VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 37960 of 39487, by CMB75

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
mpe wrote on 2021-02-06, 20:23:

Would you mind capturing/sharing high-res picture of the chip sticker?

Will do. But it’ll have to wait until tomorrow. Because I sold all my photography equipment I do need daylight to take decent pictures with my phone.

Reply 37962 of 39487, by CMB75

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
mpe wrote on 2021-02-06, 20:23:

Would you mind capturing/sharing high-res picture of the chip sticker?

This is as good as it gets using my current equipment. Examined more closely it seems the original quality of the screen printing wasn’t that high to begin with. I’d suggest using this as a template for building an Illustrator replica.

V7-Mirage-P-64-Sticker.jpg
Filename
V7-Mirage-P-64-Sticker.jpg
File size
1.19 MiB
Views
727 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Arrgh... the server is recompressing the uploaded image. I'm going to upload the "original" file to a cloud service and keep it there for a couple of weeks. Keeping the attachment here for future reference.

Temporary link: removed on Sat. 27th Feb 2021 - anyone just drop me a PM if a hires pic is required

Last edited by CMB75 on 2021-02-27, 16:42. Edited 2 times in total.

Reply 37963 of 39487, by mpe

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Got it thanks! It is going to be fairly small when printed so should be OK.

First attempt. Need to fix round corner, print them a bit bigger and also do BIOS stickers...

DSC_9090.jpeg
Filename
DSC_9090.jpeg
File size
983.02 KiB
Views
690 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Also not sure if the Turbo version shouldn't have the newer darker blue sticker with slightly different design...

Blog|NexGen 586|S4

Reply 37964 of 39487, by flupke11

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

After being able to resist buying ANYTHING for the last 8 months, I could not let go of a dual PPro Compaq Proliant 2500 with additional storage tower.

Compaq2500.jpg
Filename
Compaq2500.jpg
File size
91.43 KiB
Views
679 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

While it fits the curbed in conditions I set myself (only duals), it hardly fits in my room 😀.

Sadly only one PPro 200 is installed, with 384 MB of EDO Dimm ram. I had a faint hope of discovering 2 PPro's overdrives, but I'll have to stick to the 2 installed in the Pr440FX I have had for the last 20 years now.

Eveyrthing is operational, including the LCD display. Thank you HPE for still hosting the disk images for the Softpaq and the system partition.

Still, if anyone has the iso to the smartstart 4.60 ...

Reply 37965 of 39487, by SteveC

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Ha just look how big that external tower is for just seven drives!

I used a good few ProLiant 1600 servers back in the day and was a fan - they look pretty similar.

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCnG0NzvdJSb4_LibUPp0DwQ
Twitter: https://twitter.com/stevec00ps

Reply 37966 of 39487, by liqmat

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
flupke11 wrote on 2021-02-07, 14:49:

After being able to resist buying ANYTHING for the last 8 months, I could not let go of a dual PPro Compaq Proliant 2500 with additional storage tower.

Those are in rather good shape considering their age. That era of Proliant servers is part of the reason I have lower back issues to this day. I worked in a data center in the late 90s and early 00s chalk full of various Proliant server racks. Heavy ass beasts, BUT you could probably throw those things off a cliff and they would still work. Compaq built those chassis like tanks. The only thing that annoyed me to no end were the drive sleds. Those squeeze buttons on the pull handles could be very stubborn at times. I believe the company I worked for at the time eventually auctioned them all off. Probably close to a hundred systems in all.

Reply 37967 of 39487, by dionb

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Some sellers...

Very clear pictures of little stacks of CPUs. Upside-down stacks of CPUs. And no, no pics of top available. So no idea exactly what is in there, but did a lowball offer. After a week, nobody had topped it (apart from one person who insisted picking it up, but then concluding it was in a different country and he couldn't make it back before curfew...), so I'm getting the lot.

2x So168
5x So478
1x So775
4x OPGA So7
2x OPGA So370
5x So939/940/AM2
1x CPGA So370 (looks like a C3)
1x green SoA
2x brown SoA
2x ceramic SoA
2x green So370 (top one is CuMine)
1x completely unknown, looks like So370, but can't make out what

Really only needed an early SoA CPU to test a board with, but there's bound to be something else interesting in there (if only that weird So370 CPU). We'll see mid next week 😀

Reply 37968 of 39487, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Finally got around to building the mATX LGA775 Windows 98SE/XP dualboot box with working PCI DOS Sound (Solo-1) project. It turns out the last IDE DVD-ROM I had is dead so I went ahead and bought a couple SATA ones. I will try my luck with those later.

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 37969 of 39487, by Lamuse

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Don't have any pictures yet, but currently have an old Compaq Portable 2 with a 10MB hard drive, an XT clone that has a 10MB Tandon hard drive, Packard Bell 386 laptop, Zeos 386 laptop a few Toshiba laptops, Stealth 3D 2000 Pro,
Stealth 64 Video, STB Systems Trio 64V+ card, an old Cirrus Logic video card, couple of Audigy cards, an AWE64 Gold. I'll have to dig it out and snap some pictures.

Reply 37970 of 39487, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Bought an Epson SD-800 (this'll be my second dual floppy drive and it'll be used in my 386 system).

Screenshot_20210206-204106-802.png
Filename
Screenshot_20210206-204106-802.png
File size
256.79 KiB
Views
501 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-6300
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 37972 of 39487, by bZbZbZ

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I just bought this video card locally and it's fully working:

Radeon-9800SE.jpg
Filename
Radeon-9800SE.jpg
File size
363.96 KiB
Views
447 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

It's a Radeon 9800 crippled with a 128-bit memory bus. The weird thing is that it has a LOT of this TSOP memory (256MB) and the R350 core appears to be fully enabled. In practice, it should be similar to a heavily overclocked Radeon 9500 Pro. I've paired it with a Pentium 4 running UT2004 at 1024x768 (no AA) at over 60fps. So not a great card... but an interesting one. Not bad for $5.

Reply 37973 of 39487, by Ozzuneoj

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
bZbZbZ wrote on 2021-02-08, 04:15:

I just bought this video card locally and it's fully working:
Radeon-9800SE.jpg

It's a Radeon 9800 crippled with a 128-bit memory bus. The weird thing is that it has a LOT of this TSOP memory (256MB) and the R350 core appears to be fully enabled. In practice, it should be similar to a heavily overclocked Radeon 9500 Pro. I've paired it with a Pentium 4 running UT2004 at 1024x768 (no AA) at over 60fps. So not a great card... but an interesting one. Not bad for $5.

Interesting card! I could be wrong, but to me it looks like a knock-off ATi card. Likely one of the ones you'd find in a box with lots of crazy buzz words and possibly wrong information on it, yet no real brand name.

The cheaper-looking through-hole electrolytic caps, fakey ATi sticker, large memory capacity and halved bandwidth all point to that IMO.

Still probably a very solid performer for early 2000s games though, despite the lower bandwidth. Not bad at all for $5. 😁

EDIT: Actually found a video of someone examining a fake 9800XT with some similar features to the one you have.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4hU1e8S387Q
One of the comments mentions unlocking the full 256bit bus on cards like this (though it may not be fully functional, as these may have been reject chips that were meant for a lower model but were sold to a Chinese manufacturer who instead just lied about what the chip was).

Now for some blitting from the back buffer.

Reply 37974 of 39487, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
bZbZbZ wrote on 2021-02-08, 04:15:

I just bought this video card locally and it's fully working:
Radeon-9800SE.jpg

It's a Radeon 9800 crippled with a 128-bit memory bus. The weird thing is that it has a LOT of this TSOP memory (256MB) and the R350 core appears to be fully enabled. In practice, it should be similar to a heavily overclocked Radeon 9500 Pro. I've paired it with a Pentium 4 running UT2004 at 1024x768 (no AA) at over 60fps. So not a great card... but an interesting one. Not bad for $5.

Unfortunately it's one of the SE PCBs that you can't unlock to a 256-bit bus via driver modding:(

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 37975 of 39487, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I have a 9700 Pro AIW that has 256-bit bus, but 128MB vRAM. It'll be a good card for my Socket 370 build since the Ti4400 AGP has a bad fan and needs to be inspected for damage.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-6300
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 37976 of 39487, by bZbZbZ

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

This is the exact card (surprised the listing is still up, although it's "currently out of stock and it may or may not be restocked"):
https://www.newegg.ca/powercolor-radeon-9800- … 82E16814131412R

The brand is PowerColor, which is legit (certainly not Built by ATI). It performs decently... it's a nice compliment to other AGP Radeons (I have a Radeon 64MB DDR VIVO, a Radeon 9100 aka downclocked 8500, an artifacting 9700 RIP, a 9800 Pro, and an X850 Pro).

Reply 37977 of 39487, by texterted

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

First thing I do with those Radeons is remove the cooler and flip off those bloody die shims!

The shims that make them die!

Cheers

Ted

98se/W2K :- Asus A8v Dlx. A-64 3500+, 512 mb ddr, Radeon 9800 Pro, SB Live.
XP Pro:- Asus P5 Q SE Plus, C2D E8400, 4 Gig DDR2, Radeon HD4870, SB Audigy 2ZS.

Reply 37979 of 39487, by brassicGamer

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

This oddity. Am creating a schematic so I can work out the bus pinout. It does seem to support parity, but the hi and lo data lines are combined so I'm guessing that means the banks can be switched between but not accessed simultaneously, effectively stimulating 16-bit bandwidth? Possibly from a quirky 386 motherboard. Or just a random printer...

20210206_120052_resize_21.jpg
Filename
20210206_120052_resize_21.jpg
File size
176.6 KiB
Views
320 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
20210206_120604_resize_5.jpg
Filename
20210206_120604_resize_5.jpg
File size
144.43 KiB
Views
320 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Check out my blog and YouTube channel for thoughts, articles, system profiles, and tips.