VOGONS


AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Topic actions

Reply 360 of 450, by supercordo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
bloodem wrote on 2021-12-26, 17:41:
No. At least I haven't found any ATI drivers from 2000 / 2001 that were properly optimized for 3DNow!/weak SS7 CPUs. Anyway, ATI […]
Show full quote
Sphere478 wrote on 2021-12-26, 09:44:

Is there a ATI counterpart to the awesome numbers you guys are getting to these geforce 3 and quadro 2s?

No. At least I haven't found any ATI drivers from 2000 / 2001 that were properly optimized for 3DNow!/weak SS7 CPUs.
Anyway, ATI had major issues with drivers during that period, so no point in digging further.

As a rule of thumb, when dealing with SS7 (from both performance and stability standpoints), it's better to either go with a Voodoo 3 or an nVIDIA GeForce 2 (a GeForce 2 MX/MX400 is usually the sweet spot, but a GeForce 2 GTS works too as an overkill GPU). Drivers are also important, based on my tests 7.76 seem to be the best for SS7 (for the majority of games).

Just as a warning, for potential future readers: regarding the GeForce 3 discussion (and especially the GeForce 3 Ti 500!), I would only go with GeForce 3 on boards that have good AGP power delivery (which is pretty rare on SS7). The Asus P5A (at least certain later revisions) is usually decent in this regard, but I still would NEVER use a GeForce 3 Ti 500 with it long term - besides the huge power requirements that can potentially damage the motherboard, it would be completely overkill for SS7 (unless you're after quick benchmarking records).

Some power consumption examples:
GeForce 2 MX: ~4 Watts
GeForce 2 GTS: ~8 Watts
Voodoo 3 3000: ~15 Watts
GeForce 3 Ti 500: ~35 Watts

So, it's obvious that the GeForce 2 MX is by far the safest for cheap SS7 motherboards, though a bit of fine tuning will usually be required to stabilize the AGP related problems.
I actually own two boards (both are Lucky Tech) that can't properly feed current even to the Voodoo 3 3000 (AGP version).

Unless you have a Geforce 3 Ti 500 with additional power.

Attachments

  • Geforce3 Ti500.PNG
    Filename
    Geforce3 Ti500.PNG
    File size
    1.3 MiB
    Views
    610 views
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 361 of 450, by supercordo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Mamba wrote on 2022-01-05, 12:02:
Not all manufactures are good with process standardisation. The same model can be ok and a nightmare. It happens even now with b […]
Show full quote
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-01-05, 11:15:
Mamba wrote on 2022-01-05, 11:12:

Yes I know but with that motherboard is a bit hit and miss.
Your can perform quite well, another absolutely not.

I don’t understand.

Not all manufactures are good with process standardisation.
The same model can be ok and a nightmare.
It happens even now with brand new motherboards.

Freeway didnt make their own boards. Asus or TMC made most of them.

Reply 363 of 450, by bloodem

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
supercordo wrote on 2022-01-26, 03:07:

Unless you have a Geforce 3 Ti 500 with additional power.

Hehehe. That Canopus Spectra X21 is literally unobtainium for most of us. 😁
Beautiful boards... IIRC, even their GeForce 2 GTS had external power (weird flex, but OK! 😁 )

2 x PGA132 / 5 x Socket 3 / 9 x Socket 7 / 12 x SS7 / 1 x Socket 8 / 14 x Slot 1 / 5 x Slot A
5 x Socket 370 / 8 x Socket A / 2 x Socket 478 / 2 x Socket 754 / 3 x Socket 939 / 7 x LGA775 / 1 x LGA1155
Current rig: Ryzen 5 3600X
Backup rig: Core i7 7700k

Reply 364 of 450, by supercordo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
bloodem wrote on 2022-01-26, 10:10:
supercordo wrote on 2022-01-26, 03:07:

Unless you have a Geforce 3 Ti 500 with additional power.

Hehehe. That Canopus Spectra X21 is literally unobtainium for most of us. 😁
Beautiful boards... IIRC, even their GeForce 2 GTS had external power (weird flex, but OK! 😁 )

Just got it for $170 from Japan. Should be here on Friday.

Reply 365 of 450, by bloodem

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
supercordo wrote on 2022-01-26, 15:02:

Just got it for $170 from Japan. Should be here on Friday.

Considering how rare it is, that's not a bad price, actually (although still way higher than what I would be willing to pay for it). 😀

2 x PGA132 / 5 x Socket 3 / 9 x Socket 7 / 12 x SS7 / 1 x Socket 8 / 14 x Slot 1 / 5 x Slot A
5 x Socket 370 / 8 x Socket A / 2 x Socket 478 / 2 x Socket 754 / 3 x Socket 939 / 7 x LGA775 / 1 x LGA1155
Current rig: Ryzen 5 3600X
Backup rig: Core i7 7700k

Reply 367 of 450, by pentiumspeed

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

How come the Canopus did not grow so big in popularity even they did very well done designs, was even the external power is ahead of time and cooling solution well thought out?

Great Northern aka Canada.

Reply 369 of 450, by bloodem

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
pentiumspeed wrote on 2022-01-26, 16:35:

How come the Canopus did not grow so big in popularity even they did very well done designs, was even the external power is ahead of time and cooling solution well thought out?

Pricing! They were too elitist for the average gamer - the Canopus Spectra 8400 (GeForce 2 GTS) was crazy expensive at $500+, compared to other brands like the Asus V7700 which launched for ~ $350.
Because of this, they eventually stopped selling cards in the US and other western regions (I think that by the year 2001 they were selling them solely in Japan).

2 x PGA132 / 5 x Socket 3 / 9 x Socket 7 / 12 x SS7 / 1 x Socket 8 / 14 x Slot 1 / 5 x Slot A
5 x Socket 370 / 8 x Socket A / 2 x Socket 478 / 2 x Socket 754 / 3 x Socket 939 / 7 x LGA775 / 1 x LGA1155
Current rig: Ryzen 5 3600X
Backup rig: Core i7 7700k

Reply 370 of 450, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
supercordo wrote on 2022-01-26, 16:15:

If you see one with dvi please send it my way

Has anyone considered that the systems we are building are very close in specs to a AMD xBox if ever one would have existed 🤣.

It used a modified geforce 3, basically what we are using here.
It was what 6-700 mhz pentium 3? (Amd equivalence would be athalon granted,)
64mb which could be upgraded to 128 mb ram
8gb hdd (which hackers upgraded all the time)

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of

Reply 372 of 450, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
supercordo wrote on 2022-02-07, 15:42:

Does anyone know what the highest score is for MVP3?

Might be yours… did you post it here?

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of

Reply 373 of 450, by supercordo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-02-07, 19:40:
supercordo wrote on 2022-02-07, 15:42:

Does anyone know what the highest score is for MVP3?

Might be yours… did you post it here?

Its not mine. I have seen higher just not sure what the highest is.

Reply 374 of 450, by bloodem

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
supercordo wrote on 2022-02-07, 15:42:

Does anyone know what the highest score is for MVP3?

You can find some here
My guess is that the fastest scores can be achieved with VIA MVP3 boards that support FSB frequencies higher than 100 MHz (i.e. Epox boards like the EP-MVP3G5). Couple that with a bit of fine tuning and I'm sure that you can get pretty close to 5000 points in 3DMark 2000. 😀

2 x PGA132 / 5 x Socket 3 / 9 x Socket 7 / 12 x SS7 / 1 x Socket 8 / 14 x Slot 1 / 5 x Slot A
5 x Socket 370 / 8 x Socket A / 2 x Socket 478 / 2 x Socket 754 / 3 x Socket 939 / 7 x LGA775 / 1 x LGA1155
Current rig: Ryzen 5 3600X
Backup rig: Core i7 7700k

Reply 375 of 450, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Question: has everyone been running the default benchmark? Or have you guys been running low settings on 3dmark?

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of

Reply 376 of 450, by Skalabala

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-02-14, 19:25:

Question: has everyone been running the default benchmark? Or have you guys been running low settings on 3dmark?

How do you set it to low settings though? Its changeable is it?
To make it fair and more accurate it must be set to default, are you talking about the resolution?

Reply 377 of 450, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Skalabala wrote on 2022-02-15, 14:06:
Sphere478 wrote on 2022-02-14, 19:25:

Question: has everyone been running the default benchmark? Or have you guys been running low settings on 3dmark?

How do you set it to low settings though? Its changeable is it?
To make it fair and more accurate it must be set to default, are you talking about the resolution?

Idk if you can, I’ve never tried changing it but I thought I recalled that you could benchmark with non default settings.

If people are doing such a thing, It kinda makes a unlevel playing field

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of

Reply 378 of 450, by meljor

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Default setting, default resolution.

asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1

Reply 379 of 450, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Okay guys,

I got in the last two days some interesting hardware

-Freeway ultra

-Bga ram 3x 128mb, 3x 256mb

-Gf3 ti500 agp

-gf2 mx 400 pci (for the pentium mmx 233 aiming for the stars thread)

one of the 256 bga sticks is only detecting as 128mb though on this board because it’s single sided high density which sucks

Oddly, the other two 256mb sticks seem to be working in dual sided configuration which I had trouble with previously on the non ultra. Dono if the ram or the board is making it work or both.

But anyway.

It all seems to be set up and working except a few issues

I can’t seem to get the cards to display from dvi at post, only later in windows.

And I’m not sure what driver to use for each card I need one for win 9x and xp

I tried downloading the 7.76? Driver but it won’t install on the gf3 are you guys using that for gf2 cards? I tried force installing it for a gf3. Won’t work.

I managed to get the card working on forceware 40 and results were about what my 9800 pro got. Maybe a little less.

Someone mentioned that the high scores you guys are getting are from a driver glitch not actual gained performance? What are your thoughts on that?

SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)
-
Socket 5/7/SS7 (Motherboard) Tweaker
-
The coolest socket 7 motherboard that you’ve never heard of