VOGONS

Common searches

The Newbie's Pictorial Guide To DOSBox

Topic actions

• This topic is locked. You cannot reply or edit posts.

First post, by firestorm225

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I decided to write this easy to read guide with pictures because many newbies like myself have a hard time getting programs to work, even when others try to explain it to them. DOSBox is a great program, so hopefully this will encourage more people to use it. Keep in mind, however, that I am a complete newbie myself. My instructions are not guaranteed to be 100% accurate, but I've tried my hardest based on my knowledge of the program.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
STEP 1 - Installation
The first step is to install DOSBox. My guide will use the .60 version which you can download here. Download the file for your operating system. If you are a Windows user, get the Win32 installer.

After downloading, install DOSBOx to any directory. Also, make a folder to put all your old games in. I put my DOSBox in C:\DOSBbox, and my old games directory is C:\oldgames. I put a game in my oldgames directory, testdriv, which is Test Drive, an old racing game:

dosbox1.jpg
STEP 2 - Running a game
Now, the hardest part, getting games to run. First, run dosbox.exe in your DOSBox folder. Remember that oldgames directory you created in Step 1? You have to basically set that as new directory just for DOSBox. Essentially, it's going to become the C:\ drive of DOSBox. So, type:

mount C C:\oldgames

To dissect the above:
mount - Tells the program to mount a directory
C - Tells the program what you want your new drive to be called (leaving it as C: is fine)
C:\oldgames - This is the directory I want to set as the new drive for DOSBox, because all my games are in it. If you created a different directory, write in the directory you created.