svga_s3
...
aspect=true
scaler=normal2x

2) Playing Daedalus Encounter requites Quicktime. It comes with Quicktime 2.01. Quicktime 2.01 looks like it's installing, then tells me that isnatllation is incomplete and I should delete any files that were copied. Checking windows\system shows me that even though it gave me a progress bar showing that files were copied, no files were actually copied.

I see that someone else was able to install this under viewtopic.php?p=133798 and am wondering what I did differently.

I finally managed to install it by getting a newer version (2.12)--for some reason it gave me problems once, but when I started from scratch I was able to get it to work with the game.

3) I now get the same problem described in the earlier message: errors about mmSound.
arromdee3
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2003-12-01 @ 17:52

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby Dominus » 2011-5-20 @ 08:08

Because I didn't have any documentation that told me that wasn't the right card to use?
using the driver of one brand with another is just plain *not thinking* or would you use an AMD graphics driver for a Nvidia graphics card?
The windows .1 dosbox guide does mention which driver to use for each emulated graphics card.
I'll remember to write something about the quicktime installer...

Scaler: have you used forced scaling?
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 5751
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby Gamecollector » 2011-5-20 @ 10:44

arromdee3 wrote:Dosbox scale with 64K color mode at all?

With output=overlay - scaling in Win31 with S3 is 256-color modes only. Use output=ddraw or openglnb. Known trouble.
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 768
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby arromdee3 » 2011-5-20 @ 16:50

using the driver of one brand with another is just plain *not thinking*


How was I supposed to know that the driver wasn't for the same brand? Chipsets have different names from companies all the time, so it wasn't an obvious mistake. It was entirely plausible that the whole set from s3 to tseng was a single family of cards with different names. It turned out not to be true, but given that I know nothing about these cards it was a completely reasonable assumption to make. Yeah, I could have eventually found out by Googling it, but if I googled every single thing I didn't understand in the configuration I'd never get anywhere--it's not practical to not make at least some assumptions.

Remember that not everyone knows this stuff. [/quote]
arromdee3
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2003-12-01 @ 17:52

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby arromdee3 » 2011-5-20 @ 17:44

Use output=ddraw or openglnb. Known trouble.


I am running under Linux. No ddraw. openglnb (and opengl) don't help the problem.
arromdee3
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2003-12-01 @ 17:52

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby Dominus » 2011-5-20 @ 19:42

If it's not knowledge than *think*. why would the dosbox bother to emulate the same card and use different machine names for it?

Anyway have you tried to force the scaler?
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 5751
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby arromdee3 » 2011-5-20 @ 20:33

Um, they might bother to emulate several cards that are variations. We emulate Tandy and PCJr, for instance, and the names "Tandy" and "PCJr" don't sound any more alike than "S3" and "Tseng".
arromdee3
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2003-12-01 @ 17:52

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby Dominus » 2011-5-20 @ 21:13

Neither is a card and pcjr games do not necessarily run in tandy mode.
And even it werethe case of variations, using the driver of one or the other is still thoughtless.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 5751
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby jal » 2011-5-21 @ 19:23

Dominus, stop flaming. The guy made a mistake, no harm done. Let's not get off-topic please.


JAL
User avatar
jal
Member
 
Posts: 488
Joined: 2004-1-02 @ 15:30
Location: Amersfoort, Netherlands

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby Dominus » 2011-5-22 @ 13:24

Nah, too much fun going off topic. At least I tried two times to give advice with the forced scaler...
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 5751
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Windows 3.1 in 256 colours

Postby arromdee3 » 2011-5-22 @ 17:22

I managed to fix the sound problem by setting the sound to sb16 and installing the SB16/AWE32 drivers from Creative (the SB16 drivers that are bundled with the DOS drivers do *not* work), so I've now got it more working than the guy in the other thread.

The forced scaler, needless to say, doesn't help, so it looks like my only option is to wait for a new Dosbox that fixes the bug (or use 640x480 and put up with the screen stretching that you get when you tell most 1280x1024 monitors to go into 640x480 mode). Is this something that is likely to get fixed?
arromdee3
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2003-12-01 @ 17:52

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest