VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 37261 of 45938, by mastergamma12

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Xicor wrote on 2020-12-14, 17:36:
Arrived today my favorite motherboard of all time the EVGA 790i Ultra SLI : […]
Show full quote

Arrived today my favorite motherboard of all time the EVGA 790i Ultra SLI :

file.php?id=98190&mode=view

Nice, I was using the EVGA FTW version of that before I swapped it out with my X58 Lanparty.

IKWX6Aj.png

The Tuala-Bus (My 9x/Dos Rig) (Pentium III-S 1.4ghz, AWE64G+Audigy 2 ZS, Voodoo5 5500, Chieftec Dragon Rambus)

The Final Lan Party (My Windows Xp/7 rig) (Core i7 980x, GTX 480,DFI Lanparty UT X58-T3eH8,)
Re: Post your 'current' PC

Reply 37262 of 45938, by sf78

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Predator99 wrote on 2020-12-14, 19:54:

POST codes are not generated by the card but by the system BIOS 😉

I'll refrase: The output info seems to be pretty much as in any other diagnostic card, though this only has two 7 segment displays, but the other leds are identical to most cards.

Reply 37263 of 45938, by Skanque

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

New arrivals for the collection:

ATI Xpert 128 - Rage 128 GL
IMG-2154.jpg
IMG-E2160.jpg

ASUS AGP-7700 TI Deluxe - Geforce 2 TI
IMG-E2143.jpg
IMG-E2151.jpg

ASUS AGP-V264GT3 - ATI 3D RAGE PRO AGP 2X
IMG-2188.jpg
IMG-2185.jpg

ASUS V8460 Ultra - Geforce 4600 Ultra
IMG-2195.jpg

Pretty glad to add these to the collection, still trying to locate some specific ASUS boxes, but hopefully they will show someday.

Have a nice day

Reply 37264 of 45938, by pete8475

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

This might not be "retro" exactly but I just picked up an EVGA GTX770 for $60 from a guy on Kijiji!

The fan is a bit dirty, but it works nicely.

Attachments

  • gtx770-1.jpg
    Filename
    gtx770-1.jpg
    File size
    195 KiB
    Views
    1086 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • gtx770-2.jpg
    Filename
    gtx770-2.jpg
    File size
    204.48 KiB
    Views
    1086 views
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 37265 of 45938, by henk717

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Managed to finally find a ESS-Solo1 in my region for a great price (Or at all given they never popped up in my searches before) , last year i went with the YMF744 instead. I absolutely love the ymf! Its such a great card. But pure dos gaming has been really hit and miss for me with its dos extender requirement on my 2005 era VIA Motherboard.

With a bit of luck the cards will work side by side in my build so i can wire the ESS to the Yamaha line in, that way i could load in the ESS driver when i need it and otherwise use the YMF. It would give me the best of both worlds since the Yamaha to me is the much better 98 card, but the ESS is going to allow me to properly play Jazz Jackrabbit and Turrican 2 if it all works out.

Reply 37267 of 45938, by sf78

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Back to recycling again for a 12€ lot. Any thoughts on the quality of the Seventeam PSU?

psu.jpg
Filename
psu.jpg
File size
190.97 KiB
Views
915 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0
opti.jpg
Filename
opti.jpg
File size
285.92 KiB
Views
915 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0
cpu.jpg
Filename
cpu.jpg
File size
170.91 KiB
Views
915 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 37268 of 45938, by PD2JK

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

About that Seventeam psu, the S looks like Seasonic. Could be a sub brand, but unlikely.

Philips P3238: Siemens 80286-12 / Highscreen AT: Pentium MMX 200@233MHz / Highscreen ATX: Athlon Classic 1 GHz

Reply 37269 of 45938, by RandomStranger

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Not really bought, a co-worker dumped his old socket 939 board on me GA-K8N51GMF-9-RH including a single core Athlon and 3GB RAM.
Also the gatekeeper decided he has no use for his (not so) old (for a) s775 board with a Core2Duo E8200 and 4GB RAM and original driver CD.
And both with the IO shield.

Neither of them seem really remarkable, but the Asrock is a VERY compact little board which can make a very compact XP box as for the Gigabyte, I've no experience with anything AMD between the K5 and Phenom 2 and having a short-lived socket is at least instead of something more dime-a-dozen is at least something to be excited about. Though the top dual core CPUs however seem to be somewhat rare.

sreq.png retrogamer-s.png

Reply 37270 of 45938, by Skanque

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
blurks wrote on 2020-12-16, 07:15:

Nice finds @skanque. They all look to be in pristine condition too.

I just recently bought an ATI Mach64 VLB including the memory upgrade module (resulting in 4 MB total).

Thanks! Yes they are in excellent condition, I am very happy and surprised to find the AGP-V264GT3, since I have not seen any pictures of those boxes before.

You are also finding nice boxes, I saw your recent Creative finds.

Reply 37271 of 45938, by SVD

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Cubix Server Processor Card A4010 with AMD 586 133ADZ incoming in the mail 😀

Attachments

  • s-l500.jpg
    Filename
    s-l500.jpg
    File size
    61.93 KiB
    Views
    782 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 37273 of 45938, by Robin4

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
sf78 wrote on 2020-12-16, 14:42:
Back to recycling again for a 12€ lot. Any thoughts on the quality of the Seventeam PSU? […]
Show full quote

Back to recycling again for a 12€ lot. Any thoughts on the quality of the Seventeam PSU?

psu.jpg
opti.jpg
cpu.jpg

If its a Hi-pot then is decent. If not then its not great..

~ At least it can do black and white~

Reply 37274 of 45938, by gex85

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Today I found and bought a Slot 1 to S370 adapter with adjustable voltage that will go as low as 1.4V, the AOpen FC-PGA.

AOpen_FC-PGA.jpg
Filename
AOpen_FC-PGA.jpg
File size
154.18 KiB
Views
669 views
File comment
FC-PGA
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

(Photo shamelessly taken from here)

I will use it with a 440BX board and a Tualatin CPU, but haven't decided yet whether I'll just mod it or shell out some more Euros for a PCB solder-on adapter from "the Korean guy" on eBay. I have done the mod successfully in the past, but I like how clean the PCB solution is. But given the fact that I already kind of overpaid for the slot adapter, I might just do the mod myself...

My retro computers

Reply 37275 of 45938, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Got these beauties today:

Super P54VL-PCI
EXP 8x CD-ROM multimedia PCMCIA drive with the card, drivers, and manual.

Gallery: http://imgur.com/a/ZXacreB

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-8350
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 37276 of 45938, by LewisRaz

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

SW60XG midi board arrived today. Had some faffing around to get it to work but am very happy now!

Also the box it was posted in was... Interesting.

Attachments

  • IMG_5341.jpg
    Filename
    IMG_5341.jpg
    File size
    117.9 KiB
    Views
    561 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • IMG_5342.jpg
    Filename
    IMG_5342.jpg
    File size
    333.53 KiB
    Views
    561 views
    File license
    Public domain

My retro pc youtube channel
Twitter

Reply 37277 of 45938, by Warlord

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
gex85 wrote on 2020-12-17, 13:12:
Today I found and bought a Slot 1 to S370 adapter with adjustable voltage that will go as low as 1.4V, the AOpen FC-PGA. AOpen_F […]
Show full quote

Today I found and bought a Slot 1 to S370 adapter with adjustable voltage that will go as low as 1.4V, the AOpen FC-PGA.
AOpen_FC-PGA.jpg
(Photo shamelessly taken from here)

I will use it with a 440BX board and a Tualatin CPU, but haven't decided yet whether I'll just mod it or shell out some more Euros for a PCB solder-on adapter from "the Korean guy" on eBay. I have done the mod successfully in the past, but I like how clean the PCB solution is. But given the fact that I already kind of overpaid for the slot adapter, I might just do the mod myself...

It will work but you need one of those lin lins or one of those ebay Tualatins with the adapter. Pretty nice slocket though, with a VRM.

Reply 37278 of 45938, by darry

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Warlord wrote on 2020-12-18, 01:10:
gex85 wrote on 2020-12-17, 13:12:
Today I found and bought a Slot 1 to S370 adapter with adjustable voltage that will go as low as 1.4V, the AOpen FC-PGA. AOpen_F […]
Show full quote

Today I found and bought a Slot 1 to S370 adapter with adjustable voltage that will go as low as 1.4V, the AOpen FC-PGA.
AOpen_FC-PGA.jpg
(Photo shamelessly taken from here)

I will use it with a 440BX board and a Tualatin CPU, but haven't decided yet whether I'll just mod it or shell out some more Euros for a PCB solder-on adapter from "the Korean guy" on eBay. I have done the mod successfully in the past, but I like how clean the PCB solution is. But given the fact that I already kind of overpaid for the slot adapter, I might just do the mod myself...

It will work but you need one of those lin lins or one of those ebay Tualatins with the adapter. Pretty nice slocket though, with a VRM.

Are you sure it has a VRM ? I thought the only slotket with a VRM was the PowerLeap one . AFAIK, all the other slotkets only allow overriding the CPU VID presented to the motherboard's VRM circuit .

Reply 37279 of 45938, by Warlord

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
darry wrote on 2020-12-18, 02:20:
Warlord wrote on 2020-12-18, 01:10:
gex85 wrote on 2020-12-17, 13:12:
Today I found and bought a Slot 1 to S370 adapter with adjustable voltage that will go as low as 1.4V, the AOpen FC-PGA. AOpen_F […]
Show full quote

Today I found and bought a Slot 1 to S370 adapter with adjustable voltage that will go as low as 1.4V, the AOpen FC-PGA.
AOpen_FC-PGA.jpg
(Photo shamelessly taken from here)

I will use it with a 440BX board and a Tualatin CPU, but haven't decided yet whether I'll just mod it or shell out some more Euros for a PCB solder-on adapter from "the Korean guy" on eBay. I have done the mod successfully in the past, but I like how clean the PCB solution is. But given the fact that I already kind of overpaid for the slot adapter, I might just do the mod myself...

It will work but you need one of those lin lins or one of those ebay Tualatins with the adapter. Pretty nice slocket though, with a VRM.

Are you sure it has a VRM ? I thought the only slotket with a VRM was the PowerLeap one . AFAIK, all the other slotkets only allow overriding the CPU VID presented to the motherboard's VRM circuit .

Does an ABIT slotket III have a VRM

This says it have same chip as on powerleaps https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=aut … s/tbx/tbx_2.htm