Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby clueless1 » 2017-3-04 @ 22:20

atar wrote:
clueless1 wrote: I guess it's a chipset issue then?

Yep. Looks like it. Do you by any chance have a more modern board where you can plug the cards and boot from a floppy? I know that 440BX works. In any case, thanks for trying and reporting. The negative results are valuable. I'll try to see what may go wrong on your chipset with emulators, but that's a shaky ground. Emulators mostly hit their own bugs and not the bugs of the original chips. For instance none of PCem, 86Box and Virtual PC implement all the sequencer registers of the S3 chipsets.

I do have two other more modern systems I can test on: 440BX and i815, but neither are set up. When I get time, I can try. And thanks for the other image with disable Pentium Timestamp Counter. I will give that a try hopefully later this afternoon/evening.
The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don't know.
Let's benchmark our systems with cache disabled
DOS PCI Graphics Card Benchmarks
User avatar
clueless1
l33t
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: 2015-12-22 @ 17:43
Location: Midwest US

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby keropi » 2017-3-06 @ 12:56

allright, I did the "hurt me plenty" test -

these cards worked fine:

Image


and these cards did not, no image and when I pressed a keyboard key the system rebooted :

Image

As a sidenote I tested with a 5446 vga, it booted and keyboard commands worked (beep for example) but no image on the screen.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5371
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-3-06 @ 13:30

Thank you very much for the extensive test!

keropi wrote:and these cards did not, no image and when I pressed a keyboard key the system rebooted :

Thanks. Three of them are '375-based, so I guess it's safe to assume the 375 chip is not supported at the moment.

keropi wrote:As a sidenote I tested with a 5446 vga, it booted and keyboard commands worked (beep for example) but no image on the screen.

Oh, that's surprising. It works under qemu which supposedly emulates 5446. I guess there will be a "Does anyone still have a CL 5446..." thread in the future. Thanks for this test too.
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby keropi » 2017-3-06 @ 13:34

glad the info could help, if you need more testing just ask :)
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5371
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-3-07 @ 00:45

atar wrote:Thank you very much for the extensive test!

keropi wrote:and these cards did not, no image and when I pressed a keyboard key the system rebooted :

Thanks. Three of them are '375-based, so I guess it's safe to assume the 375 chip is not supported at the moment.


Confirmed. All of my ViRGE/DX behave like this, too. With the exception that no key press is required (automatic reboot).

powercolor_86c375.JPG

S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "PowerColor" (PCB="C325DX4 VER 1.0") = reboot
(no ROM) = reboot


eon_86c375.JPG

S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "EON EONTRONICS" (FCC ID: DXL-DP18) = reboot
(no ROM) = reboot


eon_86c375_no2.JPG

S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "EON EONTRONICS" (FCC ID: DXL-DP18) = reboot
(no ROM) = reboot


daytona_86c375.JPG

S3 ViRGE/DX 86C375 "Daytona 64V 3DX" (PCB=P612 REV:A) = reboot, no text after reboot
(no ROM) = reboot


(Pictures and video attached.)
Attachments
virge375_reboot_clip.zip
(4.24 MiB) Downloaded 6 times
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-3-07 @ 01:03

Tested a few more cards from the S3 ViRGE line:

stealth_3d_2000_86c325.JPG

S3 ViRGE 86C325 "Diamond Stealth 3D 2000" = ok
(no ROM) = ok


miro_crystal_86c988.JPG

S3 ViRGE/VX 86C988 "Miro Crystal VR2000" (FCC ID:LAHV40S3D-PCI-1) = reboot
(no ROM ) = reboot
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-3-07 @ 01:06

.. and some S3 Trios:

fastware_86c765.JPG

S3 Trio64V+ 86C765 "FASTWARE" (PCB=VC962C) = ok
(no rom) = ok


elsa_86c765.JPG

S3 Trio64V+ 86C765 "ELSA WINNER 1000TV10/V" = ok
(no rom) = ok


video22sd_86c765.JPG

S3 Trio64V+ 86C765 "Video 22SD-PCI" (PCB=EL20D-2.1LH) = ok
(no rom) = ok


86c775.JPG

S3 Trio64V2 86C775 (FCC ID:ICUVGA-GW503D) = reboot
(no rom) = reboot
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-3-07 @ 10:45

Jo22 wrote:S3 Trio64V2 86C775 (FCC ID:ICUVGA-GW503D) = reboot
(no rom) = reboot


Thank you very much! So you do have quite a couple of S3 cards. :-) So, 86C775 is not compatible either. Good to know.
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Agent of the BSoD » 2017-3-14 @ 22:16

I tried it using the first method with my three Virge GX2s, and for all of them, it just reboots. I don't see any white screen or anything. It gets to the probing pci part, gets about two more lines after that and quickly reboots the system. The chip name on them is 86C357.
K6-III+ 400MHz | FIC PA-2013 | Matrox Mystique 220 | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus | Windows 98SE
Other: S3 Virge GX2 | SB16 Vibra CT2940 | 3dfx Voodoo 1 & 2 | Matrox m3D | Rendition Vérité V1000
MT-32 (old) | SC-8820
User avatar
Agent of the BSoD
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: 2011-3-11 @ 01:26
Location: Oregon

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-3-15 @ 11:17

Thanks! Looks like only the 325 Virge chips are currently working. Can you please also try it on your Martrox Mystique? It should support some matrox cards, but from the code I don't recognize which ones.
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby wbc » 2017-3-15 @ 17:38

can't test it beacuse i don't have any floppydrives or disks atm :( but it appears that pre-ViRGE/VX cards are working properly and I assume that my Trio64V2/DX'es and Trio3D/2X wouldn't work also.
...aka wbc ^ b-state
wbc
Member
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 2015-3-14 @ 14:51
Location: Russia \ Omsk

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Agent of the BSoD » 2017-3-15 @ 18:06

Tested with my Mystique 220 (again, using the first method like last time from the original post), and it seems to soft-lock at the probe-pci line. System becomes entirely unresponsive. Only thing I can do is hard boot it at that point.

Chip is labled MGA-1164SG-A. May be important considering that some use the 1064 chip instead, which I don't have.
K6-III+ 400MHz | FIC PA-2013 | Matrox Mystique 220 | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus | Windows 98SE
Other: S3 Virge GX2 | SB16 Vibra CT2940 | 3dfx Voodoo 1 & 2 | Matrox m3D | Rendition Vérité V1000
MT-32 (old) | SC-8820
User avatar
Agent of the BSoD
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: 2011-3-11 @ 01:26
Location: Oregon

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby r00tb33r » 2017-3-15 @ 22:26

If you need more testing for S3 Trio64V+ I have a Diamond Stealth 64 VIDEO 2001 rev. K, 2MB PCI card (VRAM expansion sockets empty). I can do both with and without ROM. My system board (Intel 440BX chipset + PIII) has no onboard graphics so shouldn't be any interference there.

If you need testing done, let me know.
User avatar
r00tb33r
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2016-9-29 @ 02:50

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-3-16 @ 09:37

r00tb33r wrote:If you need more testing for S3 Trio64V+ I have a Diamond Stealth 64 VIDEO 2001 rev. K, 2MB PCI card (VRAM expansion sockets empty). I can do both with and without ROM. My system board (Intel 440BX chipset + PIII) has no onboard graphics so shouldn't be any interference there.

If you need testing done, let me know.


Yes, please. I'm primarily interested in Trio and Trio64V+ ('764 and '765) of different revisions and Diamond Stealth is indeed an interesting card.
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-3-17 @ 03:58

atar wrote:Thank you very much! So you do have quite a couple of S3 cards. :-)

Hi, yes, I do collect them (well, sort of..). It's all DOSBox's fault. ;)
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-3-17 @ 15:36

Jo22 wrote:Hi, yes, I do collect them (well, sort of..). It's all DOSBox's fault. ;)

Are you a DOSBox dev? I must confess that being a qemu/OFW dev I bought another S3 Trio64 card today (Mirage), so now I have 2.
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby Jo22 » 2017-3-17 @ 17:23

No,no, the best I was able to do in this respect was to compile it myself a few ago from the official sources (I used Mingw+Cygwin). :sweatdrop:
I keep the S3s for testing purposes, though. They are a little bit like reference hardware to me, so to say :
Before I heard about DOSBox, I had no idea about S3 cards and how compatible they were.
To me, they were just like any other VGA cards.. After using DOSBox, I found out that Virtual PC emulates the Trio32/64, too.
And after a little bit of research, I also noticed that even earlierer versions of OS/2 and Linux were supported by S3 chips.
It was also amazing to find out how trouble free these cards work with older games, like Commander Keen or demos from the demo scene.
Later Trios also got VBE 2.x compatible VGA BIOSes and so on. There are even several utilities available to add older fonts or to to tweak refresh rates, etc.
In short, the S3's do work surprinsigly quite well, are speedy and do have a nice VGA core, too. That and the fact that DOSBox uses them was enough of a
reason for me to collect them in a smaller scale.:)
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-3-17 @ 21:25

Jo22 wrote:I keep the S3s for testing purposes, though.


Which is great! Thank you again.

Btw, my new S3-Trio64 card doesn't like my machine. But I'll start a new thread about it, to keep this one clean. Maybe I'll get more '764 and '765 reports...
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby r00tb33r » 2017-3-17 @ 21:40

atar wrote:
r00tb33r wrote:If you need more testing for S3 Trio64V+ I have a Diamond Stealth 64 VIDEO 2001 rev. K, 2MB PCI card (VRAM expansion sockets empty). I can do both with and without ROM. My system board (Intel 440BX chipset + PIII) has no onboard graphics so shouldn't be any interference there.

If you need testing done, let me know.


Yes, please. I'm primarily interested in Trio and Trio64V+ ('764 and '765) of different revisions and Diamond Stealth is indeed an interesting card.

Here you go. Upon a closer look the card is actually 1MB (two 16x256K chips). Video chip is a '765.

The card:
IMG_20170317_171200.jpg
S3 Trio64V+ 86C765 - Diamond Stealth 64 VIDEO 2001 rev. K


Here's the test with ROM:
IMG_20170317_170120.jpg
test with ROM


Here's the test without ROM:
IMG_20170317_170942.jpg
test without ROM


Pictures taken from CRT.
Can type "boot" at the prompt but that doesn't boot anything. It says "Installing alarms" at the top. Should I be... alarmed?

Pardon my ignorance, so what is the purpose of your project?
User avatar
r00tb33r
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2016-9-29 @ 02:50

Re: Does anyone still have a S3 Trio 32/64/Virge cards?

Postby atar » 2017-3-18 @ 11:01

r00tb33r wrote:Here you go.

Thank you very much!
r00tb33r wrote:Can type "boot" at the prompt but that doesn't boot anything. It says "Installing alarms" at the top. Should I be... alarmed?

It should be able to boot from hard drive if there is one and if the partitions are recognized. Something like "boot /ide/disk" , or "boot /ide/disk:1" shoud work. I haven't tested it at all in this floppy though. I only cared about the video driver.
Alarm - is a watchdog (it comes with the original OFW, is not from me). So I guess you should not be alarmed. :-)
r00tb33r wrote:Pardon my ignorance, so what is the purpose of your project?


It's basically stated in the first post. You surely have heard about qemu. At the moment some work is done towards adding S3 Trio 64 emulation. S3 Trio 64 is important for me because it was used in IBM PReP machines (PowerPC). More info here: http://tyom.blogspot.de/2017/02/prep-ib ... ystem.html . Some IBM PReP machines used OFW (Open Firmware) modified by IBM and thus not quite open. I'm attempting to build a truly open OFW for [emulated] IBM 40p. But it's good to know the drivers are working on physical components too.
atar
Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:01

PreviousNext

Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nukeykt and 1 guest