VOGONS

First post, by lafoxxx

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Hi.
I have a monitor (SyncMaster P2250) which I previously used in Win10.
I could achieve up to 75 Hz at 1920x1080 using NVIDIA Control Panel.

In Win98, I couldn't find this setting in Driver 40.72.
Decided to check using Regedit and found this:
In HKLM\Enum\Monitor I found 'MonitorRanges' string which looked loke this: "30-81,56-60,+,+". I tried to change it to "30-82,56-70,+,+" but "70 Hz" didn't appear in Adapter tab after reboot.
I also found HKCC\Display\Settings -- it had 'RefreshRate' set to '-1' -- I figured out it corresponds to currently-selected 'Optimal' refresh rate. Changint it to '70' didn't make monitpr run at 70 Hz.

Do I need to create custom monitor driver?
Can anyone give me an insight?

Reply 3 of 15, by lafoxxx

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Yes, but it doesn't support Refresh Rates more than 60 Hz.
The thing is -- I'm trying to add "custom" refresh rate, basically to "overclock" the monitor. I could do it successfully in Windows 10.

Graphic card is GeForce Ti4200-8X. You mean this resolution might not be supported at this refresh rate, but lower resolutions can do 70 Hz?

Reply 4 of 15, by derSammler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
lafoxxx wrote on 2020-05-05, 15:29:

You mean this resolution might not be supported at this refresh rate, but lower resolutions can do 70 Hz?

Yes, that's possible. The RAMDAC must be able to handle that, you can't just freely increase that.

The GeForce Ti4200-8X however should be able to do 85 Hz at that resolution. What monitor did Win98 detect? Did you try the monitor driver that wirerogue linked to?

Reply 6 of 15, by Tiido

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t