VOGONS


Reply 20 of 34, by calippo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

@Joseph_Joestar - I did a clean swipe install of Win 98 SE and started following your excellent guide.

I managed to get to part 4.6, but then my computer seems to hang (eternal hourglass) when I select "Creative Technology, Ltd.", "Creative SB16 Emulation" and click Next. Opening Control Panel also took longer than usual before that.

Any ideas?

Reply 21 of 34, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
calippo wrote on 2020-08-01, 17:42:

Any ideas?

It could be due to an IRQ / DMA conflict.

Go to Start > Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Information. Once there, click on Hardware Resources and then check the IRQ and DMA sections. Specifically, check whether IRQ 5, DMA 1 and DMA 5 are used by some other device. Those are supposed to be used by the SB16 emulation device, and if some other device is sharing them, it could cause issues.

Installing DOS drivers on an Audigy2 ZS
Using Audigy drivers with a Sound Blaster Live
OPL3 vs. CQM vs. SBLive emulated FM synth
OPTi 82C930 review

Reply 22 of 34, by calippo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I did a couple of reboots, and actually managed to complete the SB16 installation! These are my current shared IRQ's and DMA's, the Radeon seems to have IRQ 5 also, is it a problem?

IRQ 3 = SB Audigy, ACPI IRQ Holder
IRQ 5 = Radeon 9800, Standard PCI to USB Host Controller, ACPI IRQ Holder
DMA 1 = Creative SB16 Emulation
DMA 5 = free
DMA 7 = Creative SB16 Emulation

Reply 23 of 34, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
calippo wrote on 2020-08-01, 18:14:

These are my current shared IRQ's and DMA's, the Radeon seems to have IRQ 5 also, is it a problem?

In my experience, IRQ sharing is always problematic when it comes to sound cards under Win98.

If possible, try to manually assign a different (free) IRQ to the Radeon, just to be safe. To free up some IRQs, go to the BIOS and disable the parallel and serial ports if you aren't using them.

Installing DOS drivers on an Audigy2 ZS
Using Audigy drivers with a Sound Blaster Live
OPL3 vs. CQM vs. SBLive emulated FM synth
OPTi 82C930 review

Reply 24 of 34, by calippo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I went into the BIOS and disabled the parallel and serial ports. Now the AUDIGY12 patch says Audigy's IRQ is 7 which would work better. I tried installing Crusader: No Remorse using 220, IRQ 7, DMA 1 ... but it hangs. Hmmm.............

The clue here is probably the colliding IRQ / DMA thingies. I'll investigate some more...

Reply 25 of 34, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
calippo wrote on 2020-08-01, 18:31:

The clue here is probably the colliding IRQ / DMA thingies. I'll investigate some more...

The SB16 emulation needs address 220, IRQ 5, DMA 1 and DMA 5 to be free for its default settings. If any of those resources are taken, it will switch to an alternate configuration changing various things around.

Right click on My Computer > Properties > Device Manager > Sound, video and game controllers > Creative SB16 Emulation > right click > Properties > Resources and see what it's using at the moment. You can also open your autoexec.bat in Notepad and check the SET BLASTER variable to see what's currently assigned.

Installing DOS drivers on an Audigy2 ZS
Using Audigy drivers with a Sound Blaster Live
OPL3 vs. CQM vs. SBLive emulated FM synth
OPTi 82C930 review

Reply 26 of 34, by calippo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

In the autoexec, my SET BLASTER was A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 T6. This caused Win98 to also freeze because of the Radeon I think. I changed it to I7 and that didn't happen anymore. So I'm guessing at least the IRQ conflict is gone.

If I go to my SB16 resources, currently it says DMA 3 and 7. I guess I should change these to the SET BLASTER command? I re-tried Crusader using DMA 1, 3, 5, 7 - nothing works 😁

In some tutorials, I've seen people re-add the SET BLASTER, CTSYN etc. configurations to the "Exit to MS-DOS" shortcut autoexec - did I need to this also? Currently I'm only running the AUDIGY12.EXE from there.

Reply 27 of 34, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
calippo wrote on 2020-08-02, 07:40:

If I go to my SB16 resources, currently it says DMA 3 and 7. I guess I should change these to the SET BLASTER command?

Yes, the settings of the SB16 emulation device should match the ones in autoexec.bat. The drivers are supposed to update this automatically, but I'm guessing it's not working in your case due to a resource conflict. Note that you can change resources manually in Device Manager if you untick "Use Automatic Settings" and then select " Basic Configuration 0002".

Ideally, you should try changing the resources of other hardware before doing anything with the SB16 device. As long as you free up IRQ 5, DMA 1 and DMA 5, the SB16 emulation device should automatically assume its default settings which are the most compatible ones.

Installing DOS drivers on an Audigy2 ZS
Using Audigy drivers with a Sound Blaster Live
OPL3 vs. CQM vs. SBLive emulated FM synth
OPTi 82C930 review

Reply 28 of 34, by calippo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Is the SB16 emulation supposed to have the same IRQ as "Creative SB Audigy"? Or a different one? Currently it's 7 on the Audigy (and in the autoexec etc.), and Windows won't let me have the same one (manually) for the SB16.

DMA is set to 3 and 7 but also 1 and 5 are free so I might change those back for compatibility.

I guess it would be easiest to change the IRQ (5) of the Radeon like you suggested, but I'm not a 100% sure how to do that (didn't find it in BIOS) 😁

Reply 29 of 34, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
calippo wrote on 2020-08-02, 08:17:

Is the SB16 emulation supposed to have the same IRQ as "Creative SB Audigy"? Or a different one?

They should be different. For the purpose of DOS gaming, it doesn't matter which IRQ the Audigy device uses.

I guess it would be easiest to change the IRQ (5) of the Radeon like you suggested, but I'm not a 100% sure how to do that (didn't find it in BIOS) 😁

It varies depending on BIOS type. On my motherboard, it's under "PCI/PNP Configurations". There are several settings there called "PIRQ_0 use IRQ No." and they are set to "Auto" by default. If I change that from Auto, it allows me to assign a certain IRQ value manually. Not all motherboards support this though.

In your case, it might be easier to try changing the Radeon's IRQ in Windows, under Device Manager by unticking "Use Automatic Settings" and then setting the IRQ manually to something other than 5. After a restart, the SB16 device should then automatically switch to its default settings.

Installing DOS drivers on an Audigy2 ZS
Using Audigy drivers with a Sound Blaster Live
OPL3 vs. CQM vs. SBLive emulated FM synth
OPTi 82C930 review

Reply 30 of 34, by calippo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

OK I managed to assign different IRQ's in the BIOS after all (couldn't do it in Windows, wouldn't let me change anything). Now the Radeon is at IRQ 9, the Audigy 2 is at IRQ 7 and SB16 can use IRQ 5.

Everything looks like it's in order! However..........if I now go to install Crusader: No Remorse, the setup no longer freezes...but there isn't any sound either. 😒

Just about ready to ditch Win 98 and go the XP + Dosbox route... 😁

(Thanks a million for your quick help, by the way!)

Reply 31 of 34, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
calippo wrote on 2020-08-02, 12:12:

Everything looks like it's in order! However..........if I now go to install Crusader: No Remorse, the setup no longer freezes...but there isn't any sound either. 😒

Check whether the SB16 device is now correctly using address 220 IRQ 5 DMA 1 and DMA 5 in Device Manager. It's important that all these resources are properly assigned.

If that's the case, check if other games work. Try Doom as an example. It's very simple to configure and should run without any issues on that setup.

I'm assuming you know that it's necessary to run AUDIGY12.EXE every time you restart in MS-DOS mode. Otherwise, the sound will be muted.

Installing DOS drivers on an Audigy2 ZS
Using Audigy drivers with a Sound Blaster Live
OPL3 vs. CQM vs. SBLive emulated FM synth
OPTi 82C930 review

Reply 32 of 34, by calippo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Managed to get it working! Just by chance I tried SBEGO.EXE and it seemed like it was playing something...I was connected to the breakout box, though 😁 I guess it won't work since it's firewire-based and that probably won't work in DOS. But anyway, connected to the back (Front L/R output jack) and voila - we have sound 😁

There is still some weirdness that I got to look at because I tried DOOM II and it crashed (reboots) with sound but worked without. Crusader works fine.

Thanks a ton for your tutorial and help!

Reply 33 of 34, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
calippo wrote on 2020-08-02, 13:42:

There is still some weirdness that I got to look at because I tried DOOM II and it crashed (reboots) with sound but worked without.

Could be due to the game version. If I remember correctly, both Doom games had some issues with certain sound cards prior to patch 1.9.

Thanks a ton for your tutorial and help!

You're welcome!

Installing DOS drivers on an Audigy2 ZS
Using Audigy drivers with a Sound Blaster Live
OPL3 vs. CQM vs. SBLive emulated FM synth
OPTi 82C930 review

Reply 34 of 34, by bloodem

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I also have multiple Audigy 2 ZS and Audigy 2 ZS Platinum sound cards. They all work perfectly in DOS (and I paired them with some pretty powerful Core 2 Duo CPUs). It's actually impressive how compatible this weird combination is. You can read more about it here: Core 2 Duo/Pentium Dual Core systems working fine with many speed sensitive DOS games.... what's going on?!

These are the drivers that I'm using. A short guide would be:
1. Extract the AUDIGY2.zip archive in C:\
2. Although ctsyn.ini should already be OK, you can check it and make any necessary modifications
3. Add the following lines to autoexec.bat:

SET CTSYN=C:\AUDIGY2
SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 T4
CD C:\AUDIGY2
SBEINIT.COM
AUDIGY12.EXE
SBECFG.EXE

Also make sure that Emm386 is loaded in Config.sys. The file should look something like this:

DOS=HIGH,UMB,NOAUTO
Device=C:\WINDOWS\Himem.Sys
Device=C:\WINDOWS\Emm386.exe RAM

After that, reboot in DOS and you should be good to go. You can also play with SBEMIXER to adjust the volumes. Hope this will help you 😀

PS: By the way, if you encounter weird issues with games that restart when configuring the sound, try changing the PCI slot and/or play with the BIOS PCI IRQ configurations.

vogons_sig.jpg