VOGONS


First post, by Mazinfriki

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi all,

I've kept all of my old pcs since the 90's and past week I started making some maintenance on them.

When I reached my k6-2 machine and after adding a card to the system I got an "Updating ESCD" message. Waited for a few minutes and ended up resseting the machine.
After reset I got no post - just a blank screen. I tried removing all of the cards, HDD, FDD and the board still not boots. After removing memory I got a series of continuous long beeps (at least there's some life on it) but I couldn't get to the bios menu, so I imagine it could be a case of bios corruption.

I swapped CPU with another K6 and a pentium but nothing happens. Motherboard is an Iwill P55xub; I still have the manual from it and found the reset CMOS jumper; after resseting it usually throws long beeps or five short beeps. Changing memory slots causes the system to emmit beeps or not.

I wanted to re-flash the bios to see if it's the problem but I found an additional problem: It uses a 40 pin bios (intel p28f002bc) and I don't have any other pc for flashing it (back in the day I made hot swapping when I faced this problem). Doing a search on internet I didn't find a programer compatible with this bios. Does anybody know about one that works with that bios? I loved that pc 😀

Reply 1 of 12, by zyga64

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Probaby you can use any generic 2MBit Flash (with 256k x 8bit organization). Programer of choice is ofcourse TL866 😀

Do you have another graphics card (ISA, PCI) and good known PSU to check before ?
ISA/PCI POST card is also nice-to-have for diagnosing.

1) VLSI SCAMP /286@20 /4MB /CL-GD5422 /CMI8330
2) i420EX /486DX33 /16MB /TGUI9440 /YMF718+GUS
3) i430HX /P233MMX /64MB /VirgeDX+3DFX /AWE32
4) i440BX /P!!!750 /256MB /MX440 /SBLive!+Vibra16s
5) i865G /E5800 /2GB /Ti4200 /YMF724

Reply 2 of 12, by Shreddoc

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Mazinfriki wrote on 2021-06-14, 12:11:

I still have the manual from it and found the reset CMOS jumper; after resseting it usually throws long beeps or five short beeps.

What does the manual say those "beep codes" represent? I think 5 short = possible CPU failure.

Are the physical basics all good e.g. good CMOS battery, CPU heatsink + fan?

Reply 3 of 12, by Mazinfriki

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I'll have to check it as I don't have it here but if I remember well the manual does not contain the beep codes. Anyway I tested it with three different CPU.

Reply 4 of 12, by Mazinfriki

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
zyga64 wrote on 2021-06-15, 07:50:

Probaby you can use any generic 2MBit Flash (with 256k x 8bit organization). Programer of choice is ofcourse TL866 😀

Do you have another graphics card (ISA, PCI) and good known PSU to check before ?
ISA/PCI POST card is also nice-to-have for diagnosing.

TL866 doesn't have this eeprom in its supperted list, that's why I'm asking in case anyone has used this or another programmer. Don't want to buy one and see it's not compatible 🙁

Battery is brand new. I've tested several PCI cards and two different power supplies; I think I also have a ISA vga - I'll test the machine with it, too.

Reply 5 of 12, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

What about the compatibility list for the TL866 II or their even newer one?

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header

Reply 6 of 12, by Mazinfriki

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
cyclone3d wrote on 2021-06-15, 16:54:

What about the compatibility list for the TL866 II or their even newer one?

I meant TL866 II. There are several intel chips with similar names but not specifically that one.

I have no knowledge about those programmes so I don't know if you can add a "custom" chip based on its datasheet... is this possible?

There's almost no information about it apart of the datasheet and a post in this forums from other user.

I found this adapter https://www.sivava.com/index.php?route=produc … t&product_id=23 it mentions willem eeprom programmer. That programmer seems to be more expensive than others so it would cost me more than a new board 🙁

Reply 7 of 12, by zyga64

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

This Intel flash is somewhat specific (12V programming voltage, bootblock position and size etc.). In this crossreference i.e. there is no direct replacements from SST.
You mentioned that you have user manual for this board. Please check if you can use another flash instead.
I remember that on Socket 7 Shuttle boards there was jumper for choosing type of flash memory marked as 5V/12V or Intel Flash/something else...
There were even different BIOS for different flash chips.

BTW. I have TL866A and Willem programer 😀 Willem is connected through parallel LPT port. So your computer must have LPT port.

1) VLSI SCAMP /286@20 /4MB /CL-GD5422 /CMI8330
2) i420EX /486DX33 /16MB /TGUI9440 /YMF718+GUS
3) i430HX /P233MMX /64MB /VirgeDX+3DFX /AWE32
4) i440BX /P!!!750 /256MB /MX440 /SBLive!+Vibra16s
5) i865G /E5800 /2GB /Ti4200 /YMF724

Reply 8 of 12, by Mazinfriki

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
zyga64 wrote on 2021-06-17, 08:20:
This Intel flash is somewhat specific (12V programming voltage, bootblock position and size etc.). In this crossreference i.e. t […]
Show full quote

This Intel flash is somewhat specific (12V programming voltage, bootblock position and size etc.). In this crossreference i.e. there is no direct replacements from SST.
You mentioned that you have user manual for this board. Please check if you can use another flash instead.
I remember that on Socket 7 Shuttle boards there was jumper for choosing type of flash memory marked as 5V/12V or Intel Flash/something else...
There were even different BIOS for different flash chips.

BTW. I have TL866A and Willem programer 😀 Willem is connected through parallel LPT port. So your computer must have LPT port.

Thank you I'll take a good look at the manual.
LPT should not be a problem as I have lots of other old pc's.

Reply 9 of 12, by Mazinfriki

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
zyga64 wrote on 2021-06-17, 08:20:

BTW. I have TL866A and Willem programer 😀 Willem is connected through parallel LPT port. So your computer must have LPT port.

Hi zyga64,

I've checked with the manual and it states nothing about changing the bios and the board does not have any unrecognized jumpers.

You mention this bios has specific features. I don't know much about programmers. Do you think it's theoretically possible to use TL866A to use it with this chip directly?

Reply 10 of 12, by zyga64

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I'm afraid that choosing another similiar memory type may not work in this case 🙁
You may try however to buy another similiar supported memory like AM29F002 or M29F002 or AT49F002 with "top" bootblock location and try to use it.

What else comes to my mind. If bootsector isn't broken, you may prepare MS-DOS bootdisc with:
- awdflash/amiflash/uniflash ( regarding to BIOS type)
- actual working bios image
- 'autoexec bat' with one command, which will start flashing program with bios image as a parameter and the rest...

Attachments

  • am29f002.PNG
    Filename
    am29f002.PNG
    File size
    37.02 KiB
    Views
    126 views
    File license
    Public domain

1) VLSI SCAMP /286@20 /4MB /CL-GD5422 /CMI8330
2) i420EX /486DX33 /16MB /TGUI9440 /YMF718+GUS
3) i430HX /P233MMX /64MB /VirgeDX+3DFX /AWE32
4) i440BX /P!!!750 /256MB /MX440 /SBLive!+Vibra16s
5) i865G /E5800 /2GB /Ti4200 /YMF724

Reply 11 of 12, by Mazinfriki

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
zyga64 wrote on 2021-06-20, 11:04:
You may try however to buy another similiar supported memory like AM29F002 or M29F002 or AT49F002 with "top" bootblock location […]
Show full quote

You may try however to buy another similiar supported memory like AM29F002 or M29F002 or AT49F002 with "top" bootblock location and try to use it.

What else comes to my mind. If bootsector isn't broken, you may prepare MS-DOS bootdisc with:
- awdflash/amiflash/uniflash ( regarding to BIOS type)
- actual working bios image
- 'autoexec bat' with one command, which will start flashing program with bios image as a parameter and the rest...

Those chips you mention are 32 pin chips. Do you mean plugging them directly without an adapter?

I have a couple of 32 pin bios chips (not sure if these ones). If I plug them and test would there be any damage to motherboard/chip?

Is there any key combination for invoking bootblock before reading the rest of the bios?

Reply 12 of 12, by zyga64

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Oops... You are right. Pinout is totally different. Shame on me...
They "may" work on your board with oposite adapter (to this Willem one).

I don't know about bootblock keyboard shortcuts 🙁
I only remember that for some older Toshiba laptops there was LPT/Parallel plug for invoking flashing from bootblock (on bricked laptop).

For this moment I'm out of ideas...

1) VLSI SCAMP /286@20 /4MB /CL-GD5422 /CMI8330
2) i420EX /486DX33 /16MB /TGUI9440 /YMF718+GUS
3) i430HX /P233MMX /64MB /VirgeDX+3DFX /AWE32
4) i440BX /P!!!750 /256MB /MX440 /SBLive!+Vibra16s
5) i865G /E5800 /2GB /Ti4200 /YMF724