dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby TeddyTheBear » 2019-4-11 @ 05:14

Just saw Microsoft released the DirectX Engineering Specs.
https://github.com/Microsoft/DirectX-Specs
TeddyTheBear
Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2013-6-30 @ 22:59

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby awgamer » 2019-4-11 @ 09:09

Unless they recently changed it or limited by dgvoodoo somehow, RTSS lets you arbitrarily set the frame rate limit to whatever desired.
awgamer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 575
Joined: 2014-7-26 @ 07:42

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby xMrAx » 2019-4-14 @ 03:18

Been playing Enclave recently. It appears that the torch lighting is fixed, but some textures turn black when the torch is in certain positions. (Most noticeable in the sewers in the first level). Not sure if this is related to dgVoodoo or something else.

Also Windows seems to think dgVoodoo is a trojan again with the latest version.

Edit: Found some footage of the original Xbox version and it appears to have a similar issue with the black textures. I figure it is the game then if a console is also showing the same issue.

Edit 2: I've submitted the file to the windows defender team to hopefully get Windows to stop recognizing the file as a false positive.

Edit 3: Just heard back from Microsoft. In the next definition update they will stop flagging dgVoodoo as a trojan.
xMrAx
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-4-14 @ 03:15

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby KainXVIII » 2019-4-15 @ 22:30

Buggy shadows in Escape from Monkey Island with latest version (even without resolution forcing)..
Monkey4 Screenshot 2019.04.16 - 01.27.58.67.png
User avatar
KainXVIII
Member
 
Posts: 341
Joined: 2015-5-20 @ 15:04
Location: Yaroslavl

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Srtest » 2019-4-16 @ 02:17

Hello.

Using latest wip (switching to the official ver doesn't help), I get this white garbage in Vampire the Masquerade - Redemption (also effecting in-game rendering) whenever I use dgvoodoo. I can get the game to work without it only that some time ago I had much better results with using it and using the driver straight-up doesn't work that good and sometimes not at all. This happens when I use 16 bit texture bit depth because 32 bit doesn't work at all with dgvoodoo.

I'm playing on an AMD R9 380 with driver ver 19.2 and the only thing inside dgvoodoo which helps technically but not really as the framerate is horrible is switching to warp on the driver level. I have tried any config possible and it doesn't change anything about this (including in the amd driver).
Attachments
004.jpg
Srtest
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-4-16 @ 02:00

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Daninthemix » 2019-4-28 @ 10:24

How do you use this for DX10 games? I tried renaming DgVoodoo's D3D8.dll to D3D10.dll and that doesn't work.
Daninthemix
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2019-2-07 @ 20:51

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RJ8 » 2019-4-28 @ 10:48

DX10 isnt supported
RJ8
Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby antrad » 2019-5-03 @ 08:57

I have a weird problem with Escape From Monkey Island with version 2.55.4. When I force resolution to 1280x960 and set centered scaling the framerate drops down to 36. It's nothing game breaking, but it's weird. I have not noticed any shadow issues though, but I only just got to the second island. (Windows 7, AMD card).
User avatar
antrad
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2018-2-18 @ 22:36

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Arklay » 2019-5-12 @ 17:03

Force 21
with dgv2: "Could not initialize game!
without dgv2: black screen with music

inside f21 log
"It is not possible to create a D3D window with a hardware DirectDraw device. Check the mIsPrimary flag before calling D3DAppWindow.
InitializeRenderer() failed.
Display::Initialize() failed."


Dominant Species
with dgv2: only in game screen without menu, black bar in the left screen
without dgv2: only in game screen without menu, black bar in the left screen

insiede the ds log
"Initializing InputHandler
Initializing string localization code.
SetupSubsystems successful!
Renderer::Window() failed during CreateZBuffer() in file D:\Develop\common\renderer\renderer.cpp at line 976
Error = "Action not supported."
ouch! couldn't get hardware to initialize properly, try software
you know, many cards don't support hardware in a window...
selected 8bit palettized as the default texture format
ColorToValue() : Unknown bit depth (32)


Both games developed by Red Storm Interactive. These games share the same engine.
Attachments
Dominant Species.jpg
Dominant Species
Force 21.jpg
Force 21
Force 21.jpg (11.15 KiB) Viewed 924 times
Arklay
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2015-3-21 @ 15:01

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby ZellSF » 2019-5-12 @ 19:03

ZellSF wrote:Force 21 works perfectly with resolution forcing (usually limited to 800x600), but I had to hex edit the main exe to point to dgdraw.dll and rename dgVoodoo2's ddraw.dll to dgdraw.dll to get it to work.

Since Dominant Species uses the same engine, you'll have to do the same. Both those games definitely work with dgVoodoo.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Arklay » 2019-5-12 @ 20:09

Thanks, only F21 has a "problem" with a pink arrow, it can be removed with "GeForce FX 5700 Ultra" setting. Fast Video Memory Access has been selected for the ati white textures bug.
Attachments
setting for f21.jpg
dp ok.jpg
dp ok
f21 pink arrow.jpg
f21 pink arrow
Arklay
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2015-3-21 @ 15:01

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby teleguy » 2019-5-14 @ 19:31

Problem with resolution forcing in Jedi Knight. Seems to also apply to the unmodded version.

https://www.gog.com/forum/star_wars_dar ... all/page12
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 440
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Shing » 2019-5-14 @ 20:26

Thanks Dege for dgVoodoo. I just released my BF1942 graphics mod and dgVoodoo helped in many ways, so i was thinking about reporting these things.

Interestingly lightmaps are working on ships now. Idk what is causing it, never seen it from Geforce4 GPU/WinXP to modern GPU. But with dgVoodoo the lightmaps are loaded.

It removes stutters. As i modded the game i thought i ran into an engine limit, because it started to stutter. With dgVoodoo it's totally playable.

Also ReShade works perfectly now. The only bug is that it's crashing after 2 map loads. The game reloads everything when it loads a map and seems like dgVoodoo can't handle it too many times. Everything works perfectly if i load a second map, but at a third load it crashes.

Edit: Also everything is with the latest WIP59.1, but i think recent versions all worked in the same way.
Shing
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2016-9-19 @ 10:23

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RoyBatty » 2019-5-15 @ 02:59

DX10 Support would actually be great for Bioshock and STALKER: Clear Sky since microsoft broke it not long after those games released.
User avatar
RoyBatty
Oldbie
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 2009-8-22 @ 11:37

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Peixoto » 2019-5-15 @ 12:22

RoyBatty wrote:DX10 Support would actually be great for Bioshock and STALKER: Clear Sky since microsoft broke it not long after those games released.


Really ? because i've just played bioshock a few weeks ago.
User avatar
Peixoto
Member
 
Posts: 247
Joined: 2013-6-13 @ 23:48

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby batterymandark » 2019-5-15 @ 15:10

RoyBatty wrote:DX10 Support would actually be great for Bioshock and STALKER: Clear Sky since microsoft broke it not long after those games released.



I indeed also is a bit confused by that? if you mean broken as in performance problem , than i can't clarify that, but DirectX 10 is supported just fine, same with Crysis in DirectX10, its runs fine.
in Windows 10 from my side at least.
batterymandark
Newbie
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 2013-9-14 @ 08:20

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2019-5-15 @ 15:49

Broke it for WINDOWS VISTA / 7 ;) (with the release of SP1 update)

No problem on Windows 8/8.1/10.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RoyBatty » 2019-5-15 @ 17:17

It would not run for me, audio was broken, I had to remove the update that broke it then it worked fine.
User avatar
RoyBatty
Oldbie
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 2009-8-22 @ 11:37

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2019-5-16 @ 08:59

Audio? Audio is via OpenAL, so you can simply download Soft OpenAL, put the DLL in the root dir of CS and select it in the audio menu.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby RoyBatty » 2019-5-16 @ 14:28

Tried it, no menu.
User avatar
RoyBatty
Oldbie
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 2009-8-22 @ 11:37

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lowenz and 4 guests