VOGONS

First post, by Smack2k

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I have a Canopus Pure 3D Voodoo1 card I got with some other stuff from a guy moving...I created a cable for it from a vga cable and a mini din 9 adapter. I soldered all the pins based on a pin out I found on the web and made the cable. My soldering isn't the best, but I know all the wires were soldered to the proper pins before I put the cable together with the metal cover and then plastic cover. I have never used the card before so I don't know if it's good or not but when I plugged it in and used the adapter, the PC shows no video. Before I go get another minidin adapter and cut another vga cable up to try another adapter (the one that is made I can't really fix as there is multiple heat shrink and the pins have solder on them which would be a nightmare to clean and take apart) or hunt all over for the right cable, I wanted to know if there is anyway to verify the card is working at all?

If the cards bad no point in hunting down a cable!

Reply 1 of 14, by CkRtech

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

What 2D card are you using and how did you chain them together (I know you used your cable, I just want some more details)?

Also - did you ground the metal shell, or are you just relying on pin ground signal(s)?

Displaced Gamers (YouTube) - DOS Gaming Aspect Ratio - 320x200 || The History of 240p || Dithering on the Sega Genesis with Composite Video

Reply 2 of 14, by fitzpatr

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank