Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-12-29 @ 23:30

Can someone please attach the "older glide2x.ovl" that works with Screamer 2?

Thank you

EDIT: Solved. I downloaded a few older drivers and worked my way backwards!

Update for running Screamer 2 on: In case people are searching for this again.

Gigabyte GA-5AX
AMD K6-III+ 400 @ 66 x 6 = 400 MHz
3dfx Voodoo 3 3500
256 MB RAM
Sound Blaster AWE 64 Gold
Windows 98 SE
DirectX 7.1

What I did:

- Install the game from CD (CD is constructed from GOG.com image / MP3s) into C:\S2
- Copy S3_3DFX.EXE into C:\S2
- Copy glide2x.ovl into C:\S2
- No environmental variables needed
- Start the game with s3_3dfx

These drivers did NOT work:

--------------------------------------
Voodoo3 Windows(r) 9x/ME Driver Kit
--------------------------------------

Voodoo3(tm) Driver kit: 1.07.00-WHQL

Voodoo3 DirectX(r) Driver Version: 4.12.01.0666
Voodoo3 Win9x 2D/3D Display Drivers: 4.12.01.0666
Glide(tm) 2.X Driver: 2.61.00.0658
Glide 3.X Driver: 3.10.00.0658
OpenGL(r) Driver Version: 1.0.0.0734 ICD


--------------------------------------
Voodoo3 Windows(r) 9x Driver Kit
--------------------------------------

Voodoo3(tm) Driver kit: 1.05.00

Voodoo3 DirectX(r) Driver Version: 4.12.01.1225
Voodoo3 Win9x 2D/3D Display Drivers: 4.12.01.1225
Glide(tm) 2.X Driver: 2.61.00.0613
Glide 3.X Driver: 3.10.00.0613
OpenGL(r) Driver Version: 1.0.0.0638 ICD Beta


This driver DID work:

Voodoo3 Windows(r) 9x Driver Kit
--------------------------------------
Voodoo3(tm) Driver kit: 1.04.00
Voodoo3 Win9x 2D/3D Display Drivers: 4.12.01.1222
Voodoo3 Glide(tm) 2.X Driver: 2.61.00.0441
Voodoo3 Glide 3.X Driver: 3.10.00.0444
OpenGL(r) Driver Version: 1.0.0.0508 ICD
Voodoo3 3dfx Tools: 1.5.6.64


Game confirmed working from within Windows and also in MS-DOS mode. In MS-DOS mode game doesn't start (stuck at black screen) when EMS memory is loaded. Those who use my start-up files, just go with XMS memory option 2 and the game works:

Image

The game:

Image

Image

Image
Attachments
glide2x.zip
Contains glide2x.ovl from 1.04.00 that works with Screamer 2
(96.61 KiB) Downloaded 129 times
s2_3dfx.zip
Contains s2_3dfx.zip
(286.01 KiB) Downloaded 114 times
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby Gamecollector » 2014-12-30 @ 07:05

Have tested Voodoo2 + XMS-only MS-DOS 7.1 + old glide2x.ovl versions. As expected - no luck.
CPU was downclocked to 1.6 GHz.
2.50 from 1.02.51 and 1.02.50 freeze even w/o black screen, right after the dos/4gw banner.
All others versions - black screen freeze, no 3dfx logo.
P.S. Well, 2.50 from rc2 shows the logo. But still freezes.
Well, the result was expected, because Voodoo3 can run others "Voodoo1 only" games w/o tweaking. Like Dreams to Reality. Voodoo2 can't.
@philscomputerlab - can you test your Voodoo3 with Carmageddon Voodoo1 executable (carmav.exe)? Theoretically it must work w/o tweaking or with old glide2x.ovl versions too.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-12-30 @ 10:32

Hi I don't have this game I'm afraid.

Does the Steam version contain a disc image / based on DOSBox?
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby Gamecollector » 2014-12-30 @ 10:40

philscomputerlab wrote:Does the Steam version contain a disc image / based on DOSBox?

Dunno. I prefer cds/cd-images.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-12-30 @ 11:35

Ok the page on GOG mentions
DOSBox software mode
. Might wait for a sale and see how they packaged it. Often you can create a fully working Installation CD out of GOG DOSBox based releases.

If you would like me to test your version please send me a PM.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2015-1-02 @ 20:54

Ok I got the GOG.com version working. It actually includes 3dfx patches but I tried yours, CARMAV and it also seems to work fine.

However the game doesn't look like glide, it's weird to explain, glide games have this unique look but this one looks different. So I took some images for you to check out:

It's smooth though. With a Matrox card the patch will start but when you get to the game it lags a lot and likely runs in software mode.

Image

Image
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby Gamecollector » 2015-1-02 @ 21:05

Tnx.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby meljor » 2015-1-03 @ 13:05

I had another go at screamer2 and screamer rally, this time with my voodoo5 5500 agp system. (asus tusl2-c, p3-s 1400mhz, 512mb, win98se, soundblaster live!)

To my surprise, BOTH games start fine with the v2 executables (same used for v3) as long as i copy the v5 glide2x.ovl into the game's folder.

Unfortunately the faulty interlaced corruption is there in both games. this could be solved with the v3 by using a different version of glide2x.ovl, but i tested more than 10 different versions for the v5 and is doesn't help (they do all start the games).

Using the perfectly working glide2x.ovl from the v3 gives the error of ''no 3dfx card detected'' so that doesn't work for v5.


any thoughts on this?

Can the v5 glide2x.ovl be altered so it is the same as the working one of the v3?
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby Gamecollector » 2015-1-03 @ 13:39

Screamer 2 don't have the Voodoo2 executable. It have "Voodoo1 only" s2_3dfx.exe (1 Dec 1997, 1031 KB, crc32 - 2f963d57) and statically linked s23dfx.exe (1272 KB, crc32 - abde5417).
It looks like Voodoo3/4/5 can run "Voodoo1 only" games, Voodoo2 can't. *Censored*. "Back compatibility", my a***...
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2015-1-03 @ 14:36

Well Screamer 2 I had definitely going on a V2. Tomb Raider as well. You PC is very fast you know.

But currently I'm not working on V2, I did lots of V2 projects a ages ago, currently focussing on AGP V3 and surprised that DOS games work. I had no idea.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby meljor » 2015-1-03 @ 14:59

With v2 exec. i mean the ones that are working with v2's (as the original 3dfx exe's of both games do not work with v2)

Don't keep saying that these game don't work with v2's as atleast phil, vetz and i got them all working with v1, v2, v2 sli and v3.
As said, voodoo5 gives scanline problems (in the menu's most, racing can be done quite good)

If you can't get the game working with a voodoo2 following the exact steps on these forums then i guess your system is indeed to fast for this dos game (it shocked me that my p3 1400 could start it).
I start these games from 98se but according to Vetz it works just as well from a plain dos.


I agree that backwards compatibility of these cards are not the best and 3dfx could have done a better job in the drivers as it CAN be done to get most cards working with most games.


Try a slower (different) system if you have one and see how that goes. Preferable a p1, p2 or not too fast p3.
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby White » 2015-1-20 @ 16:14

Maybe this information will be helpful for you, guys. I intend to continue my work in this way.

Main System Configuration:
Core 2 Extreme QX9650 (@BSEL -> 800 FSB) downclocked to 1200 MHz (CPUIDMAXVAL Limit Enabled), 2 Cores Disabled
2 GB RAM
ANOVO-MODLABS Napalm FX Platinum motherboard (ANOVO AIMB-865 v1.02 based on Intel 865G chipset)
3dfx Voodoo 5 6000 @ AGP2PCI Bridge Special Edition
MS Windows 98 SE IF Edition

Interesting, but a lot of tests in MS-DOS shows me that maximum that this system can do is to show graphics corruption or black screen. I have tried different enviroment variables for VSA-100 based cards (including values that allow me to disable SLI or swith between AA modes), but, unfortunately, with no luck. Then i decided to combine two 3dfx graphics accelerators and prepared bunch of hardware for that:

Quantum3D Obsidian Voodoo graphics PCI with 4MB RAM
Canopus Pure3D Voodoo graohics PCI with 6MB RAM
3dfx Voodoo 2 1000 PCI with 12MB RAM
Quantum3D Obsidian 200 SBi PCI with 24MB RAM
PowerColor Voodoo 3 3000 PCI with 16MB RAM
3dfx Voodoo 4 4500 PCI with 32MB RAM

Other hardware do not matter in this case. I tried to run games without sound, to minimize amount of issues. Here is my testing software for a first run:

Carmageddon
Screamer 2
Nature Demo by Vertigo
Shadow Warrior (not Blood, as mentioned before)

Here is a results:

Voodoo graphics based cards do not work at all, unless i used throttle software to speeddown my CPU. As a result, all of my Voodoo games starts well, but lags. As a result i will experiment with bus speed mode and try to switch my CPU to 6.0x100 (600 MHz) by default and then i will try to use throttle.exe, i think with lower default clock i will have more options to manipulate CPU speed. FYA: When i use "throttle.exe 7", my 6.0x200 CPU slow's down to 133 MHz. In terms of Speedsys benchmark for DOS it is equals to P6 architecrure CPU at 200 MHz. As i understand, Voodoo graphics problem covered in FSB speed, not in resulting clock speed.

Voodoo2 works well in Carmageddon, Shadow Warrior and in Nature demo (but you should keep default glide2x.dll in benchmark directory), but Screamer 2 with Voodoo2 patch (exe file + batch) shows message "No 3dfx chip detected". I didn't find a solution at this time. For now Voodoo 2 is my favorite choice, of course it is just before i can start (of i can start) my Voodoo graphics from Canopus or Quantum3D.

Voodoo 3 do not work in Glide at all. I didn't lose much time for this card, because it useless for me in most cases, i have v4 PCI.
Voodoo 4 PCI works fine with Nature Demo and Screamer 2 (interlaced on-screen items). It is no sense to use this card for me, because it works not ideal and compatibility games list in comparison with Voodoo2 is much smaller.

And one more. To combine Voodoo 5 6000 with another Voodoo accelerator in Windows (Here and below i will mean only Voodoo 1 and 2, Voodoo 3 and 4 can work with Voodoo 5 6000 in one system, but it is another story) i did this:

1) In Windows 98 i've Installed Voodoo 5 6000 drivers after Voodoo1/2 driver. In device manager i have no errors or warnings, Voodoo 5 control panel works just fine, but Voodoo1/2 CP is not availble. For me it is not a problem, because i do not using Voodoo1/2 in Windows.

And for DOS everything is much more simple:

2) For DOS i have created special BOOT folder with all required drivers and utilites for DOS. This folder contains 3dfx subfolder which in turn contains Voodoo1, Voodoo2, Voodoo3, Voodoo5 subfolders with it's own Glide2x.dll, Glide2x.ovl, Glide3x.dll and fxmemmap.vxd if availble. Then i have created SwitchVoodoo# batch file (sv#.bat, where # is Voodoo number, for Voodoo 3 - sv3.bat), that automaticly clearing WINDOWS\SYSTEM folder and copying files that needed for current Voodoo hardware and Glide program.
3) If necessary, i'm copying Glide drivers to the game folder.
Last edited by White on 2015-1-21 @ 08:01, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
White
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2012-4-12 @ 15:46

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby Gamecollector » 2015-1-20 @ 17:14

Well, the only "must have" file for DOS glide is glide2x.ovl. You don't need glide2x.dll or any other file.
And yes, 3dfx drivers are CPU speed sensitive. Both DOS and Windows. Unfortunately.
We need someone with good DOS coding skills to find the reason of this speed dependency. And the fix.
Last edited by Gamecollector on 2015-1-21 @ 01:24, edited 2 times in total.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby White » 2015-1-20 @ 17:21

i'm copying Glide2/3x.dlls because sometimes it is useful when i switching between Voodoos in Windows and using batches to switch files.

For now Voodoo 1 and Voodoo 2 is the only 3dfx cards that have CPU speed dependency. And, what is interesting, in my case Voodoo 2 is CPU dependend only in SLI, i didn't have any problems in single card mode, at least in my case, in DOS and with software that i mentioned earlier.
User avatar
White
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2012-4-12 @ 15:46

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby Gamecollector » 2015-1-21 @ 01:42

As was tested above - P4 3.2 GHz can't break 2 Voodoo2 Win9x drivers versions: 3.02.02 and 3.03.00. All others can't detect the card w/o downclocking.
So maybe older Voodoo3 drivers are affected too...
Unfortunately statically linked glide games ALWAYS use oldest versions of Voodoo1 drivers. And Archimedean Dynasty needs the old glide API version too.
@white - as I understand, you tested Intel 865G + Socket 775? And it can run in DOS (because of ICH5 compatibility) and can use any of 800 MHz Core/Netburst architecture CPUs? And even 1066/1333 ones but automatically downclocks them to 800 MHz?
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby White » 2015-1-21 @ 05:51

Well, in common - yes. Motherboard has 775 socket an it is based on i865g. BIOS was modified and CPU pinouts was shorted to manually switch FSB from 1333 to 800. It was necessary because other way this board works at 100(400) MHz FSB instead of 1066 or 1333 for Core 2 CPU. Also this board supports AGP and I have HD 4670 AGP installed together with other accelerators : PowerVR and V5 6000 and now I have installed voodoo 2.
User avatar
White
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2012-4-12 @ 15:46

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby meljor » 2015-1-21 @ 21:15

@ white: When screamer 2 or rally does not detect voodoo2, try it in a different slot. I had the same problem (even with sli) and had to move it to the last pci slot to get it working. For sli i had to use the last 2 slots.
Didn't happen on other systems but on one it wouldn't work otherwise.

I have several voodoo1's and none would work on a fast tualatin system, not even downclocked to 66mhz fsb (half the speed). Simply no display when used for 3dfx.
Voodoo rush acted the same on this system and even one banshee did not even post. All these cards work perfectly on slower systems.

Voodoo1 is best used with max around p2 400mhz, on faster systems it can get graphical glitches and on very fast systems they sometimes don't even work at all. The don't scale much anyway beyond around p2-333mhz
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby White » 2015-1-21 @ 21:33

Well, today i have some good news about my Voodoo graphics. Before i could get new BIOS mod or DOS utility that allow me to downclock my CPU on the fly, i decided to disable BSEL mod, and test my system at 6.0x100=600 MHz. Every DOS utility, that knows Pentium III detects it on my QX9650, so i've got a report that Pentium III Tanner core is installed and it has 133x4.5 clock configuration. Then i started Nature Demo on Voodoo graphics from Q3D. No glitches or something like that, image is perfect, performance is OK. Next one - Screamer 2 - same result. But in Shadow Warrior, right after 3dfx logo, everything is yellow. Walls, monsters, menus.... Everything.... So, i will try to move Voodoo in PCI slots. To clarify situation i have disconnected all of my graphics cards and installed Matrox Millenium G200 AGP with only one 3dfx Voodoo, even sound cards are disconnected.
User avatar
White
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2012-4-12 @ 15:46

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby meljor » 2015-1-22 @ 22:42

That's what i call glitches....CPU still to fast So Some games have problems.
V1 does not like high speed or high FSB.
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

Re: Voodoo 2 DOS Glide compatibility matrix

Postby White » 2015-1-22 @ 23:09

Looks like you're right, yup. But... I will try to minimize system performance by additional software, also i will switch off data perfetch logic and so on. Will look for some hidden cache options in BIOS. Will see what i will find. As a little note: Canopus Pure3D in MS-DOS runs Shadow Warrior without any glitches (Pentium E6500K @ 600 MHz, DDR 400 @ 100(200) MHz ).
User avatar
White
Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2012-4-12 @ 15:46

PreviousNext

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests