OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby noop » 2018-9-04 @ 16:37

Artigkar wrote:Yet somehow the driver for OPL3LPT is not working with adlib, dunno what the issue is here. Any ideas?

This was discussed in OPL2LPT thread. In order to not break many games, driver introduces artificial delays that are often too excessive for some of these games.
User avatar
noop
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2015-7-20 @ 15:42
Location: Belarus, Minsk

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby dreamblaster » 2018-9-04 @ 17:04

noop wrote:
Artigkar wrote:Yet somehow the driver for OPL3LPT is not working with adlib, dunno what the issue is here. Any ideas?

This was discussed in OPL2LPT thread. In order to not break many games, driver introduces artificial delays that are often too excessive for some of these games.

You can try the nopatch option in the TSR ?
Visit http://www.serdashop.com for retro sound cards, MIDI PCB's, and video converters
OPL2LPT, OPL3LPT, X2, S2, S2P, MCE2VGA, ... many projects ! Have a look, and thanks for your support !
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 595
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby Artigkar » 2018-9-05 @ 19:28

I am trying the nopatch option now. First attempt with Pinball Fantasies is unsuccessfull :(

Sound was set to maximum quality in setsound and the game is quite slowed down still.
On the plus side the sound seems to be slightly less slower than before on that quality setting, game is still a slideshow.
I will try lowering the sound quality for the second attempt.
User avatar
Artigkar
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-7-21 @ 16:25

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby Artigkar » 2018-9-05 @ 19:43

Ok, it turns out turning down sound quality made the game run normal.
I did not expect the adlib to be more demanding than covox for this game :exclamation:

Anyway, I am happy with this card so far :happy:
User avatar
Artigkar
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-7-21 @ 16:25

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby Great Hierophant » 2018-9-07 @ 13:06

The method for generating digital sounds on an Adlib is more resource intensive than a simple Covox. On the Covox, you can just send the bytes of your sample to the DAC. On the Adlib, you have to program a chip that is designed to produced modulated sine waves into a state which it can output a user-defined waveform. Additionally, you have to account for the delays inherent in writing to the chip, it can only accept data so fast.
http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/ - Nerdly Pleasures - My Retro Gaming, Computing & Tech Blog
User avatar
Great Hierophant
l33t
 
Posts: 2373
Joined: 2003-4-27 @ 08:20

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby custm42435 » 2018-9-14 @ 23:22

dreamblaster wrote:
custm42435 wrote:I ordered my OPL3LPT and have it on its way to me now. Do you have the files available for the case to 3d print? I was going to print my own in blue when it arrives. Plan on using this on my PS/2 line of computers where a Microchannel sound card is out of the question due to the extreme prices for a MCA soundcard. My PS/2 P70 waits patiently for it lol

Wow blue will be nice on your PS/2. In attachment you find the STL file (for your personal use).
Looking forward to a photo of the result in this thread :-)


Just received mine in today and getting used to it and patching games. I take it so far it doesn't work correctly with monkey island? Lol sounds were all messed up XD but wolfenstein worked good after the patch. Is there any functionality of this in Win 3.1? I tried installing Adlib drivers in 3.1 but got nothing after i installed them. Thanks for the 3d file for the case! i will print one off as soon as i get a spool of blue in. (it's on the way) ;)

There was one game i tried setting to normal soundblaster since it didnt have adlib as an option but it wouldnt finish setup because i had no set blaster commands in autoexec.bat. Do i need to add a "SET BLASTER" command for this at all?
One other thing i can confirm is that it DOES work when plugged in to the passthrough port of a backpack parallel port cd-rom drive which is where mine is being used since the PS/2 P70 didn't come with a cd-rom drive and i wanted to try to add one and see if it would work.
custm42435
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-1-04 @ 02:50
Location: Chattanooga, TN USA

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby Artigkar » 2018-9-15 @ 15:28

custm42435 wrote:
dreamblaster wrote:
custm42435 wrote:I ordered my OPL3LPT and have it on its way to me now. Do you have the files available for the case to 3d print? I was going to print my own in blue when it arrives. Plan on using this on my PS/2 line of computers where a Microchannel sound card is out of the question due to the extreme prices for a MCA soundcard. My PS/2 P70 waits patiently for it lol

Wow blue will be nice on your PS/2. In attachment you find the STL file (for your personal use).
Looking forward to a photo of the result in this thread :-)


Just received mine in today and getting used to it and patching games. I take it so far it doesn't work correctly with monkey island? Lol sounds were all messed up XD but wolfenstein worked good after the patch. Is there any functionality of this in Win 3.1? I tried installing Adlib drivers in 3.1 but got nothing after i installed them. Thanks for the 3d file for the case! i will print one off as soon as i get a spool of blue in. (it's on the way) ;)

There was one game i tried setting to normal soundblaster since it didnt have adlib as an option but it wouldnt finish setup because i had no set blaster commands in autoexec.bat. Do i need to add a "SET BLASTER" command for this at all?
One other thing i can confirm is that it DOES work when plugged in to the passthrough port of a backpack parallel port cd-rom drive which is where mine is being used since the PS/2 P70 didn't come with a cd-rom drive and i wanted to try to add one and see if it would work.


Was it Monkey Island 1 you tested? That game should work with the TSR driver, not sure about the patcher though.
User avatar
Artigkar
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-7-21 @ 16:25

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby custm42435 » 2018-9-15 @ 17:30

Yes the sounds were all messed up with Monkey island 1. like a garbled mess of off-key notes etc. Wolf3d sounded like that before patching it. After running the patch Wolf3d sounded perfect.
custm42435
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-1-04 @ 02:50
Location: Chattanooga, TN USA

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby custm42435 » 2018-9-15 @ 19:51

CIV 1 garbled mess
Dune no sound
doom no sound
keen4 garbled mess
stunts garbled mess
custm42435
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-1-04 @ 02:50
Location: Chattanooga, TN USA

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby Artigkar » 2018-9-15 @ 21:29

custm42435 wrote:CIV 1 garbled mess
Dune no sound
doom no sound
keen4 garbled mess
stunts garbled mess


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adhjvT4 ... e=youtu.be

Ok, does the garbled mess sound similar to what you hear in the first test in this video?
Seems he managed to fix it.
From the video description:
"A bit of investigation by sayjionix on Vogons.org found a 1k pullup resistor is needed between pin 1 and +5v on some old PCs!
Now I have OPL2 Adlib goodness on this classic PC :)"
User avatar
Artigkar
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-7-21 @ 16:25

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby custm42435 » 2018-9-15 @ 21:51

<Solved Guys, use good USB power and not cheap EBAY ONES!> Even after adding the resistor i still get the same results. OPL2Test works fine as well as only a couple of games but most games still sound like that yes. and i am using the same machine as in the video. other computer i tried works fine though on. maybe higher resistance is needed? Making a video now will post a link when it is finished uploading to youtube.
Last edited by custm42435 on 2018-9-16 @ 19:51, edited 2 times in total.
custm42435
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-1-04 @ 02:50
Location: Chattanooga, TN USA

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby custm42435 » 2018-9-15 @ 21:58

<Solved> Here is the video of how it is acting on mine. When i first got it in, it wouldnt work when plugged straight in to the P70 same as the above video until the resistor mod. BUT when it was plugged in to the backpack cdrom it would work on some games but not others before doing the mod. Evidently the backpack cdrom added the needed resistance. Since the resistor was added it will work in either the port on the P70 or the backpack on some games but still not others. Dreamblaster even had me try adlib jukebox on it and it was garbled as well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVtRiho ... fw&index=1
Last edited by custm42435 on 2018-9-16 @ 19:50, edited 1 time in total.
custm42435
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-1-04 @ 02:50
Location: Chattanooga, TN USA

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby custm42435 » 2018-9-15 @ 22:35

Solved. see below
Last edited by custm42435 on 2018-9-16 @ 19:49, edited 1 time in total.
custm42435
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-1-04 @ 02:50
Location: Chattanooga, TN USA

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby dreamblaster » 2018-9-16 @ 06:43

custm42435 wrote:Could it be possible that the resistor only takes care of half the problem and another mod is needed on another pin to complete?

investigation started
Visit http://www.serdashop.com for retro sound cards, MIDI PCB's, and video converters
OPL2LPT, OPL3LPT, X2, S2, S2P, MCE2VGA, ... many projects ! Have a look, and thanks for your support !
dreamblaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 595
Joined: 2015-1-18 @ 19:34
Location: Belgium

Re: OPL3LPT : OPL3 FM Synthesis on parallel port

Postby custm42435 » 2018-9-16 @ 19:10

It seems we now have it solved. After the original pullup mod the next problem was the cheap ass USB supply i was using :lol: All games working fine now.. =D On a positive note while i was messing with the P70 i upgraded the CPU from a 386DX-20 to a 486DLC-33 so it is a little faster now =) Still only running at 20 mhz though until i can find a 66mhz Xtal to replace the 40mhz one on the motherboard.
custm42435
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-1-04 @ 02:50
Location: Chattanooga, TN USA

Previous

Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: istellabot [Bot], knowledge [bot] and 4 guests