VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 38960 of 39487, by flupke11

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Not too sure if I'll keep these:

Asus.jpg
Filename
Asus.jpg
File size
360.08 KiB
Views
741 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

But I'll definitely keep this 😀 :

hakko.jpg
Filename
hakko.jpg
File size
70.97 KiB
Views
741 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

I need to improve my repair work, and I prefer to sponsor one Asian country over the other.

Edit: I'm cleaning the Ultra now. It's origin is a smoker's household. No judgement, we all do whatever we want, but tar is a bitch to clean.

tar.jpg
Filename
tar.jpg
File size
285.71 KiB
Views
729 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 38961 of 39487, by maestro

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
imi wrote on 2021-05-04, 19:44:

this nice trio of boxes arrived recently :3

Very nice Gravis hardware. I live in BC and these frequently show up in thrift shops. I haven't found a Gravis Pro joystick yet so the hunt continues. Very nice, I'm jealous.

Reply 38962 of 39487, by framebuffer

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
chrismeyer6 wrote on 2021-05-05, 16:21:

Nice haul Framebuffer

thanks, especially happy for the keyboard and mouse, they will pair nice with some retro builds
ah and for the 9500 Pro also 😉

https://framebuffer.io

Reply 38963 of 39487, by digger

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Look at this beauty that I picked up from the post office today. ☺️

IMG_20210505_194116_HDR.jpg
Filename
IMG_20210505_194116_HDR.jpg
File size
1.58 MiB
Views
687 views
File comment
My Tandy 1000 EX, purchased on eBay
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Usually when Tandy 1000 machines turn up on eBay, they tend to be offered by sellers in North America. So I was pleasantly surprised to see this Tandy 1000 EX listed by someone in Greece, a few weeks ago. And for a reasonable price too!

Also, it looks to be in good condition, and thankfully it didn't have a cyrillic keyboard . 😅 It has a US keyboard layout, which is perfect for me. (Unlike our Belgian and German neighbors, thankfully we in the Netherlands standardized on the US layout early on in the PC era.)

IMG_20210505_194300_HDR.jpg
Filename
IMG_20210505_194300_HDR.jpg
File size
1.6 MiB
Views
687 views
File comment
My Tandy 1000 EX, from the other side
File license
CC-BY-4.0

It doesn't have any expansion cards installed. I found this one project on GitHub for a three-in-one card for these models that maxes out the amount of RAM, adds an XTIDE interface and a serial port. Hopefully I'll be able to buy one of those card preassembled somewhere. I don't yet trust my soldering skills enough to risk damaging this fine retro machine. I would also like to upgrade it with a NEC V20 CPU and a CGA2SCART adapter, to pimp it out as much as I can. I'm not sure about putting in a Gotek drive. It would probably be more practical, but I kind of like that wonderfully clunky 5.25" floppy drive on the side. 😁 Any additional suggestions for upgrades are welcome!

IMG_20210505_194459_HDR.jpg
Filename
IMG_20210505_194459_HDR.jpg
File size
1.87 MiB
Views
687 views
File comment
My Tandy 1000 EX, bottom pic
File license
CC-BY-4.0

The plug was removed from the power cable, probably because Greece has a different plug than we do. (We use German plugs in the Netherlands.) At first, it made me a bit concerned about whether this was originally a North American machine that would require 120V power instead of our 230V, but then I was reassured about the "warranty void if opened" stickers on the bottom, that contained the notices in 4 European languages, including, amusingly, Dutch.

I'm still amazed at the good condition this thing is in. There was some Styrofoam protection around it in the cardboard box it was shipped in, but not all that much. Thankfully, it survived the journey in tact.

The first thing (after a wipe with a cleaning cloth) will be to stick some new felts to the bottom for protection. Then I'll mount a plug to the power cable, and then I'll switch it on, to see if it works. I'll have to connect it through composite video for now, since I don't have a CGA2SCART adapter yet. Do any of you know if this model outputs any video over the composite output port on startup? Or does this have to be enabled somehow? I guess I'll just find out. This is going to be fun!

Hmmm, now that I've had this thing lying on the floor in my apartment for a bit while I typed this post, I'm getting a faint whif of that typical smell that you notice when you open up the PC case of someone who smokes. 😬 Better open it up to see if it needs a bit of cleaning or vacuuming on the inside...

Reply 38964 of 39487, by Ozzuneoj

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Nice Tandy!

We had a Tandy 1000HX when I was a kid. I really wish I had appreciated old PCs at the time, because it was already quite outdated when I started using it. I hated the fact that it wouldn't play basically any game I could find. Bear in mind, this was the mid '90s, so the lack of Tandy software makes sense to me now. 🤣 My brother was away to college with the only PC of ours that could play games, so having one that couldn't play ANYTHING was very sad.

I don't know what ever happened to it, but if I ever found one somewhere I'd certainly tinker with it. 😁

Now for some blitting from the back buffer.

Reply 38965 of 39487, by Eep386

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

^ I know what you mean. So glad I got my Tandy 1000 SL before the prices started going insane on eBay.
Also glad I got that 1000 TL motherboard for the same reason (and was able to cram it into the SL's box, with some kludging).

Life isn't long enough to re-enable every hidden option in every BIOS on every board... 🙁

Reply 38966 of 39487, by Camtheman

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
gerry wrote on 2021-05-05, 08:40:

as noted by others - what a great buy! i was thinking "what bad caps?" until half way down, but i'm sure it'll be good as new when you are done

i wouldn't worry about the lack of ISA, to me that board says Athlon XP and Windows XP. i'd be happy with that

Confirmed it is an Athlon XP 2100+. Ironically this is the first AMD processor I have ever owned. All 4 of my IBM PS/2 systems have Intels, my modern computer has an i7-8086k, my Windows 98 Machine has a PIII, and my PC/XT has an Intel 8088. Looool.

It does seem to be more Windows XP geared with the lack of ISA slots. I don't have a particular need or want for an XP era build (or the space) considering you can run most of those games on Windows 10 anyway. I'll probably try it with Windows 98. I have a problematic Aureal Vortex 1 which would be nice to test in it, it dislikes my ABIT VH6-II.

Early 90s: IBM PS/2 Server 95/A, Pentium 66, 16MB RAM, XGA-2, IBM SCSI Corvette, SCSI2SD, 3 Com EtherLink III MCA, Resound 2 AdLib MCA
Late 90s: Micron Millenia MXE, ABIT VH6-II, Coppermine 1ghz, 1024MB, Voodoo 5 5500 PCI, GUS Max 2.1, 128GB SATA PNY SSD

Reply 38967 of 39487, by EvieSigma

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Apparently I'm insane because I bought a third IBM PS/2 when I already had two that didn't work. I suppose this one is the most functional of the three, though, despite not having a hard drive. It's a Model 57 486SLC2 with 8MB of RAM.

5i4aQpJ.jpg

E9KBoSY.jpg

zj3xwcb.jpg

It's going to be fun figuring out what all those numbers mean.

Reply 38968 of 39487, by digger

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Ozzuneoj wrote on 2021-05-05, 19:19:

Nice Tandy!

We had a Tandy 1000HX when I was a kid. I really wish I had appreciated old PCs at the time, because it was already quite outdated when I started using it. I hated the fact that it wouldn't play basically any game I could find. Bear in mind, this was the mid '90s, so the lack of Tandy software makes sense to me now. 🤣 My brother was away to college with the only PC of ours that could play games, so having one that couldn't play ANYTHING was very sad.

I don't know what ever happened to it, but if I ever found one somewhere I'd certainly tinker with it. 😁

Eep386 wrote on 2021-05-05, 19:31:

^ I know what you mean. So glad I got my Tandy 1000 SL before the prices started going insane on eBay.
Also glad I got that 1000 TL motherboard for the same reason (and was able to cram it into the SL's box, with some kludging).

Well, my excitement about my new Tandy 1000 EX was short-lived. 😕 It turned out that it was a 120V 60Hz unit after all, despite the warranty notices being in four European languages. Oops. I plugged it in, it ran a few seconds, and then the fuse blew out. I hope nothing else in the system was damaged. 😟

Why would a North American system have warranty notices not only in English and French, but also in German and even in Dutch? I know I should have checked more carefully, but that really threw me off. 😕

Reply 38969 of 39487, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Bought a Wyse keyboard for my Wyse PC. Hope it works since the adapter I made doesn't work (clock issues).

Seller's photos:

Screenshot_20210505-190215-473.png
Filename
Screenshot_20210505-190215-473.png
File size
1.27 MiB
Views
556 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Screenshot_20210505-190228-613.png
Filename
Screenshot_20210505-190228-613.png
File size
1.13 MiB
Views
556 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Screenshot_20210505-190240-446.png
Filename
Screenshot_20210505-190240-446.png
File size
678.45 KiB
Views
556 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Screenshot_20210505-190251-298.png
Filename
Screenshot_20210505-190251-298.png
File size
617.47 KiB
Views
556 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-6300
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 38970 of 39487, by Eep386

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
digger wrote on 2021-05-05, 22:33:

Well, my excitement about my new Tandy 1000 EX was short-lived. 😕 It turned out that it was a 120V 60Hz unit after all, despite the warranty notices being in four European languages. Oops. I plugged it in, it ran a few seconds, and then the fuse blew out. I hope nothing else in the system was damaged. 😟

Why would a North American system have warranty notices not only in English and French, but also in German and even in Dutch? I know I should have checked more carefully, but that really threw me off. 😕

Oh, no! 🙁
Time to open it up and see if anything other than the fuse let the smoke out.

Life isn't long enough to re-enable every hidden option in every BIOS on every board... 🙁

Reply 38971 of 39487, by maestro

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
DSCF9099.jpg
Filename
DSCF9099.jpg
File size
81.63 KiB
Views
508 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

I found a 20" Planar PL201M-BK monitor at the thrift shop the other day. There was no price so I asked and they gave it to me for $6 CAD. Max resolution is 1600x1200 @ 60Hz. It has a finger sized pressure spot in the top-left, just after 'Hardware Monitor', and internal speakers with, strangely, a headphone jack which might be contributing to its unusual weight. It will make a good companion to my second best thrift store find ever...

DSCF9101.jpg
Filename
DSCF9101.jpg
File size
83.24 KiB
Views
508 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

...the illustrious Dell 2001FP, compliments of the Salvation Army, which with humble gratitude I made mine for a miser's price...

DSCF9106.jpg
Filename
DSCF9106.jpg
File size
11.08 KiB
Views
508 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

...Doh!

Reply 38972 of 39487, by Miphee

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
digger wrote on 2021-05-05, 22:33:

Oops. I plugged it in, it ran a few seconds, and then the fuse blew out. I hope nothing else in the system was damaged. 😟
Why would a North American system have warranty notices not only in English and French, but also in German and even in Dutch? I know I should have checked more carefully, but that really threw me off. 😕

Strange. When I accidentally flipped the 115/230 switch on a PSU it blew up instantly.
Any labels indicating that it's indeed a 115V version?

Reply 38973 of 39487, by digger

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Eep386 wrote on 2021-05-06, 02:12:

Oh, no! 🙁
Time to open it up and see if anything other than the fuse let the smoke out.

I didn't smell anything burnt out. What would be a visual way to check for such damage? You might not be able to spot such damage from the outside, right?

Miphee wrote on 2021-05-06, 02:35:

Strange. When I accidentally flipped the 115/230 switch on a PSU it blew up instantly.
Any labels indicating that it's indeed a 115V version?

Yes, on the top of the back label.

IMG_20210505_231830_HDR.jpg
Filename
IMG_20210505_231830_HDR.jpg
File size
1.52 MiB
Views
461 views
File comment
My Tandy 1000 EX, back label
File license
CC-BY-4.0

120V, 60Hz, 0.4A, as you can see on the top of the label.🤦‍♂️I know should have checked it more thoroughly, but the warranty label in four languages on the bottom of the unit really let down my guard. 😳 I mean, come on, why would a unit intended for the North American market contain any warranty notices in German and Dutch?

Shall I open up a separate thread to discuss this further? I opened one on VCFED, but haven't gotten any replies there yet.

Reply 38974 of 39487, by Vegge

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Got some things delivered the day before yesterday.

First out a big box of awesomeness.

IMG_6723s.jpg
Filename
IMG_6723s.jpg
File size
466.52 KiB
Views
390 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

So whats inside you may ask. Well this:

IMG_6725s.jpg
Filename
IMG_6725s.jpg
File size
558.96 KiB
Views
390 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

ALR dual Ppro motherboard, Shuttle single Ppro board, some NICs, Tray for Ppros, coolers, and some other bits. So happy for this box, was on pins and needles waiting for this 😀
The shuttle motherboard comes with an 200/1MB cpu and cooler with a acoustic warning if the fan fails. And it can be upgraded to dual cpu which is awesome Re: Shuttle HOT-613 (Single vs Dual - Pentium Pro):

IMG_6726s.jpg
Filename
IMG_6726s.jpg
File size
601.18 KiB
Views
390 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

A big thanks to the man responsible for this!

Finally an not so retro cpu (i7 870) and some things from Serdashop to play with:

IMG_6727s.jpg
Filename
IMG_6727s.jpg
File size
546.7 KiB
Views
390 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 38975 of 39487, by vad4r

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Saved from the recycler...

2021_05 CPUs.jpg
Filename
2021_05 CPUs.jpg
File size
601.89 KiB
Views
374 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

vae victis!

Reply 38976 of 39487, by devius

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

You can never have too many CPUs 😆

Bought this from a friend for 25€ + shipping, but before you flip out it's non functional, very dirty and the screen is clearly messed up beyond repair. It also emits a weird smell and some kind of grease is leaking from the damaged portion of the screen. Not sure if I can fix it, but I will try someday.

IMG_20210506_182438.jpg
Filename
IMG_20210506_182438.jpg
File size
1.11 MiB
Views
380 views
File comment
IBM Thinkpad 701C
File license
GPL-2.0-or-later

Reply 38977 of 39487, by dataino.it

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Old stuff for my pc

SIPP , WIFI card and same processor

Attachments

Reply 38978 of 39487, by MCGA

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
imi wrote on 2021-05-04, 19:44:

this nice trio of boxes arrived recently :3
I really like the simplicity of the old style gravis boxes
hardware40_25.jpg

What be that Eliminator Gravis? The thing with the card and dial knob? =O

Reply 38979 of 39487, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
MCGA wrote on 2021-05-06, 21:51:
imi wrote on 2021-05-04, 19:44:

this nice trio of boxes arrived recently :3
I really like the simplicity of the old style gravis boxes
hardware40_25.jpg

What be that Eliminator Gravis? The thing with the card and dial knob? =O

It is a dual Gameport card. The little box with the knob is for adjusting to work with different speed computers.

There were two styles of adjustable gameport cards. Those with switches or jumpers and those with adjustment potentiometers like the Gravis Eliminator.

They all pretty much became obsolete as the newer gameports are not speed sensitive.

That being said, I have a bunch of Gameport cards, including a few of the Gravis Eliminator cards.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header
Epstein didn't kill himself