NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-06 @ 06:11

Horun wrote:I would be interested cyclone3d, please PM me with the contact info, thanks !


You have a PM.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3570
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby PC Hoarder Patrol » 2019-11-06 @ 07:14

@cyclone3d, cheers for the manual (if the spiral effect irks, edit SP_NOTE.GIF in the IMAGES directory to remove it) - also would mind contact info as well thanks.
User avatar
PC Hoarder Patrol
Member
 
Posts: 419
Joined: 2018-3-04 @ 19:59

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby chinny22 » 2019-11-06 @ 13:49

Ah man would go nice with my duel PPro from last years haul.
Damn the Atlantic!
User avatar
chinny22
l33t
 
Posts: 2586
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby feipoa » 2019-11-06 @ 22:13

I count 32 units, but the seller said he would pick the best 20 as some have cracked bezels. He said that some have one CPU only, but I'm assuming that the board still has two CPU sockets?

CPUShack on CPU-World may be willing to buy the lot if there is sufficient interest. If each case is 35 lbs, that's a 700 lbs palette. cyclone3d, would you be willing to weigh your unit? So probably from $500-$1000 to ship to Oregon. Then the cost to buy the lot, then reshipping.

Is there sufficient interest in this? I don't know what the cost of the product would be, possibly $75+ shipping, maybe more, maybe less. Anyone in interested?
Attachments
s-l1600-3.jpg
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6770
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-06 @ 22:59

Mine is supposed to arrive tomorrow. I'll weight it and let you know.

Pretty sure that all the boards will have 2 sockets regardless. IF the system originally came with the 200Mhz Pentium, it should also have the full 512KB L2 cache. 256KB onboard and 256KB on w COAST type board from what I gather. I'll update in a bit as my spare board and PSU did arrive today. I just got home and haven't had a chance to even open up the package yet.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3570
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-06 @ 23:01

PC Hoarder Patrol wrote:@cyclone3d, cheers for the manual (if the spiral effect irks, edit SP_NOTE.GIF in the IMAGES directory to remove it) - also would mind contact info as well thanks.


The formatting is all correct IF you set your screen resolution to 1024x768. So no need to mess with it at all really.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3570
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby PC Hoarder Patrol » 2019-11-06 @ 23:24

Ooh!, much dual socket goodness :cool: , though I count 36 @feipoa

Weight-wise, the ZDS page says 51 lbs without drives

@cyclone3d, thanks for the PM and formatting was spot on but the spirals were just another distraction for my poor eyesight :depressed:
User avatar
PC Hoarder Patrol
Member
 
Posts: 419
Joined: 2018-3-04 @ 19:59

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cpushack » 2019-11-06 @ 23:33

feipoa Let me know about this opportunity, and I dont mind helping out (I do this sort of stuff all day for cpu-world.com members already)
It would be easiest to get them all on one pallet (its pretty cheap to ship)
I am in Klamath Falls, OR 97603 and generally can ship worldwide
cpushack
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2019-11-06 @ 23:17

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby feipoa » 2019-11-06 @ 23:41

Each case is 40 lbs, according to the seller.

Sorry, yes, I'm guessing 36.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6770
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby PC Hoarder Patrol » 2019-11-06 @ 23:48

Think my interest would be in a fully kitted (spare?) board only, as while I'd love a full unit I suspect cost + shipping to Europe would be unrealistic - if not then as long as such neat kit get saved by you guys I'm happy.

Weight is from here

https://web.archive.org/web/19970517193830/http://www.zds.com/support/product_info/servers/5_3b1.html
User avatar
PC Hoarder Patrol
Member
 
Posts: 419
Joined: 2018-3-04 @ 19:59

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby feipoa » 2019-11-06 @ 23:51

That link suggests it weighs 50.82 lbs, yet the seller said they are 40 lbs each.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6770
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-07 @ 01:55

Here are some pics of the motherboard.

1. Socket 5.. not 7 as I thought. I wasn't aware that there were 200Mhz Pentiums in Socket 5 format.
2. No onboard IDE
3. Dallas chip is socketed
4. Zenith Data Systems branded motherboard
motherboard.jpg

MB_model.jpg

Socket_5.jpg

COAST_and_IO.jpg

COAST_sticker.jpg
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3570
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby feipoa » 2019-11-07 @ 02:10

Onboard SCSI though, and onboard diskette controller. Is the battery mod procedure for the DS1587 the same as the DS12887? I'm glad its socketed at least.

cyclone3d wrote:1. Socket 5.. not 7 as I thought. I wasn't aware that there were 200Mhz Pentiums in Socket 5 format.

yeah, curious. Do your Pentium 200's overheat at all? Run any stability tests?

I've never owned an EISA board. Can we use ISA cards in EISA slots?

Did you use cachechk to see that the system is identifying 512K of cache?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6770
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby Horun » 2019-11-07 @ 02:35

feipoa wrote:I've never owned an EISA board. Can we use ISA cards in EISA slots?

Yes you can ! EISA cards can be a PIA to configure sometimes but is somewhat precursor to PCI with 32bit bus versus ISA 16bit.
First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. lol
Horun
Member
 
Posts: 224
Joined: 2019-9-19 @ 02:19
Location: USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-07 @ 02:47

feipoa wrote:Onboard SCSI though, and onboard diskette controller. Is the battery mod procedure for the DS1587 the same as the DS12887? I'm glad its socketed at least.

cyclone3d wrote:1. Socket 5.. not 7 as I thought. I wasn't aware that there were 200Mhz Pentiums in Socket 5 format.

yeah, curious. Do your Pentium 200's overheat at all? Run any stability tests?

I've never owned an EISA board. Can we use ISA cards in EISA slots?

Did you use cachechk to see that the system is identifying 512K of cache?


The html manual from the packard bell archive says that adding the COAST module upgrades it to 512K cache and it comes stock when it has the 200Mhz Pentium CPUs.

I haven't actually tested it yet though. Will do in a bit. Curious to see what options are in the BIOS.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3570
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby feipoa » 2019-11-07 @ 03:54

Any idea what that power trends module is for?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6770
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-11-07 @ 04:11

Well, not sure what I am missing other than the jumper page doesn't show anything about what the power switch hooks to.

Guess I'll have to wait till the system itself actually gets here to test out the spare board.

I think the power trends module is the voltage regulator for the CPUs? :confused:

It also looks like there might be a place to install an IDE header right next to where the power supply plugs in but it is marked reserved in the diagram of the board.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3570
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby PC Hoarder Patrol » 2019-11-07 @ 06:30

Think there are a few systems which may have used revisions / OEM versions of this board (Data General had a very similar looking server, the AViiON AV 2000).

Anyway, @cyclone3d, you're missing the LED /Switch Board Cable Assembly (#13 in the Parts > Exploded View in Z-CD and in the sellers case pic next to the front fan) and common on Intel chassis, which plugs into the connection block (CN4?) next to the floppy connector. Please map the actual pinouts when your case arrives.

@feipoa. think the DS1587 (which is bios function compatible with the DS1287/12887) will take the battery mod although the DS1587 is a 28 rather than 24 pin DIP module and also has an auxiliary battery pinout should board makers choose to use it. Also now supports programmable timer functions.

ds1585_ds1587.pdf
(1.04 MiB) Downloaded 11 times


Would agree that EISA can be frustrating at times, but it's why I'm interested in the board (EISA, not the frustration :lol: ) - PCI / dual cpu is just a bonus.
User avatar
PC Hoarder Patrol
Member
 
Posts: 419
Joined: 2018-3-04 @ 19:59

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby H3nrik V! » 2019-11-07 @ 07:10

feipoa wrote:Any idea what that power trends module is for?

https://media.digikey.com/pdf/Data%20Sh ... Series.pdf

According to datasheet it is a 5 to 3.3V DC-DC converter. Probably for the CPU?
H3nrik V!
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 2019-3-25 @ 16:00
Location: Denmark, Naestved

Re: NEC Proserva V Plus (dual socket 7 system) (have a lead on multiple of these)

Postby kwyjibo » 2019-11-07 @ 07:18

feipoa wrote:I count 32 units, but the seller said he would pick the best 20 as some have cracked bezels. He said that some have one CPU only, but I'm assuming that the board still has two CPU sockets?

CPUShack on CPU-World may be willing to buy the lot if there is sufficient interest. If each case is 35 lbs, that's a 700 lbs palette. cyclone3d, would you be willing to weigh your unit? So probably from $500-$1000 to ship to Oregon. Then the cost to buy the lot, then reshipping.

Is there sufficient interest in this? I don't know what the cost of the product would be, possibly $75+ shipping, maybe more, maybe less. Anyone in interested?


I am interested. I know shipping to Europe will be expensive, but personally, it is worth the money for me.
User avatar
kwyjibo
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2009-9-20 @ 09:14
Location: Cartagena, Spain

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Horun, Maeslin, pete8475, Repo Man11 and 11 guests