VOGONS


Reply 40 of 115, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
supercordo wrote on 2022-01-19, 21:53:

My FW-5VGF+/Ultra Just arrived. Cant wait to play with it. I have a 400ATZ for it.

Oooo sweet! Where did you find it?

Do post your build and overclock experiences here!!

I wonder, what all differences There are between my non +/ultra and yours..

Curious if yours has a better overclocking experience.

First thing you do, update that bios. The one that came with mine was terrible. The tmc h7 bios on jan’s website is what I used.

It may be easier to use a non plus chip until the bios is updated.

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of

Reply 42 of 115, by supercordo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Here are some pics of the Ultra. Looks like it has a different Tag ram chip.

Attachments

Reply 43 of 115, by supercordo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Continued.

Attachments

Reply 45 of 115, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Try the settings I posted and be sure to use single sided memory

Oh you have a bga south bridge where as mine is a chip with legs…

I always suspected this was a major difference

I wonder if a interposer is possible to upgrade the legged footprint to a bga mount

I see different numbers on the north bridge also. But I do not know what they mean? Anyone?

I think the tag chip is basically the same but from a different mfg

The blue ide sockets probably are indicative of ata66 provided by the upgraded sb

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of

Reply 46 of 115, by supercordo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Yeah, the bios isnt letting me do anything. Ill have to wait till my programmer gets here till i can start playing with it again. This bios wont let me get past the system configuration table. Good thing i saved a copy of my original bios. I cant find a working link anywhere for it.

Reply 47 of 115, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
supercordo wrote on 2022-01-21, 22:34:

Yeah, the bios isnt letting me do anything. Ill have to wait till my programmer gets here till i can start playing with it again. This bios wont let me get past the system configuration table. Good thing i saved a copy of my original bios. I cant find a working link anywhere for it.

Be sure to upload it to ultimate retro. My stock bios is there also.

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of

Reply 48 of 115, by H3nrik V!

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-21, 20:32:

Oh you have a bga south bridge where as mine is a chip with legs…

I always suspected this was a major difference

I wonder if a interposer is possible to upgrade the legged footprint to a bga mount

If the bga is smaller, well, then in theory one could make a small pcb to mount the bga chip and then mount the pcb on the motherboard. It would, however not be very practical, and in case the bga version usually is faster, everything in regards to that, would be obscured by the interposer in terms of compromised signal integrity, electrical decoupling, etc.

Please use the "quote" option if asking questions to what I write - it will really up the chances of me noticing 😀

Reply 49 of 115, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
H3nrik V! wrote on 2022-01-22, 07:52:
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-21, 20:32:

Oh you have a bga south bridge where as mine is a chip with legs…

I always suspected this was a major difference

I wonder if a interposer is possible to upgrade the legged footprint to a bga mount

If the bga is smaller, well, then in theory one could make a small pcb to mount the bga chip and then mount the pcb on the motherboard. It would, however not be very practical, and in case the bga version usually is faster, everything in regards to that, would be obscured by the interposer in terms of compromised signal integrity, electrical decoupling, etc.

Even if it isn’t smaller you should be able to mount to the motherboard pads like a bga or use edge half cut vias to bridge solder to a flush mount if you can make it small enough

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of

Reply 50 of 115, by H3nrik V!

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-22, 19:42:
H3nrik V! wrote on 2022-01-22, 07:52:
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-21, 20:32:

Oh you have a bga south bridge where as mine is a chip with legs…

I always suspected this was a major difference

I wonder if a interposer is possible to upgrade the legged footprint to a bga mount

If the bga is smaller, well, then in theory one could make a small pcb to mount the bga chip and then mount the pcb on the motherboard. It would, however not be very practical, and in case the bga version usually is faster, everything in regards to that, would be obscured by the interposer in terms of compromised signal integrity, electrical decoupling, etc.

Even if it isn’t smaller you should be able to mount to the motherboard pads like a bga or use edge half cut vias to bridge solder to a flush mount if you can make it small enough

It will definately be very complicated to solder, if the interposer is bigger than the original footprint. I'd say impossible, but I may me missing something 🤣

Please use the "quote" option if asking questions to what I write - it will really up the chances of me noticing 😀

Reply 51 of 115, by drosse1meyer

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-04, 05:24:
Started this build finally! […]
Show full quote

Started this build finally!

One of the first things that I noticed was in the bios, it told me that my vcore was 3.3v

Ummm… no good!!

After some investigation it turns out they mislabeled vI/O as core voltage in the bios…🙄

I had to be 100% sure though so I directly measured vcc2 to confirm.

a bit off topic but is that lexan side panel on your case? how did you make that?

P1 Build: Packard Bell - 233 MMX, Voodooo1, 64 MB, ALS100+
P2 Build: Dell Dimension R400 - 400 Mhz, GeForce2 32 MB, 128 MB
P3 Build: PIII @ 1 Ghz, 128 MB, GeForce2 GTS 64 MB

Reply 52 of 115, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
H3nrik V! wrote on 2022-01-23, 13:31:
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-22, 19:42:
H3nrik V! wrote on 2022-01-22, 07:52:

If the bga is smaller, well, then in theory one could make a small pcb to mount the bga chip and then mount the pcb on the motherboard. It would, however not be very practical, and in case the bga version usually is faster, everything in regards to that, would be obscured by the interposer in terms of compromised signal integrity, electrical decoupling, etc.

Even if it isn’t smaller you should be able to mount to the motherboard pads like a bga or use edge half cut vias to bridge solder to a flush mount if you can make it small enough

It will definately be very complicated to solder, if the interposer is bigger than the original footprint. I'd say impossible, but I may me missing something 🤣

Just because pads are rectangular doesn’t mean they can’t be flush soldered. Like a sandwich.

drosse1meyer wrote on 2022-01-23, 13:52:
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-04, 05:24:
Started this build finally! […]
Show full quote

Started this build finally!

One of the first things that I noticed was in the bios, it told me that my vcore was 3.3v

Ummm… no good!!

After some investigation it turns out they mislabeled vI/O as core voltage in the bios…🙄

I had to be 100% sure though so I directly measured vcc2 to confirm.

a bit off topic but is that lexan side panel on your case? how did you make that?

I ordered two test bench cases from ebay and they came with those.

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of

Reply 53 of 115, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
supercordo wrote on 2022-01-21, 22:34:

Yeah, the bios isnt letting me do anything. Ill have to wait till my programmer gets here till i can start playing with it again. This bios wont let me get past the system configuration table. Good thing i saved a copy of my original bios. I cant find a working link anywhere for it.

I have a ultra version coming

It has loaded onto it a bios dated I think newer than yours

AF5916A4-511E-447A-B6BF-99B6B31F57FA.jpeg
Filename
AF5916A4-511E-447A-B6BF-99B6B31F57FA.jpeg
File size
31.8 KiB
Views
381 views
File license
Public domain

I may be able to get it sooner than when it arrives because seller has in their possession a disk labeled “bios update” that came in the box with the motherboard.

Will let you know soon as I have something.

Worst case in a month or so when I get the board I’ll hook ya up.

Btw there are now ultimate retro pages for these boards

https://www.ultimateretro.net/en/motherboards/10151

https://www.ultimateretro.net/en/motherboards/10150

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of

Reply 54 of 115, by supercordo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-24, 09:05:
I have a ultra version coming […]
Show full quote
supercordo wrote on 2022-01-21, 22:34:

Yeah, the bios isnt letting me do anything. Ill have to wait till my programmer gets here till i can start playing with it again. This bios wont let me get past the system configuration table. Good thing i saved a copy of my original bios. I cant find a working link anywhere for it.

I have a ultra version coming

It has loaded onto it a bios dated I think newer than yoursAF5916A4-511E-447A-B6BF-99B6B31F57FA.jpeg

I may be able to get it sooner than when it arrives because seller has in their possession a disk labeled “bios update” that came in the box with the motherboard.

Will let you know soon as I have something.

Worst case in a month or so when I get the board I’ll hook ya up.

Btw there are now ultimate retro pages for these boards

https://www.ultimateretro.net/en/motherboards/10151

https://www.ultimateretro.net/en/motherboards/10150

Awesome! I found this old review of the ultra. I will be your best friend if i can get that bios.

https://web.archive.org/web/20000831053440/ht … tra/page2.shtml

Reply 56 of 115, by supercordo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Repo Man11 wrote on 2022-01-15, 04:11:
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-15, 02:45:
I see a 9148-58 but not a 9148af-58 […]
Show full quote
PC Hoarder Patrol wrote on 2022-01-15, 00:26:

I see a 9148-58 but not a 9148af-58

Repo Man11 wrote on 2022-01-14, 23:03:

I tried my 9800 SE in my MVP3G-M.

You shouldn’t have to do 2.4v to hit 560mhz what’s up with that?

I’m guessing windows 98se is the reason you are getting a higher score?

It's a 400 MHz 1.6 volt chip, and that's what it takes to be stable at that speed. Yes, I believe the lower hardware footprint of Win98 is the most likely explanation for the higher score. A 9800SE is an inferior card to a 9800 Pro, with only half the pipelines (and this one is only 128 bit), but that doesn't much matter when it's held back by the CPU and memory. Also, for some reason on the P4 board that I normally have this in I can use the Omega drivers and unlock the other four pipelines, but those drivers won't work with this motherboard and CPU.

What drivers did you use?

Reply 57 of 115, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

oh BTW, here is this 😁

this is pulled from the bios. if someone can figure out how to put it in the new bios that would be cool

Attachments

  • image.png
    Filename
    image.png
    File size
    2.01 KiB
    Views
    311 views
    File license
    Public domain

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of

Reply 58 of 115, by Doornkaat

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-26, 07:12:

oh BTW, here is this 😁

this is pulled from the bios. if someone can figure out how to put it in the new bios that would be cool

Man, that is a nice BIOS splash screen! 😃

Reply 59 of 115, by Repo Man11

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
supercordo wrote on 2022-01-26, 05:58:
Repo Man11 wrote on 2022-01-15, 04:11:
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-15, 02:45:

I see a 9148-58 but not a 9148af-58

You shouldn’t have to do 2.4v to hit 560mhz what’s up with that?

I’m guessing windows 98se is the reason you are getting a higher score?

It's a 400 MHz 1.6 volt chip, and that's what it takes to be stable at that speed. Yes, I believe the lower hardware footprint of Win98 is the most likely explanation for the higher score. A 9800SE is an inferior card to a 9800 Pro, with only half the pipelines (and this one is only 128 bit), but that doesn't much matter when it's held back by the CPU and memory. Also, for some reason on the P4 board that I normally have this in I can use the Omega drivers and unlock the other four pipelines, but those drivers won't work with this motherboard and CPU.

What drivers did you use?

I'm now not completely sure - either the 5.9 or 6.2 Catalyst drivers.

"Everyone is ignorant, only on different subjects." - Will Rogers