VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 32860 of 35014, by xjas

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Didn't buy this, but I found something I didn't even know existed at my local Freegeek & it was too amusing not to share:

20200303_153037.jpg
Filename
20200303_153037.jpg
File size
214.11 KiB
Views
368 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0
20200303_153048.jpg
Filename
20200303_153048.jpg
File size
184.78 KiB
Views
368 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

That's right, a thing that "converts" 3.5" DS/DD disks to HD by punching out the notch in the side. WTF.

This is in no way a good idea and AFAIK generally doesn't result in a working disk (at least, not for very long.) I'm honestly astonished this got made as a commercial product. Doing about five test disks with it would tell you it doesn't work; the media is physically different. There were 'equivalent' disk notchers for 5.25" disks, but those are for allowing you to flip actual double-sided disks to use the back side in a single-sided drive.

Maybe there was some company that mass-produced 3.5" DD disks using HD media, but I would have expected that in the late '90s, not the mid '80s when this thing seems to date from.

It's still there if any of you want it. 😜

twitch.tv/oldskooljay - playing the obscure, forgotten & weird - most Tuesdays & Thursdays @ 6 PM PDT. Bonus streams elsewhen!

Reply 32861 of 35014, by Vynix

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I've seen that thing too once, and heck, I know some people used to even drill DS/DD disks to use them as HD disks in 1.44M drives. So no, that concept ain't new.

Proud owner of a Shuttle HOT-555A 430VX motherboard and two wonderful retro laptops, namely a Compaq Armada 1700 [nonfunctional] and a HP Omnibook XE3-GC [fully working :p]

Reply 32862 of 35014, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
GigAHerZ wrote on 2020-03-05, 12:39:
derSammler wrote on 2020-03-05, 12:10:

Later, I was able to score a large lot of cheap NOS PS/2 mice based on the OM02 chip. These work on the Amiga by simply rewire them - you can even use the wheel as a 3rd button if you use a 9-wire cable.

Wait, just to make sure i have a correct understanding: The 9 pin connector for those amigas and ataris does not mean those mice are capable of being ordinary serial mice for old PCs?

Because if those are optical mice that support serial interface, then... i want to talk with you in ps! 😀

One of my friend's parents, had a 386 back in the days. And he plugged in an Amiga mouse. For some reason the COM-1 port died. I say for some reason, as I have no idea what actually dies and how and why. All I remembered, was that he plugged it in, ran the driver software and the port died. No magic smoke or any bang, it just went to the grave.

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.

Reply 32863 of 35014, by pan069

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Vynix wrote on 2020-03-06, 21:58:

I've seen that thing too once, and heck, I know some people used to even drill DS/DD disks to use them as HD disks in 1.44M drives. So no, that concept ain't new.

I used to heat a large nail (holding it with pliers so I didn't burn myself) using my mothers gas stove top and then push the nail through the disk where the second hole had to be, cleaning it with a large drill bit. This way there wouldn't be any potential residue inside the disk that might occur with drilling. I guess a soldering iron might have worked too but I didn't have one.

I don't recall having any problems with those "enhanced" disks but I'm sure some of the disks would have died or had read errors at some point or another.

Reply 32864 of 35014, by DaveJustDave

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

the floppy hole punch is neat, but useless now because it is WAY easier to find high density 1.44 than double density

I have no clue what I'm doing! If you want to watch me fumble through all my retro projects, you can watch here: https://www.youtube.com/user/MrDavejustdave

Reply 32866 of 35014, by MrSmiley381

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Amiga 1200 arrived! Pretty good given the seller feedback was 0 and the listing mentioned that it was powered but not otherwise tested. Pleasantly surprised to have received a mouse and more manuals than expected. Also some personal files on the floppy disks if the labels are to be believed. Aside from the missing logo sticker and some uncertainty regarding floppy disk operation, it's in pretty good shape. I'll need to test it more. No surprises in the expansion slot, sadly. Still, I shouldn't complain. Even has Commodore Windows installed! Original floppies for Lemmings and Xenophobe too.

IMG_20200306_202928.jpg
Filename
IMG_20200306_202928.jpg
File size
1.92 MiB
Views
297 views
File comment
I want to blare Turrican so loud the cops kick my door in.
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

I spend my days fighting with clunky software so I can afford to spend my evenings fighting with clunky hardware.

Reply 32867 of 35014, by Shagittarius

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
MrSmiley381 wrote on 2020-03-07, 01:49:

Amiga 1200 arrived! Pretty good given the seller feedback was 0 and the listing mentioned that it was powered but not otherwise tested. Pleasantly surprised to have received a mouse and more manuals than expected. Also some personal files on the floppy disks if the labels are to be believed. Aside from the missing logo sticker and some uncertainty regarding floppy disk operation, it's in pretty good shape. I'll need to test it more. No surprises in the expansion slot, sadly. Still, I shouldn't complain. Even has Commodore Windows installed! Original floppies for Lemmings and Xenophobe too.

IMG_20200306_202928.jpg

Sweet haul. Can you look and see what model your PSU says it's for on the bottom? I dug my amiga 1200 out after 20+ years only to discover I had an A600 labeled PSU. I never noticed this the entire time I owned the machine, I'm wondering if this was the way they were sold, after all I bought my Amiga new. Though I suppose the shops could have put whatever they wanted to in the boxes...

Reply 32868 of 35014, by MrSmiley381

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Shagittarius wrote on 2020-03-07, 01:55:

Sweet haul. Can you look and see what model your PSU says it's for on the bottom? I dug my amiga 1200 out after 20+ years only to discover I had an A600 labeled PSU. I never noticed this the entire time I owned the machine, I'm wondering if this was the way they were sold, after all I bought my Amiga new. Though I suppose the shops could have put whatever they wanted to in the boxes...

Quite an observation you've made there, as mine also says it's an A600 PSU. Maybe it was cheaper than casting new plastic molds for the same product with different labeling.

I spend my days fighting with clunky software so I can afford to spend my evenings fighting with clunky hardware.

Reply 32869 of 35014, by Shagittarius

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
MrSmiley381 wrote on 2020-03-07, 01:58:
Shagittarius wrote on 2020-03-07, 01:55:

Sweet haul. Can you look and see what model your PSU says it's for on the bottom? I dug my amiga 1200 out after 20+ years only to discover I had an A600 labeled PSU. I never noticed this the entire time I owned the machine, I'm wondering if this was the way they were sold, after all I bought my Amiga new. Though I suppose the shops could have put whatever they wanted to in the boxes...

Quite an observation you've made there, as mine also says it's an A600 PSU. Maybe it was cheaper than casting new plastic molds for the same product with different labeling.

Interesting, thanks!

Reply 32870 of 35014, by xjas

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Vynix wrote on 2020-03-06, 21:58:

I've seen that thing too once, and heck, I know some people used to even drill DS/DD disks to use them as HD disks in 1.44M drives. So no, that concept ain't new.

pan069 wrote on 2020-03-06, 22:16:

I used to heat a large nail (holding it with pliers so I didn't burn myself) using my mothers gas stove top and then push the nail through the disk where the second hole had to be, cleaning it with a large drill bit. This way there wouldn't be any potential residue inside the disk that might occur with drilling. I guess a soldering iron might have worked too but I didn't have one.

I don't recall having any problems with those "enhanced" disks but I'm sure some of the disks would have died or had read errors at some point or another.

I made the hole with a power drill a few times back in the day, but I remember being disappointed that most of the disks didn't survive their first HD format & even the ones that did didn't work for very long. Read errors started appearing pretty much instantly. I found a couple of those disks in a box I was archiving a while ago and they were the only ones in it that were completely defunct.

I'm sure there were some disks out there that would tolerate this "upgrade", but I wouldn't think it was the norm.

twitch.tv/oldskooljay - playing the obscure, forgotten & weird - most Tuesdays & Thursdays @ 6 PM PDT. Bonus streams elsewhen!

Reply 32872 of 35014, by Horun

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
derSammler wrote on 2020-03-07, 15:53:

In the mail today: COAST modules. 😀

Nice ! I recognize three of them, the Winbond is same as in my Asus TP4XEG board. For some reason people want $10-20 each over here IF you can find them.

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣

Reply 32874 of 35014, by Cuttoon

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
derSammler wrote on 2020-03-07, 18:02:

For some reason, I mostly get these for free or very cheap as part of larger RAM collections.

The reason is, my like-minded friend, that to 99.9 % of sane individuals out there, it's just a random piece of junk from the "Telekomposthaufen" they're about to get rid of. :D

Got one with my first 430VX mobo back in '97 and alas, the darn thing never worked.

Just missed on of those RAM collection sales that included one. 4 in one strike is quite a catch.

They're actually being sold on the bay for about a tenner, NOS or even newly made, I dunno.

I like jumpers.

Reply 32875 of 35014, by CharlieFoxtrot

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I actually picked these yesterday evening, but here it goes: HP Vectra VL2 4/66 16MB 540MB (40€) and ATi Mach 32 VLB (25€).

hHOpdAB.jpg

Vectra is in excellent shape, weirdly the power switch area only is somewhat yellowed, otherwise the case is in beautiful condition. Only weird thing was that the red molex and floppy power cables were very brittle and practically flaking off from the wires. Other colours were just fine. I certainly did not want the 5V leaking to the chassis and I did quick fix with electrical tape on the worst parts of the cables, but I will rewire the leads at some point.

I also switched the drive in the picture to HP CDRW drive, which fits to the colours and thus to looks much better (and is brand correct too). Computer had no sound card installed, so I threw Yamaha YMF719 E-S I had laying around inside. I perhaps also test my recently acquired Mach64 ISA on it, although it doesn't make much sense to use it in a long term, because I *think* that the integrated CL chipset is a VLB one. Vectra is now happily sitting under my Compaq CRT monitor and my these pizza boxes look good! Last time I had one of these true desktops was before autumn '95, when I got my Pentium computer which was built in AT midi tower.

I am currently setting up the computer and decided to test Win 95 OSR2 on it, because why not. I am actually surprised how little painful it is to use on basic desktop workflow and it runs actually pretty well considering the specs. I am not of course planning to use it seriously as a Win95 machine and mostly spend my time in DOS mode, unless I decide to go with more traditional DOS 6.22 and Win 3.11 WfW at some point.

  • Celeron 300A@450 : 256MB : 80GB : DVD : Riva TNT : Voodoo2 : SB Live! : SB AWE64 Value
  • Compaq 425 : SB16 CT2290
  • Sun Ultra 60 : UltraSparcIIe 450 : 2xSun Creator3D : 2x36GB SCSI 10k
  • Digital DecPC 425SE Color
  • Compaq Armada 1700

Reply 32876 of 35014, by Cuttoon

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
CharlieFoxtrot wrote on 2020-03-07, 19:35:

weirdly the power switch area only is somewhat yellowed.

Possibly the power switch part was made of a different ABS with higher bromite content.

CharlieFoxtrot wrote on 2020-03-07, 19:35:

I am actually surprised how little painful it is to use on basic desktop workflow and it runs actually pretty well considering the specs.

In my experience, the three main criteria for OS compatibility are RAM, RAM and RAM. Decent VGA also helps a lot. But Win95 was supposed to run on a 386, after all.
Nice box. I'm more of a Compaq man myself. :)

These ALS100 gems still go for cheap (€ 4.50), if untested. I wonder what that LS-212 does...
Also, finally an AGP PRO mobo to test my Elsa Gloria II pro with. (for the minimal Euro, it might even work) Those ASUS spdif breakouts are rather fancy, including several capacitors, etc. No, that is not a PC/PCI header on that board!

Attachments

  • vogons.JPG
    Filename
    vogons.JPG
    File size
    1.68 MiB
    Views
    146 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

I like jumpers.

Reply 32877 of 35014, by PTherapist

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Shagittarius wrote on 2020-03-07, 02:00:
MrSmiley381 wrote on 2020-03-07, 01:58:
Shagittarius wrote on 2020-03-07, 01:55:

Sweet haul. Can you look and see what model your PSU says it's for on the bottom? I dug my amiga 1200 out after 20+ years only to discover I had an A600 labeled PSU. I never noticed this the entire time I owned the machine, I'm wondering if this was the way they were sold, after all I bought my Amiga new. Though I suppose the shops could have put whatever they wanted to in the boxes...

Quite an observation you've made there, as mine also says it's an A600 PSU. Maybe it was cheaper than casting new plastic molds for the same product with different labeling.

Interesting, thanks!

I never thought to check my Amiga 1200 power supply until I saw this and mine has the A500 heavy PSU. 0.5W less on the 5V, but an extra 0.5W on the 12V. -12V is the same as the A600 supply. Not sure if mine would have originally came with that though.

Reply 32878 of 35014, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
MrSmiley381 wrote on 2020-03-07, 01:49:

Amiga 1200 arrived! Pretty good given the seller feedback was 0 and the listing mentioned that it was powered but not otherwise tested. Pleasantly surprised to have received a mouse and more manuals than expected. Also some personal files on the floppy disks if the labels are to be believed. Aside from the missing logo sticker and some uncertainty regarding floppy disk operation, it's in pretty good shape. I'll need to test it more. No surprises in the expansion slot, sadly. Still, I shouldn't complain. Even has Commodore Windows installed! Original floppies for Lemmings and Xenophobe too.

IMG_20200306_202928.jpg

Congrats with the 1200. By the way. It is called Workbench and not Windows.

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.

Reply 32879 of 35014, by derSammler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
PTherapist wrote on 2020-03-07, 20:12:

I never thought to check my Amiga 1200 power supply until I saw this and mine has the A500 heavy PSU. 0.5W less on the 5V, but an extra 0.5W on the 12V. -12V is the same as the A600 supply. Not sure if mine would have originally came with that though.

The A600/1200 PSU has 3A on 5V. If the A500 PSU you have only has 2.5A on 5V (heavy one with transformer), you should not use it with an A1200, as that is simply not enough. Either use the A600/1200 PSU, or a later A500 one (switching type) with 4.5A on 5V.