VOGONS


First post, by Zero_sugar

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I was testing a TNT card in with my SS7 system, and noticed the scores were either on par, or significantly higher than the Voodoo3 1000 @ 143mhz I had in there prior. In 3DMark99, the Voodoo3 scores 2600, and the TNT scores 3600. I then installed my 2 Voodoo2 cards in SLI and they scored 3800. I would expect the Voodoo3 to be about on par with the Voodoo2 SLI. Even with a single Voodoo2, 3DMark scored 2800.

I tried different drivers (latest reference, mikepedo, Compaq) with no significant performance difference.

Quake2 was getting 65 FPS on the Voodoo2s at all resolutions up to 1024x768 where the Voodoo3 was only getting 40 FPS.

AIDA64 says the card has 1 pixel pipeline and 2 TMUs, so it isn't a Banshee. Is there another way to check this?

The Voodoo3 shows no signs of artifacting or instability.

Both TNT and Voodoo3 are AGP

What is holding this card back?

Reply 2 of 10, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Zero_sugar wrote on 2021-03-27, 07:20:

I would expect the Voodoo3 to be about on par with the Voodoo2 SLI.

That is only the case with a Voodoo3 2000 and higher models. You wrote that you have a Voodoo3 1000 model.

I know the Velocity cards have one TMU turned off compared to the regular Voodoo3. Not sure if that's the case with the Voodoo3 1000 as well. If so, it will always be slower than the Voodoo3 2000, even at the same clock speeds. The amount of on-board memory might make a difference as well (8 MB vs. 16 MB).

PC#1: Pentium MMX 166 / Soyo SY-5BT / S3 Trio64V+ / Voodoo1 / OPTi 82C930 / AWE64
PC#2: Celeron 466 / Abit ZM6 / Voodoo3 / AWE64 Gold / YMF744 / SC-155
PC#3: AthlonXP 1700+ / Abit KT7A / GeForce4 / SBLive / ALS100
PC#4: Athlon64 3700+ / DFI LanParty / 9600GT / X-Fi Titanium

Reply 3 of 10, by Zero_sugar

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Joseph_Joestar wrote on 2021-03-27, 10:06:

That is only the case with a Voodoo3 2000 and higher models. You wrote that you have a Voodoo3 1000 model.

The 1000 is just clocked slower (125mhz) and doesn't have a heatsink. I put a heatsink on mine and clocked it to 143mhz, which is what the 2000 is clocked to.

Reply 4 of 10, by paradigital

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Zero_sugar wrote on 2021-03-27, 11:26:
Joseph_Joestar wrote on 2021-03-27, 10:06:

That is only the case with a Voodoo3 2000 and higher models. You wrote that you have a Voodoo3 1000 model.

The 1000 is just clocked slower (125mhz) and doesn't have a heatsink. I put a heatsink on mine and clocked it to 143mhz, which is what the 2000 is clocked to.

IIRC the 1000 was an 8MB OEM only part. No idea if the lack of additional 8MB of VRAM would impact performance that much however.

Reply 6 of 10, by Zero_sugar

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
mwdmeyer wrote on 2021-03-27, 09:38:

What motherboard, cpu and v3 drivers?

I've tried the latest reference driver, the OEM Compaq driver, and two beta drivers. Similar results for each.

PC is a ASUS P5A-B (ALi chipset), k63+ 450, and 128MB.

I'll be testing it in a p3 system once I clear some space.

Reply 7 of 10, by Thandor

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

If I remember correctly the vSync is turned on by default with the latest 3dfx drivers. Try turning vSync off and benchmark again. You can either use 3dfx Tools or VControl to tweak these settings. VControl has more options, however, several of the options may hurt (or actually improve if you tune them right!) image-quality.

thandor.net - hardware
And the rest of us would be carousing the aisles, stuffing baloney.

Reply 8 of 10, by bloodem

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

This is a pretty common issue, and I've had it on all the Ali Aladdin V boards that I tried, including the Asus P5A rev 1.04.
The solution is to use the Ali AGP Tool: Manual settings --> Frame Buffer Size: set to "All" & Write Allocation: "Enable without Hole". Save and restart.

I've used this ALI Aladdin V driver and the attached ALI AGP utility.

Attachments

  • Filename
    ALI_agp_utility140.zip
    File size
    47.03 KiB
    Downloads
    11 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
Last edited by bloodem on 2021-04-14, 06:31. Edited 1 time in total.

2 x PGA132 / 5 x Socket 3 / 9 x Socket 7 / 8 x SS7 / 1 x Socket 8 / 11 x Slot 1 / 3 x Slot A
5 x Socket 370 / 8 x Socket A / 2 x Socket 478 / 2 x Socket 754 / 3 x Socket 939 / 4 x LGA775 / 1 x LGA1155
Current rig: Ryzen 5 3600X
Backup rig: Core i7 7700k

Reply 9 of 10, by Zero_sugar

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
bloodem wrote on 2021-03-28, 14:14:

This is a pretty common issue, and I've had it on all the Ali Aladdin V boards that I tried, including the Asus P5A rev 1.4.
The solution is to use the Ali AGP Tool: Manual settings --> Frame Buffer Size: set to "All" & Write Allocation: "Enable without Hole". Save and restart.

I've used this ALI Aladdin V driver and the attached ALI AGP utility.

Thank you. I was finally able to get that PC back on the bench. Works flawlessly now.

Reply 10 of 10, by bloodem

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

You're welcome, glad it worked for you 😀

2 x PGA132 / 5 x Socket 3 / 9 x Socket 7 / 8 x SS7 / 1 x Socket 8 / 11 x Slot 1 / 3 x Slot A
5 x Socket 370 / 8 x Socket A / 2 x Socket 478 / 2 x Socket 754 / 3 x Socket 939 / 4 x LGA775 / 1 x LGA1155
Current rig: Ryzen 5 3600X
Backup rig: Core i7 7700k