Using a CRT Monitor with DOSBox

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Using a CRT Monitor with DOSBox

Postby Synyzterfiction » 2018-5-14 @ 21:38

Hello! I just found a free 21 inch CRT monitor that I'm going to be picking up soon that I want to use for retro gaming. Is there anything I should know about configuring it for DOSBox-ECE? I'm going to use a DVI-I to VGA adaptor so I will have true analog output from my GPU. I have little experience with CRT monitors and I've never used one for modern windows so any advice will be most helpful.
Synyzterfiction
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2014-10-12 @ 23:04

Re: Using a CRT Monitor with DOSBox

Postby leileilol » 2018-5-15 @ 01:09

resolution=original. Don't use scalers. Have fun!
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
386DX vs SX isn't about a missing FPU
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
Old PCs aren't 'aesthetic'
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9096
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Using a CRT Monitor with DOSBox

Postby Azarien » 2018-5-16 @ 09:08

One thing related to CRT monitors in general: while 60 Hz refresh rate is standard for LCD monitors, it's painfully too low for a CRT (and I mean literally: you'll feel that pain in your eyes).
I'm not sure how does DOSBox support various refresh rates, but at least for Windows desktop you can change it in screen properties (though Microsoft is making this option harder and harder to find in modern Windows versions).
Azarien
Oldbie
 
Posts: 500
Joined: 2015-5-14 @ 07:14


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 2 guests