VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by xjas

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Looking to pick up a cheap SSD to run my daily driver laptop. It has a 1TB spinny disk in it right now, which, to be honest, is too damn big. I have WAY too much stuff on it, I don't remember what 80% of it was or why it's on there, and I wanna wipe & reinstall the OS anyway. I was thinking to put a small SSD in for daily use and just use the former HDD as offload storage.

I can basically buy a 120-128GB SSD new for less than I can find one used, but I have no experience with these and don't know what to look out for.

Here are the candidates:
DogFish 128GB - $44
Silicon Power 120GB - $44
Kingston A400 120GB - $43 - leaning towards this one due to name recognition more than anything else
PNY 120GB - $48
Kingston UV400 120GB - $48 (is this a better model than the A400?)

There are a few other comparible ones from brands I've never heard of, like KingDian, TeamGroup, Adata, and a few offerings from HP, WD & Mushkin for $10-15 more. Sandisk, Samsung & Crucial start in the $60+ range so they're out.

Any opinions on these?

Edit: a Crucial MX100 256GB popped up local to me used in the same price range. Any reason not to go for a Crucial?

Last edited by xjas on 2018-07-15, 02:51. Edited 1 time in total.

twitch.tv/oldskooljay - playing the obscure, forgotten & weird - most Tuesdays & Thursdays @ 6:30 PM PDT. Bonus streams elsewhen!

Reply 1 of 9, by ODwilly

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

From first hand experience I would suggest the PNY drives. Have bought a handful for people and they have been very reliable and fast. There is a Team group 3D NAND 120gb drive I picked up for $38 recently. Slower than the PNY drives but so far so good.

Not sure about the Kingston drives, couple years back they had a HORRIBLE batch of budget drives that soured me on suggesting them. Just look at reviews and if there are lots of reports of early failures then avoid.