post up pics of your "computing area"

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Vegge » 2018-3-04 @ 15:31

Updated my area some to be able to have more machines up and running and better storage/display of streering wheels and software.

IMG_9617.JPG

IMG_9619.JPG

IMG_9618.JPG

IMG_9620.JPG
Vegge
Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2017-3-30 @ 21:17
Location: Sweden

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby tizzdizz » 2018-3-04 @ 16:22

Vegge - You really crammed a lot into a small space! I bet you'd benefit from a couple KVM switches to cut down on the amount of keyboards. I dig the setup. Got a favorite?
tizzdizz
Newbie
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 2017-5-18 @ 18:12
Location: Northern California

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby carangil » 2018-3-04 @ 17:27

cocosetup.jpg


I got in here:

  • Modern FX-8120 overclocked, watercooled with 8GB R390 and Oculus Rift
  • 486-133
  • K6-2+ 600 Mhz with Voodoo 3
  • TRS-80 Color Computer 2 w/ disk drive (look on the lower shelf)

Each monitor is paired with a KVM and one of the keyboards. I can set up different pairs to be on different screens at the same time:
  • Modern computer on both screens
  • Modern and 486, each with 1 screen, 1 keyboard, 1 mouse
  • Modern and k6-2
  • k6-2 and 486

The 4:3 monitor also has composite and RF inputs, so in addition to any computer on the 16:9, the 4:3 can display any game console or RF/composite computer such as the CoCo. The N64 is currently on composite, and CoCo on RF. I want to add in my Playstation2, but now I need a composite video switcher. I also want to be able to add in other breadbox style computers, but I think the CoCo will have to move.
carangil
Newbie
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 2009-10-22 @ 05:38
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby flupke11 » 2018-3-04 @ 21:46

Spic and Span is not my thing

DSC_3332.JPG
User avatar
flupke11
Newbie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 2013-5-20 @ 13:38
Location: Belgium

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Vegge » 2018-3-05 @ 09:17

tizzdizz wrote:Vegge - You really crammed a lot into a small space! I bet you'd benefit from a couple KVM switches to cut down on the amount of keyboards. I dig the setup. Got a favorite?


Thank you. It’s a work in progress to get more machines set up. :) I’ve got an KVM with 8 connections, but not in use at the moment.
The IBM Aptiva to the right is my first computer so I’ve got a softspot for it. But the retromachine that sees the most use is a 233mmx rig :)
Vegge
Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2017-3-30 @ 21:17
Location: Sweden

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby TheeRaccoon » 2018-3-06 @ 20:54

KSHIRZA1 wrote:Retro PC (My first PC recreation) finally done with the exception of my Yamaha 719s sound card that's on the way. Perfect addition to my game room all together!

Image




This looks amazing!!!!!!
User avatar
TheeRaccoon
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2018-1-01 @ 20:55

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby eric1992 » 2018-3-14 @ 02:16

IMG_1736[1].JPG


Windows 10 PC with MSI Motherboard and GTX 550 TI - Need to get a new graphics card. CD games are stored above which I plan to move to my 98 PC for easier access. This was originally an HP PC but I swapped the case then got the MSI motherboard with an i3 7100 I think. Plays TF2 pretty well surprisingly than that HP crap I had. I plan to upgrade the motherboard later one and the CPU but I was going for more of a quick grab-bag style for now.

IMG_1735[1].JPG


Gateway Pro V933 with Windows 98SE that I plan to put in a late 90s atx case - doesn't have a graphics card but plays DOS games pretty well. Soundblaster Live CT4780 is the sound card I use, I also have a sidewinder precision pro joystick in the closet. Monitor is dirty but that's all I could find in the Fort Worth area. I'm planning on getting rid of the Dell keyboard and getting a packard bell keyboard, perhaps same with monitor. I don't have a desk I can use for it yet so I'm using a card table. Just need to watch the dog sometimes as she likes to bug me all the time when I'm upstairs. Not exactly the best space and best PC (Gateway PCs were MUCH better than most other brands if you ask me) but the PC was 35$ (I'm dead serious) and I replaced the hard drive, CD Drive, and CMOS battery inside when I got it. Also added another 128 MB of ram giving me 256 in total, which is the most I'm going to do for 98. Anymore and I'd probably have BSODs or other major issues. In the future I might just get another Gateway with an ISA and AGP slot.
User avatar
eric1992
Newbie
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 2018-2-24 @ 02:57
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby DankEngihn » 2018-3-15 @ 17:49

My disaster zone. To the right of me (not in the picture) is a shelf full of old laptops

20180315_134258.jpg
DankEngihn
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2018-3-14 @ 21:17
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby rodimus80 » 2018-3-15 @ 17:51

The Lair...
Image
User avatar
rodimus80
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: 2013-12-31 @ 19:34

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-3-15 @ 17:57

DankEngihn wrote:My disaster zone. To the right of me (not in the picture) is a shelf full of old laptops

20180315_134258.jpg

That's a heck of a lot of screwdrivers, man. You must have every kind for different systems.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1568
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE Michigan, USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby DankEngihn » 2018-3-15 @ 18:13

All of the computers in the picture have a history to them. From left to right:

HP Compaq DC7600; Free from my high school. Had a bad RAM stick, and they couldn't be bothered to take it out.
Pentium 4 @ 2.4 GHz
2GB of RAM
40 GB HDD
Integrated graphics

MDG Horizon 2600; 10$ on Craigslist.
Intel Desktop Board D845GVSR
Pentium 4 @ 2.4 GHz
1 GB of RAM
No HDD currently

Dell Precision 390; Don't know
Core 2 Duo @ 3.2 GHz
4 GB of RAM
320 GB HDD
EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS

Lenovo Thinkcentre; 5$ at a thrift store
2.5 GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2
4GB of RAM
80 GB HDD

IBM NetVista; Free from a computer shop
1.8 GHz Pentium 4
1 GB of RAM
30 GB HDD

Emachines T2891; found on the curb
1.8 GHz AMD Sempron
512 MB of RAM
SiS integrated graphics
60GB HDD (was full of p0rn)

HP Pavilion 7130p; free from same place as the NetVista
120 MHz Pentium 1
64 MB of RAM
S3 Virge integrated graphics
1.5 GB "train wreck" HDD
DankEngihn
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2018-3-14 @ 21:17
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby buckeye » 2018-3-15 @ 20:26

KSHIRZA1 wrote:Retro PC (My first PC recreation) finally done with the exception of my Yamaha 719s sound card that's on the way. Perfect addition to my game room all together!

Image


Nice setup! What model is the head phones you got there?
Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 2GB DDR2 800 160GB BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB 500W XP SP2
Asus P3B-F P3 850 512MB 40GB Hercules 3D Prophet II 64MB Voodoo2 SLI Aureal Vortex 2 400W 98SE
User avatar
buckeye
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 2015-11-04 @ 17:54
Location: Piney Grove, AL

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby PcBytes » 2018-3-20 @ 18:29

Am I crazy for still using LGA775 along with a Xeon E5450? :lol:
Attachments
rsz_20180320_1957431.jpg
Main: Xeon X5450, 8GB RAM DDR2, DFI Lanparty DK P45-T2RS
Wolfram: C2D E6750, 1GB DDR2, MSI P965 Platinum
R.A.I.D: Pentium 4 2.8GHz, 2GB DDR400, ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe
Captain: Pentium 3 1GHz, 256MB RAM, LuckyStar 6VA694+
Voodoo: AMD K6-2 500MHz, 128MB RAM, LuckyStar 5MVP3
User avatar
PcBytes
Oldbie
 
Posts: 710
Joined: 2012-12-31 @ 08:32
Location: Bacau,Romania

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Skyscraper » 2018-3-20 @ 20:00

PcBytes wrote:Am I crazy for still using LGA775 along with a Xeon E5450? :lol:




Case: Nice
Screen Nice
Using a micro system (or real amp) with two small but hopefully decent full range speakers: Nice
LGA775 with Xeon 771 ---> 775 mod: Nice


Mouse: ... Well its just a mouse...

Keyboard: Arrrghhh!!! My eyes!!!



Im using a small JVC UX-5500R micro system with my main computer at the moment with the small full range speakers on my desk only 70cm or so from my ears. It's great when you watch stuff late at night on weekends as it dosn't bothers the neighbours. The sound is actually very good for that purpose but the system isn't something you use for playing music other then as background music.

I can switch to a "real amp" connected to "real speakers" by just moving a cable.


The JVC UX-5500R. (Not my actual system, my desk is looking like a hurricane just hit it.)

JVC-UX-5500R.jpg


JVC UX-5500R speaker.JPG
JVC UX-5500R speaker.JPG (17.05 KiB) Viewed 1455 times
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 980 ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3336
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby PcBytes » 2018-3-21 @ 10:29

The only reason I use that keyboard is because I have problems in seeing the keys on a normal keyboard at night.
Main: Xeon X5450, 8GB RAM DDR2, DFI Lanparty DK P45-T2RS
Wolfram: C2D E6750, 1GB DDR2, MSI P965 Platinum
R.A.I.D: Pentium 4 2.8GHz, 2GB DDR400, ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe
Captain: Pentium 3 1GHz, 256MB RAM, LuckyStar 6VA694+
Voodoo: AMD K6-2 500MHz, 128MB RAM, LuckyStar 5MVP3
User avatar
PcBytes
Oldbie
 
Posts: 710
Joined: 2012-12-31 @ 08:32
Location: Bacau,Romania

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby jcs » 2018-3-22 @ 21:31

My desk with Dolch PAC 64 and Macintosh 512ke:

Image
User avatar
jcs
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-3-18 @ 22:57
Location: Chicago, IL, US

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-3-23 @ 12:11

Sweet set of systems you got there. Welcome to Vogons, BTW.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II QuietWriter 8, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3 & G4, Socket 370, 2x Inspiron 600m, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550 & E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2B-3B+, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1568
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE Michigan, USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby tayyare » 2018-3-23 @ 14:33

PcBytes wrote:Am I crazy for still using LGA775 along with a Xeon E5450? :lol:


My main rig is a LGA775, too. CPU is C2Q 9550 and I still use Win7 32bit. I also have a modded Xeon E5450, waiting for me to install it but I'm lazy :lol:

Not the sharpest thing at home, my daugters PC is a bit more modernish (Phenom II X6 1090 with SSDs and bells and whistles and Win10 64bit) but it's the thing I use daily as a main rig since mid 2009. I do not own anything better at the moment and not considering replacing it yet.

It's in a Cosmos 1000 case, powered by an ASUS 650W PSU, 4GB Kingston Hyperx DDR2 RAM, Asus P5Q Premium mobo, Asus GTS 560 Ti GPU, a bunch of HDDs arranged as three separate RAID1 arrays, a BD RW and a DVD-RW drive, a floppy, and some minor things like parallel port, USB3.0, and firewire 800 cards. It still uses the Intel stock fan that came with the CPU since day one.
GA-6VTXE PIII 1.4+512MB
Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB
Diamond Monster 3D 12MB SLI
SB AWE64 PNP+32MB
120GB IDE Samsung/80GB IDE Seagate/146GB SCSI Compaq/73GB SCSI IBM
Adaptec AHA29160
3com 3C905B-TX
Gotek+CF Reader
MSDOS 6.22+Win 3.11/95 OSR2.1/98SE/ME/2000
User avatar
tayyare
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: 2013-2-18 @ 18:54
Location: Turkey

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby m1chelsen » 2018-3-25 @ 08:32

This is where i do my current gen PC gaming. Im playing some StarCraft II, WoW and CS:GO at the moment.

29060274_2347602041947334_8069462273514448923_o.jpg


This is my primary retro PC setup:

Image

The setup is running Win98SE, but some of the hardware is a bit overkill. Dual CPU (Win98 only support 1), Creative Voodoo2 12MB + Riva TNT2 Ultra, Sound Blaster Live!.

Image
www.KonsolTing.blogspot.dk
m1chelsen
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2018-3-25 @ 08:26

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Tetrium » 2018-3-25 @ 15:44

m1chelsen wrote:This is where i do my current gen PC gaming. Im playing some StarCraft II, WoW and CS:GO at the moment.

The setup is running Win98SE, but some of the hardware is a bit overkill. Dual CPU (Win98 only support 1), Creative Voodoo2 12MB + Riva TNT2 Ultra, Sound Blaster Live!.

Welcome aboard! :)

Which exact CPUs are you using? The 2 rear exhaust fan spots look a bit unpopulated, perhaps you could use a couple spare 8cm ones and have them run at 7v so they are hardly audible, while still removing some excess warmth from the insides which then won't have to run through the PSU.
It's not much, but it's an extra touch :)

I do like the silvery cases, though I disliked them when they were new. It's hard to tell, but yours look a bit as if it used to have a door which we all know tends to break off lol

In the first pic, whats inside that beige Compaq or Compaq lookalike? Usually these contained hardware from about s7 up to s370 (often SiS chipsetted).

And grats on knowing how to store things :P
User avatar
Tetrium
l33t++
 
Posts: 7603
Joined: 2010-1-27 @ 18:53
Location: Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests