Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

General information and assistance with Munt.

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-9-05 @ 22:25

The UM-One works as will the Dreamblaster X3. I've also used a Digidesign Mbox 2 for testing and it's fine. M-Audio adapters and even the cheap Chinese no name adapters (some assembly required) should be okay as there are patches to work around their problems, but I can't personally vouch for them nor do I recall any confirmed reports of them working in this forum.

You can also disable the first UART (and Bluetooth in the Pi 3) and use it for MIDI I/O. Of course, you'll need a breakout circuit to convert to a current loop.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5608
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby appiah4 » 2018-9-06 @ 06:38

gdjacobs wrote:The UM-One works as will the Dreamblaster X3. I've also used a Digidesign Mbox 2 for testing and it's fine. M-Audio adapters and even the cheap Chinese no name adapters (some assembly required) should be okay as there are patches to work around their problems, but I can't personally vouch for them nor do I recall any confirmed reports of them working in this forum.

You can also disable the first UART (and Bluetooth in the Pi 3) and use it for MIDI I/O. Of course, you'll need a breakout circuit to convert to a current loop.


Umm.. Are you referring to the X3M? I happen to have one; so I connect the X3M to the Pi via USB, and to the Retro PC via MIDI In?? How does that work, really? Is there a way to get X3M to do pass through midi through the USB? And if so, can I use the two like a midi module and an MT-32 together, enabling and disabling MIDI passthrough on the X3M somehow? Fascinating if possibe!
1989:A500|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
1992:HIPPO-VL+|DX2-66|8M|GD5428|CT2290
1995:PCI597-1|P133|32M|Trio64|V1|CT3980/2M|S2
1998:S1573S|K6-2/400|64M|RagePro|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
2001:GA-6OXT|PIII-1200|512M|GF3Ti200|MX300
2004:K8V-D|3200+|2G|X1950P|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 2464
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-9-06 @ 13:47

Yes, the X3M. Yes, that's how I've used it. Depending on the version the DIN port can be reconfigured for input or output. The hardware MIDI engine can be enabled or disabled by SYSEX.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5608
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby appiah4 » 2018-9-06 @ 14:59

gdjacobs wrote:Yes, the X3M. Yes, that's how I've used it. Depending on the version the DIN port can be reconfigured for input or output. The hardware MIDI engine can be enabled or disabled by SYSEX.


Do you have a tutorial for this, by chance? What kind of connector is needed, how the software is configured etc.. RPi+X3M in one ultimate MT32/GM module sounds so pure awesome.
1989:A500|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
1992:HIPPO-VL+|DX2-66|8M|GD5428|CT2290
1995:PCI597-1|P133|32M|Trio64|V1|CT3980/2M|S2
1998:S1573S|K6-2/400|64M|RagePro|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
2001:GA-6OXT|PIII-1200|512M|GF3Ti200|MX300
2004:K8V-D|3200+|2G|X1950P|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 2464
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-9-06 @ 15:14

Serge has it well laid out in the manual.
http://serdaco.com/downloads/X3M/X3M_UserManual.pdf

You need to make sure MIDI routing is the way you need it. Selecting MIDI in or out can be done via the pin header.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5608
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby appiah4 » 2018-9-06 @ 20:40

gdjacobs wrote:Serge has it well laid out in the manual.
http://serdaco.com/downloads/X3M/X3M_UserManual.pdf

You need to make sure MIDI routing is the way you need it. Selecting MIDI in or out can be done via the pin header.


My X3M is an older model, one without the DIN selector pins for MIDI In or Out, but I guess this is beside the point, as for my use case the DIN will be MIDI In (which it is, by default) and all I need to do is set routing to Synthesizer AND USB.. That way, I can route the audio out from the X3M and Pi to a simple audio switch, which I can route to the Line In and I will be all set, apparently?
1989:A500|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
1992:HIPPO-VL+|DX2-66|8M|GD5428|CT2290
1995:PCI597-1|P133|32M|Trio64|V1|CT3980/2M|S2
1998:S1573S|K6-2/400|64M|RagePro|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
2001:GA-6OXT|PIII-1200|512M|GF3Ti200|MX300
2004:K8V-D|3200+|2G|X1950P|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 2464
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-9-06 @ 22:13

I use the PCM out provided by the X3M. Better fidelity and it mixes in the Dream DSP.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5608
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby appiah4 » 2018-9-06 @ 22:21

gdjacobs wrote:I use the PCM out provided by the X3M. Better fidelity and it mixes in the Dream DSP.


Do you have any photos of your setup? :)
1989:A500|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
1992:HIPPO-VL+|DX2-66|8M|GD5428|CT2290
1995:PCI597-1|P133|32M|Trio64|V1|CT3980/2M|S2
1998:S1573S|K6-2/400|64M|RagePro|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
2001:GA-6OXT|PIII-1200|512M|GF3Ti200|MX300
2004:K8V-D|3200+|2G|X1950P|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 2464
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-9-07 @ 17:36

My setup is u*g*l*y.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5608
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby Srandista » 2018-9-19 @ 05:33

gdjacobs wrote:The UM-One works...

If I want to go this route, I should just replicate Phil's setup with Roland UM-ONE, MIDI coupler and MIDI to Gameport cable, right?
My overkill "retro" PC - Pentium E6500K, 512MB/2GB RAM, Radeon 9500@9700 (Softmod), 80GB HDD, Win 98/XP
User avatar
Srandista
Member
 
Posts: 259
Joined: 2017-4-07 @ 17:14
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-9-19 @ 14:59

Yup, although you're using a Pi instead of a laptop.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5608
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Emulating MT-32 on an RPi2

Postby Srandista » 2018-9-19 @ 15:23

I don't see any laptop here :)

Image
My overkill "retro" PC - Pentium E6500K, 512MB/2GB RAM, Radeon 9500@9700 (Softmod), 80GB HDD, Win 98/XP
User avatar
Srandista
Member
 
Posts: 259
Joined: 2017-4-07 @ 17:14
Location: Czech Republic

Previous

Return to MT-32 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest