VOGONS


First post, by umisery

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Happens no matter what settings I use, default or not.

How the game is meant to look: https://imgur.com/a/HZOcBMz

How the game looks with dgVoodoo2: https://imgur.com/a/YncCkI6

Let me know what if there's any other information I can provide 😀

Reply 2 of 16, by umisery

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote on 2022-04-02, 13:11:

What about D3D12? It works for me with the latest dgv as expected.

It seems to works in D3D12! But there's a lot of stuttering in that mode for some reason. How come it doesn't work properly in D3D11?

Reply 3 of 16, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

You probably have an AMD card:

http://dege.fw.hu/dgVoodoo2/ReadmeGeneral/#direct3d12

dgVoodoo D3D11 is broken with AMD GPU's (DirectX modules). I got a ton of reports complaining about solid colored polygons instead of textured ones. This problem seems to affect all GCN 2 and newer GPU's and I cannot do anything about fixing it. I don't have a clue what change in my code broke it and AMD probably won't fix their drivers so I don't care about it all anymore.
On the other hand, according to the feedback I got, D3D12 works as expected so this is your best bet on AMD hardware.

AMD issues with dgVoodoo

It'd be great to "fix" it (altough the problem is not on my side), but I don't know what AMD architecture is the minimum to reproduce the issue.
Even the stuttering is strange. I could only test this game on my tablet so far but didn't notice problems. Need to test on my main machine.

Reply 8 of 16, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Indeed... 😁
I can reproduce the issue on my nvidia card, it's not the AMD problem.

It turns out that the bug in fact is in the game: it calls into DX to get a pointer to vertex buffer data and expects that FPU stack remain preserved. While this expectation works in practice with MS D3D9 or dgV D3D12, a D3D11 nvidia driver touches the FPU for this operation. That's why wrong vertex data gets written into the buffer, resulting in wrong texture coordinates.
I had a very similar case previously (Teenage Ninja Mutant Turtles) and the only way was patching the game code because this behavior violates the x86 calling convention rules.

Meanwhile I fixed the D3D12 threading problem, I can recommend this one:
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodoo_2_78_2_D3D9_threadingfix.zip

Reply 9 of 16, by umisery

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Awesome, thank you for the quick fix! Will use that for now 😀

Is patching Juiced to get it working possible in the near future? Definitely out of my skill capabilities, although I assume since it uses heavy DRM it might not be feasible?

Reply 10 of 16, by Dege

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Actually I whipped up a patch for that, but I don't know if I found all affected locations in the code. I encountered 2, one for the starting screen/menu and another for the milemeter hand(s).

http://dege.fw.hu/temp/Juiced_FPU_patch.zip

Let me know if there are others, and I might make this patch complete.

Reply 11 of 16, by umisery

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote on 2022-04-05, 18:12:

Actually I whipped up a patch for that, but I don't know if I found all affected locations in the code. I encountered 2, one for the starting screen/menu and another for the milemeter hand(s).

http://dege.fw.hu/temp/Juiced_FPU_patch.zip

Let me know if there are others, and I might make this patch complete.

Thank you heaps! Looks like the patch is based on the v1.0 executable and not v1.1? I have the v1.1 update installed so don't think I can test the patch 🙁

Reply 13 of 16, by umisery

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote on 2022-04-06, 18:49:

I updated the .zip content but I'm not sure if it's the 1.01 version of the executable. The file version is the same of both 1.0 and 1.01.

Thank you, I appreciate the continued support and responses. The executable has the same file version, but different dates. v1.0 is dated 18th Apr 2005 and v1.01 is dated 08th Jul 2005 (you can use ProtectionID to see the file compile dates). Your patch is the same version/date as v1.0 I'm afraid.

You can find the updated executable here: https://community.pcgamingwiki.com/files/file … juiced-patch-1/

Again, thank you!

Reply 15 of 16, by umisery

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote on 2022-05-01, 16:48:

Oh, sorry, I completely forgot about this.
So, yes, but that exe file is protected, I couldn't just port the modification into it. 😐

Thanks for responding back 😀

If not a direct .exe modifiation, would it be possible to do so via .asi like the following mods?

https://github.com/TFP-dev/JuicedWidescreenFix
https://github.com/GrimMaple/JuicedFixes