Grand Prix 2 and 0.74, to fast?

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Grand Prix 2 and 0.74, to fast?

Postby SPBHM » 2014-3-30 @ 16:15

So I've been trying to play Grand Prix 2 on my main windows 8 PC, with Dosbox 0.74

I can set SVGA, maximum settings and framerate, it seems to run smoothly, processor occupancy is normally bellow 100% (in game press O), but, the game is rendered at a faster time than it should for some reason (1s in game takes less than 1s in reality), at least 20% faster, I mean based on how fast the car goes and reacts, but also the in game time measurement, I even compared side by side with my dos/win9x PC and it's different, 1s seems to take 1s, the old PC running natively even using minimum settings with 10% occupancy or all max at almost 100% seems to have the same time, like it should, I've checked against the clock and it looked correct, my main PC with dosbox runs to fast, I've tried changing core and the other CPU settings, but it runs very slow or like default, good but faster, any advice?
SPBHM
Member
 
Posts: 488
Joined: 2012-10-26 @ 15:59

Re: Grand Prix 2 and 0.74, to fast?

Postby bloodbat » 2014-3-30 @ 21:08

Did you try changing the cycles? (read the readme)
User avatar
bloodbat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 792
Joined: 2009-12-06 @ 07:11

Re: Grand Prix 2 and 0.74, to fast?

Postby SPBHM » 2014-3-30 @ 22:56

yes, I tried a fixed value, increase / decrease in real time, auto with increase and decrease the percentage, but it never gives me the desired effect, if I go to slow (and the game goes above 100% processor occupancy) it slows the time, but the game also works badly, while under 100% (which is the desired range) 1s feels 20% or so faster than it should, and I compared to my other PC running dos, the normal behavior is under 100% to always keep the correct time from what I can see.
SPBHM
Member
 
Posts: 488
Joined: 2012-10-26 @ 15:59

Re: Grand Prix 2 and 0.74, to fast?

Postby igermi » 2019-4-15 @ 03:43

I am experiencing the same thing with the same game. 1m of real life is about 1m16s in game time. I fiddled with the settings for a few hours today but I could not make it work any better.
igermi
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2019-4-03 @ 14:06

Re: Grand Prix 2 and 0.74, to fast?

Postby igermi » 2019-4-19 @ 23:03

I posted this in a forum for the GP2 game and someone on the site fixed this problem. They said they are using "DOSBOX SVN DAUM"

Here is the post from the other forum.


Hi,

The time seems to run correctly in DOSBox SVN Daum, as opposed to the standard DOSBox version.
It fixed the problem of the time running too fast in the game, at least for me.

You can get it here:
http://ykhwong.x-y.net/


I downloaded the Linux 7z version from this site and I am trying to get this installed. After I unziped the 7Z file to a directory in my downloads folder I see the "dosbox" file shows as an executable but I'm not sure how to get this working. Can anyone help? I am using debian 8.
igermi
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2019-4-03 @ 14:06

Re: Grand Prix 2 and 0.74, to fast?

Postby collector » 2019-4-20 @ 02:33

Rather than necroposting, start a new thread for your problem.
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4315
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests