VOGONS


Reply 14220 of 16123, by imi

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Baoran wrote on 2020-02-11, 13:47:
The case that the switch is from is long gone. It was too far rusted to be used. I just thought I could use the switch to test i […]
Show full quote
imi wrote on 2020-02-11, 13:36:

people seriously need to stop doing this ^^

don't let your live wires dangle around in the case, attach that switch to where it belongs.

see also: Electric Shock by AT Power Switch - Bad Power Supply or Bad Wiring?

The case that the switch is from is long gone. It was too far rusted to be used. I just thought I could use the switch to test if any power supplies I come across still work. I know it shouldn't be used like this.
I think I learned my lesson knowing what could have happened if I had been touching the case when I let go of the switch and this happened.
No idea how the motherboard, psu and the other parts survived it though.

the case was probably at least properly grounded, so the current took the shortest path to ground, which was through the case, and not any components.

Reply 14221 of 16123, by TheChexWarrior

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I bought the HP Thin 5720 PC and runned Chex Quest/Dooms(Also Quake 2, Half Life, Unreal 1-beta version too)!!20200208_154323728e71f9184e7d90.jpg20200208_154343d6d2010371f96bb0.jpg
+ Duke Nukem 3D as my first fan art ever!!!!
DukeNukemByNestel44380faaf6e77be4.jpg
https://youtu.be/IP2vWZNqW68

https://www.facebook.com/groups/retrogamerisr … 66554300111314/

Last edited by TheChexWarrior on 2020-02-11, 18:10. Edited 2 times in total.

Reply 14222 of 16123, by TurnedToast

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Today I am realizing I need a serial mouse for my DOS computer and then also realizing how annoying it would be to have multiple peripheral sets for multiple computers. Time for KVM research!

Windows 98 - Socket 370 - 1Ghz Pentium III (Coppermine) - Voodoo 3 3000 - Diamond Vortex2/Soundblaster Live!
DOS - Socket 7 - 233Mhz Pentium MMX

Reply 14223 of 16123, by MrSmiley381

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
TurnedToast wrote on 2020-02-11, 18:03:

Today I am realizing I need a serial mouse for my DOS computer and then also realizing how annoying it would be to have multiple peripheral sets for multiple computers. Time for KVM research!

Let me save you some time! The Belkin Omniview Pro will translate PS/2 input to serial. If you use a USB mouse that also natively translates into PS/2 mode, you will likely need to power it externally. I've done this to run a Microsoft Intellimouse on a Tandy 1000. It's a great feeling!

I spend my days fighting with clunky software so I can afford to spend my evenings fighting with clunky hardware.

Reply 14224 of 16123, by Horun

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Fixed a bad Panasonic JU-475-4 5.25" 1.2Mb floppy drive. Manufacture date on the chips on the board is late 1988 though think the drive is a year newer. Also worked on a Dual Pentium board from my spare NEC, it has some issues still not totally resolved.

Attachments

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣

Reply 14225 of 16123, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Was the alignment off on the FDD? Looks nice and clean. Fabulous job on the floppy drive repair.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.

Reply 14226 of 16123, by MAZter

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Broke my Toshiba 3330V laptop while trying to reset boot/bios password with LPT/Parallel port device 🙁

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WebSYPUN3fo (English version)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQEqXIY7P0I (Russian version)

Doom is what you want (c) MAZter

Reply 14228 of 16123, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
derSammler wrote on 2020-02-12, 09:33:

Cleaned and tested two of my Zip drives only to find that apparently all my Zip100 disks are no longer working...

I keep my ZIP drives around and/or on builds for cosmetic reasons only..

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 14229 of 16123, by PTherapist

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I remember back in the day I wanted to try out Zip drives, but never had one and never got around to buying one. Over the past few years I've ended up acquiring 2 Zip drives, but I've never actually tested them out so I have absolutely no idea if they even still work.

Reply 14230 of 16123, by Bruninho

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I had an Iomega Zip Drive. Can’t remember where I left it... it has been decades

"Design isn't just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
JOBS, Steve.

Reply 14231 of 16123, by dionb

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I keep finding internal Zip drives. Have a little pile I need to test one day. Don't have a sensible use for them though, so I'd agree with appiah4 that they are mainly of cosmetic interest. An external drive can be useful for file transfer, but is hardly more practical than CF cards or a Gotek.

Reply 14232 of 16123, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I actually want to install one of my zip drives into my Dell Dimension XPS D333 - it apparently came with one, but I can't. The bottom floppy drive slot requires some kind of rail mechanism or something of the kind to install a floppy there, so I had to install the floppy where the ZIP drive normally would be. I have no idea what the case I have is lacking, I can't find good detailed interior shots of the Dell Dimension XPS series..

This is the best I can find, and I need whatever it is that is holding the floppy drive secure in that plastic slot, but I have no idea what it is or how I can juryrig something..

inside.jpg

EDIT: Funnily enough maybe the floppy drive somehow sits there without any retaining mechanism? 😒

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 14233 of 16123, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Strange enough, there are not many people on the un-official vogons IRC channel. 🙁 🙁

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.

Reply 14234 of 16123, by Bruninho

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
brostenen wrote on 2020-02-12, 19:01:

Strange enough, there are not many people on the un-official vogons IRC channel. 🙁 🙁

I've been trying to go there some weeks ago, but I forgot to continue due to work constraints. I'll try to be more active there starting this week

"Design isn't just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
JOBS, Steve.

Reply 14235 of 16123, by Horun

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
bjwil1991 wrote on 2020-02-12, 02:54:

Was the alignment off on the FDD? Looks nice and clean. Fabulous job on the floppy drive repair.

It was the internal cable connectors (there are five counting front LED), they had some film that ISO alc cleaned up well. Think it was mostly the head and stepper motor ones that caused seek errors. Lubed it and let it doing a dozen seeks (set bios to floppy seek) to get the parts moving freely after a few (5+) years in storage then finally booted off a 1.2mb dos 6 floppy and it works great again. Cleaned it best I could. It has one of those odd tan bezels, not white or beige but a true tan color.

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣

Reply 14236 of 16123, by xtgold

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

fixed a 25 year old floppy with diskfix and was able to copy an old shareware wolf3d to the hardrive.
It was from back when you could edit and add your own gifs to the shareware version ,so it was all new levels with adult pictures as the wallpaper.(original author unknown)
Also got my infinity machine working with pci sound card.The emm386 needed for the sblive was killing the search function in i.m.I had to add novcpi after the noems in the emm386 line.
I have to scan all new tables but at least it works now.

Reply 14237 of 16123, by yourepicfailure

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Zip drive? My D600 still has its mediabay Zip drive, and works perfectly. I actually use it as a convenient method of file transfer from my main (with usb powered 250) to this machine.
d600zip8861127c83cdb57b.png

Otherwise, I just completed this little guy. Very similar in hardware to the D600 and once I get the PCI SCSI controller to play well, it will drive the Polaroid HR6000 film recorder underneath it.
minipentium5033a6ea7d906b23.md.png

I'll probably build an actual case once all the hardware is working properly. The board is an Epox IP-4MTS2B 5.25" with a Pentium M 735 and a gig of ram.
This is probably not the most ideal and correct way to power it, but it works fine for now.
It's got Nvidia FX5500 PCI as I'm using it as a test bench of sorts. Still need to find out which port is the floppy and what adapter I'd need.

Reply 14238 of 16123, by stoof

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
yourepicfailure wrote on 2020-02-13, 03:43:

... Polaroid HR6000 film recorder ...

I had to look this one up; what a wonderfully obsolete piece of kit. 😀
http://w3.marietta.edu/~mcshaffd/macro/pfilmrec.html
"It is usually easier to lug a tray of slides and a slide projector around (and find a place to plug it in) than it is to carry a laptop and a projection unit, plug them (and the mouse) in, untangle all the cords, boot the system, defragment the hard drive, remove the viruses, find the file - you get the picture."

Also, the mediabay zip-drive is cool, never seen that before.

Reply 14239 of 16123, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Finally got my 20GB HDD on my 40GB HDD for my ThinkPad R40 successfully after so many trial and errors since Sunday night. I had to use Hiren's Boot CD and run Mini XP, the Partition Wizard Home Edition 7, remove the partition that wasn't working correctly, and copied the partition over from the 20GB HDD to the 40GB HDD with the drive set to primary and MBR, along with resizing to 40GB. After that, I set the partition to active, applied the changes, rebooted, and it booted from the HDD. Runs quicker than before, but was a bit sluggish at times, but after doing some space cleaning and defragmentation, it runs very well.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.