VOGONS

Common searches


Bought this (Modern) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 1420 of 1433, by chris2021

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Yeah ain't that something??? What a rude, course sort of ruffian I am!

IBM x350 quad p3/xeon board:

s-l1600(61).jpg
Filename
s-l1600(61).jpg
File size
245.56 KiB
Views
229 views
File license
Public domain

Intel S4600lh quad xeon e5-4600 v2 family:

s-l1600(61).jpg
Filename
s-l1600(61).jpg
File size
245.56 KiB
Views
229 views
File license
Public domain

Mind you the Intel board really really should be mounted in it's own chassis, being exceptionally non industry standard. (and it's bloody huge). 2 ancillary boards are readily available on eBay (only 1 nos/ob mobo left), a pci-e riser, and a power distribution board, which I bought. The pci-e riser is optional I presume, maybe even the power board, but better safe then sorry. Do I have everything I need? There's also a trusted platform module available, but for now ill presume it's also optional. Ve vill see ...

I have (briefly) corresponded with a guy who posted a video on video, having bought the whole server, s2208lt2hkc4. Getting the kind of help I may need is a little hard. Again we'll see. I'll make it work somehow.

Attachments

  • s-l1600(60).jpg
    Filename
    s-l1600(60).jpg
    File size
    276.41 KiB
    Views
    229 views
    File license
    Public domain
Last edited by chris2021 on 2022-01-11, 06:15. Edited 2 times in total.

Reply 1421 of 1433, by chris2021

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

The IBM board persists in showing itself twice, the 2nd time where it shouldn't be. The Intel board shows up at the end. I tried to fix it, but it won't obey.

Reply 1422 of 1433, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Man, that ibm board is SO CLOSE to being "ATX". It looks like it needs the 12/5 processors. I assume you have the massive memory board?

I got really fortunate with my quad slot-2. They at least pretended to make it atx shaped.

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Reply 1423 of 1433, by chris2021

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Some of the holes may mirror atx. But the dimensions are way bigger.

Memory board? What memory board? Crap now he tells me.

Let me guess, it mounts in the lower left corner?

I will point out the board seems to take a 24 pin atx power connector, similar to my Intel scb2 dual piii (non-xeon) server board.

Reply 1425 of 1433, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

The same trap I fel into when I started.

Unless SPECIFICALLY stated it is standard, it's not. Also, It's all just decorative, unless you get the whole system.

And that's how I fell in love with Tyan and Supermicro.

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Reply 1426 of 1433, by chris2021

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I was under no delusion that either of these boards were standard in any way. Hence the challenge. But personally I prefer an actual intel server board first, followed by ibm. Nothing against other companies. My most modern build has a Supermicro lga2066 board.

A guy was selling non xeon dual piii rigs made by SM last April at the vcfed-e swap meet. I've known him for years. Don't know why I passed on 1 at least. Knowing him he still has them though.

Reply 1427 of 1433, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I'm actually waiting for a cheap 2011 v3/4 setup to come by. Used prices for anything are nucking futs since the coof has made thing what they are.

I was thinking about a new single socket board. But with the announcement of AMD's new socket with ddr5... now is NOT the time to buy any new setup.

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Reply 1428 of 1433, by chris2021

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I'm often tempted to buy something newer. My current xeon isn't old at least not by my reckoning. It's just not sota. Sure was 4 years ago ... the cpu was in fact pulled from a 6000$ iMac pro.

But newer intel boards and chips certainly are tempting. I'm a fan boy for the time being. I'll hold.off for a good while though. I have yet another build in the works. Not new. But with 4 x 8 core chips, it's nothing to sneeze at. The mobo can also take 1.5tb of ram. Ddr3 though. That's the only downside in my mind.

Reply 1429 of 1433, by luckybob

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I've gotten spoiled with my 2011v1 setup, its dual sockets and 128gb of ram. I'm in classes for cybersecurity and having a workstation capable of multiple simultaneous VMs is quite the bragging right. I don't really game too much, which is a waste of the 6900xt I got myself for Christmas. the only downside is the hacked bios I created to enable NVME booting. (pci-e adapter) I can't warm boot the system with win10. 😜

I think 2011v4 will be my last dual cpu system. I've used dual cpu since pentium 4. I loved the prestige of workstation systems. Maybe I'll go single socket threadripper?

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Reply 1430 of 1433, by chris2021

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Some people would have us believe multiple cpu systems will be phased out. The way I see it the need to make as much processing power as possible fit into a single box isn't going away. But what do I know.

Back when I found I bought my lga2066 mobo, you had to have the c422 chipset to run xeons. X299 was the chipset for i5,i7,i9. Now mobos are somewhat interchangeable as I understand it. The first board I foolishly passed up was an msi x299board, that wouldn't support i9s. About 50$ after the rebate. I was hoping to be outfitted with the best. But i9s were 500$+/-. Wasn't likely to happen. My w-2140b cost around 210$, and not a speed demon (3.2ghz, 8c/16t), it sure beat the price of an i9. Made possible by a nearly half off sale on the SM mobo. And cheap ram. Those were the days (2019). Man I can't wait for this covid nonsense to blow over. And there's a republican back in the WH. There's no mistaking when times are good.

Reply 1431 of 1433, by ODwilly

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Setup a temporary PC. Athlon 3000G, 8gb of ram and a R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro on an a-320 Asus board with a Samsung 870 Evo 1tb SSD. It's. . .an abomination, didn't feel like spending the extra $40 on a case, so it's a Dell Dimension 4600.

Main pc: Asus ROG laptop. I7-6700HQ, GTX 960M 4gb, 16gb DDR4.
Retro PC: Soyo P4S Dragon, 3gb ddr 266, 120gb Maxtor, Geforce Fx 5950 Ultra, SB Live! 5.1

Reply 1432 of 1433, by chris2021

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

So the xseries 350 memory boards aren't exactly scarce. Finding 1 at the right price could be a bit challenging. A guy in Israel had 1 with a gig of ram for 35$ shipped. But it sold.

Reply 1433 of 1433, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
ODwilly wrote on 2022-01-14, 08:17:

Setup a temporary PC. Athlon 3000G, 8gb of ram and a R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro on an a-320 Asus board with a Samsung 870 Evo 1tb SSD. It's. . .an abomination, didn't feel like spending the extra $40 on a case, so it's a Dell Dimension 4600.

OK, That is a weird PC 🤣, Post photos please 😀

(Normal people ask for nudes we ask for case photos..)

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.