VOGONS


AGP Pro and Voodoo 5 voltages

Topic actions

Reply 20 of 41, by JayAlien

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I agree the manual does state the motherboard supports AGP 2x. But I still want to test 😉

I dug around in my parts box and I've got a Radeon 7000 AGP, and a Radeon 7500 AGP. These have both the 1.5V and the 3.3V notches so I'm assuming these can run on either voltage and arent't a good test.

I can see an ATI Rage Fury for sale keyed for 3.3V, or is there something more budget oriented to test with?

DOS: P75, SB32, Adlib, 8MB
DOS: P100, S3 Virge DX, AWE64, 32MB
98SE: P233MMX, Rage128Pro, AWE64, 128MB
98SE: P3-1Ghz, Voodoo3, SBLive, 256MB
98SE: Athlon3200+, X850pro, Audigy2ZS, 512MB
2K: P4 3.4G, 6800XT, Audigy2, 1GB
XP: i7-975, GTX570, X-Fi, 3GB

Reply 21 of 41, by igna78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

If you want to try your V5500 without risking (for heaven's sake I understand), then for the test you will need an Agp 1.0 board with good pretensions, let's say that a Riva TNT would be fine (consider that you can only evaluate the supply voltage and not the watts supplied which, however, in the case of the V5500 as mentioned several times, are supplied for the greater part by the molex)

Reply 23 of 41, by paradigital

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

If you want to pick up a cheap AGP 2x only card, the ATi Rage Pro Turbo can be had cheaply as no-one wants them!

£6.99 on eBay currently.

Reply 24 of 41, by JayAlien

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Again, thanks all for the input. I picked up on Rage Pro Turbo off ebay, just as a sanity check.

DOS: P75, SB32, Adlib, 8MB
DOS: P100, S3 Virge DX, AWE64, 32MB
98SE: P233MMX, Rage128Pro, AWE64, 128MB
98SE: P3-1Ghz, Voodoo3, SBLive, 256MB
98SE: Athlon3200+, X850pro, Audigy2ZS, 512MB
2K: P4 3.4G, 6800XT, Audigy2, 1GB
XP: i7-975, GTX570, X-Fi, 3GB

Reply 25 of 41, by BigDaddyM

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

There was no reason to do that. Medion 2001 aka Asus Cuv-4x wilk work properly with any 3.3V AGP card including voodoo cards. It has Via694X chipset and VIA stopped supporting 3.3V AGP voltage in last CF revision of KT333 chipset years later.

Via694X is a Pentium 3 chipset, again, years before 0.8V/1.5V AGP motherboards only 😀

Better double check your PSU 😀

Reply 26 of 41, by Aebtdom

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Yeah that would be a greater risk, power stability of your molex connector on your psu.

AMD XP2400+, 512MB DDR 333, GA-7VRXP KT333
3Dfx VD 5 5500 64MB AGP 2X
SATA 150 TXII + 80GB WD SATA, 40GB WD IDE, Creative SB Live
(3Dfx V 2 Creative + 3Dfx V 2 A-Trend Helios)
Win98 SE Dx9.0c, IIyama Vision Master 1451 19"

Reply 27 of 41, by JayAlien

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Good reminder on the PSU!
The one in this build is a thermaltake 430W, less than six months old, I've got a spare molex available (I think the molex are on the 5V rail, right?), rails are:

+3.3V@20A,
+5V@24A,
+12V1@14A,
+12V2@15A,
-12V@0.3A,
+5VSB@2A

Should be good??

DOS: P75, SB32, Adlib, 8MB
DOS: P100, S3 Virge DX, AWE64, 32MB
98SE: P233MMX, Rage128Pro, AWE64, 128MB
98SE: P3-1Ghz, Voodoo3, SBLive, 256MB
98SE: Athlon3200+, X850pro, Audigy2ZS, 512MB
2K: P4 3.4G, 6800XT, Audigy2, 1GB
XP: i7-975, GTX570, X-Fi, 3GB

Reply 28 of 41, by MadYoshi

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
JayAlien wrote on 2021-04-10, 19:31:
In my original message I stated: […]
Show full quote

In my original message I stated:

'ASUS CUV4X-M branded as a Medion 2001 with an AGP-Pro slot'

Upon digging, I think I'm slightly off, I should have said:

'ASUS CUV4X-CM branded as a Medion 2001 with an AGP 4x Slot'

Looking at the diagram above, the slot appears to be an AGP Universal (non-pro).

Does this change anything being that it's still a universal slot?
Thanks,
J

Both Mainboards the CUV4X-M and the CUV4X-CM can provide 1,5V and 3,3V for the AGP Slot.

The extension "Pro" has no influence on standard AGP cards. The "Pro" extension offers an additional option for workstation graphics cards to draw more power. Like some Geforce256 cards or later ATI Fire Cards.
Example: https://vgamuseum.ru/gpu/nvidia/asus-v6600mx- … eforce-256-ddr/

In the Voodooalert forum there is a list of compatible mainboards for Voodoo cards.
https://www.voodooalert.de/board/forum/index. … ten-mainboards/

Reply 30 of 41, by JayAlien

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

So whilst I have the attention of such a knowledgeable group, if I chose to put the V5-5500 into my Socket 370/Tualatin 1.4GHz/Intel 815EP/ASUS TUSL2-C/Universal AGP PC is that going to be good with the 3.3V too?

Edit: Added motherboard model which I had omitted.

Last edited by JayAlien on 2021-04-12, 21:28. Edited 1 time in total.

DOS: P75, SB32, Adlib, 8MB
DOS: P100, S3 Virge DX, AWE64, 32MB
98SE: P233MMX, Rage128Pro, AWE64, 128MB
98SE: P3-1Ghz, Voodoo3, SBLive, 256MB
98SE: Athlon3200+, X850pro, Audigy2ZS, 512MB
2K: P4 3.4G, 6800XT, Audigy2, 1GB
XP: i7-975, GTX570, X-Fi, 3GB

Reply 32 of 41, by igna78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
JayAlien wrote on 2021-04-12, 01:13:

So whilst I have the attention of such a knowledgeable group, if I chose to put the V5-5500 into my Socket 370/Tualatin 1.4GHz/Intel 815EP/Universal AGP PC is that going to be good with the 3.3V too?

Given that you shouldn't have any problems (the 815EP chip provides full support for Agp 1.0 and therefore 3.3V power supply), perhaps to avoid problems you could say on which motherboard you would like to install the V5500, so it happens that, for some particular oddity (read construction economics) does not give problems.
Then, as you have already mentioned, check capacitors and power supply.

In my experience for Tualatin builds, as a motherboard the best compromise between stability and support in the past (read isa slot available) is Abit VH6T, with capacitors replaced and with the latest bios update.

Reply 33 of 41, by JayAlien

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thanks, I knew there was something I'd missed, it's an ASUS TUSL2-C

There were 4 bulging capacitors which I replaced. After some thought I think I'm going to put the V5 in the motherboard which was initially mentioned, seems more period 'correct'.
Thanks,
J

DOS: P75, SB32, Adlib, 8MB
DOS: P100, S3 Virge DX, AWE64, 32MB
98SE: P233MMX, Rage128Pro, AWE64, 128MB
98SE: P3-1Ghz, Voodoo3, SBLive, 256MB
98SE: Athlon3200+, X850pro, Audigy2ZS, 512MB
2K: P4 3.4G, 6800XT, Audigy2, 1GB
XP: i7-975, GTX570, X-Fi, 3GB

Reply 34 of 41, by igna78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
JayAlien wrote on 2021-04-12, 21:28:
Thanks, I knew there was something I'd missed, it's an ASUS TUSL2-C […]
Show full quote

Thanks, I knew there was something I'd missed, it's an ASUS TUSL2-C

There were 4 bulging capacitors which I replaced. After some thought I think I'm going to put the V5 in the motherboard which was initially mentioned, seems more period 'correct'.
Thanks,
J

Granted that I am not a maniac of the historical correctness of a build (even in the real world there are people who kept a motherboard they were satisfied with, updating everything they could over time, up to having a motherboard and a CPU even 2/3 generations away - think that I had an Abit BH6 ver. 1.02 which last had a P3-800 with a GeForce 400mx), certainly the CUV4X-C with a nice 1GHz P3 will be good companions for the V5500, but it is sure that the TUSL2-C with a nice 1.4GHz Tualatin will allow the V5500 to give the maximum for an Intel-based system
😉

Reply 35 of 41, by shamino

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
igna78 wrote on 2021-04-11, 09:03:
The super socket7 cards (because these were with agp slots and not the socket7 systems which only had pci slots), were compliant […]
Show full quote

The super socket7 cards (because these were with agp slots and not the socket7 systems which only had pci slots), were compliant with the agp 1.0 standard with 3.3V supply voltage
However, it is true that despite having the right power supply voltage, often (for productive saving choices) they did not guarantee adequate power (read watts) therefore cards that required more power were poorly powered with all the resulting problems.

The system specification slot1 cards are all AGP 1.0 with 3.3V supply voltage
In these cards, especially if Asus or Abit and if the chipset is Intel and if not damaged by time or badly used, there is always an adequate power supply.
In the cheap cards or with the Via, Sis chipset, sometimes despite having 3.3V of voltage, the power is lacking - watts - so the most demanding cards could have operating problems, with the exception of those, such as power supply via molex which absorb the most part of the power needed by the molex.

The distinction between 3.3V/1.5V/0.8V AGP slots refers to voltage levels of the logic signals. It is not power supply voltage. If the card drives the wrong logic levels it might damage the motherboard, putting the board into an undefined state and then who knows what happens to the card.
Even the latest AGP slots still had 3.3V, 5V, and 12V power supply pins. Anything less than that has to be generated on the card.

The problem with inadequate onboard 3.3V power supplies in many early AGP motherboards is a separate issue from the signal voltage levels. The Asus P2L97 was one of the boards with that problem, so they weren't above committing that error and I don't expect ABit was above it either. The OPs motherboard is too late to be worried about that though.

I don't have a Voodoo5, but if I did, my approach (with *any* motherboard) would be to first do everything you can to verify that the motherboard supports 3.3V signaling, and *then* try out a burner card as has been suggested.
While using the burner card, use whatever diagnostic tools and knowledge you have to convince yourself that it's working correctly. Voltmeter, oscilloscope, whatever you got. Check PCI/AGP clock frequencies and even power supply ripple if you can. If convenient, run an extended stress test on the burner card and repeat your voltage checks, make sure nothing is dying. It's up to you to decide how thorough you want to be, but the premise here is that you're about to trust the system with something almost as valuable as your firstborn.
Using burner components is a good idea when dealing with old hardware. For all you know there could be some unknown fault with the board or the PSU that will kill any video card you plug into it. You'd rather find that out with cheap parts instead of something expensive.

Reply 36 of 41, by igna78

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

@shamino, punctual and precise correction, I apologize if I abbreviated by speaking in a generic way of power supply, I assumed it was referring to logic since speaking of the V5500 I said that most of the board's requirements are given through molex.

The P2L97 is a card nightmare that I had removed, however I don't remember such serious problems with TNT2 64M and Voodoo Banshee (I had a friend with that card, who liked to experiment).
I remember it was very slow. In comparison the Abit AH6 (which certainly wasn't among the best Abit slot1 cards) was a splinter as well as very stable (especially if you changed the poor quality capacitors it mounted - damn plague of capacitors).

Reply 37 of 41, by JayAlien

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

To close this out - V5500 installed and running great. Some quick benchmarks:
P3-1000EB
256MB Ram

V3-3000
3dmark 1999 - 6591
3dmark 2000 - crash

V5-5500
3dmark 1999 - 6460 (yep, a bit less)
3dmark 2000 - 4229

Thanks!

DOS: P75, SB32, Adlib, 8MB
DOS: P100, S3 Virge DX, AWE64, 32MB
98SE: P233MMX, Rage128Pro, AWE64, 128MB
98SE: P3-1Ghz, Voodoo3, SBLive, 256MB
98SE: Athlon3200+, X850pro, Audigy2ZS, 512MB
2K: P4 3.4G, 6800XT, Audigy2, 1GB
XP: i7-975, GTX570, X-Fi, 3GB

Reply 38 of 41, by Aebtdom

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

First of all, congratulations on getting the card to run.

Further: These 3dmark scores are interesting to say at the very least. With single chip the voodoo 5 even outperforms the voodoo 3 on default settings in 3dmark99 on my system. What driver are you using?

AMD XP2400+, 512MB DDR 333, GA-7VRXP KT333
3Dfx VD 5 5500 64MB AGP 2X
SATA 150 TXII + 80GB WD SATA, 40GB WD IDE, Creative SB Live
(3Dfx V 2 Creative + 3Dfx V 2 A-Trend Helios)
Win98 SE Dx9.0c, IIyama Vision Master 1451 19"

Reply 39 of 41, by JayAlien

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I used the drivers on the CD version 1.3 on the Vogons drivers repository.

http://vogonsdrivers.com/getfile.php?fileid=546&menustate=0

Looking in device manager, it's listed as
3dfx Voodoo Series
Driver Date: 7-9-2000

and looking at the driver file details, the version on the files is:

4.12.01.0584

Does this seem off?
Thanks!

DOS: P75, SB32, Adlib, 8MB
DOS: P100, S3 Virge DX, AWE64, 32MB
98SE: P233MMX, Rage128Pro, AWE64, 128MB
98SE: P3-1Ghz, Voodoo3, SBLive, 256MB
98SE: Athlon3200+, X850pro, Audigy2ZS, 512MB
2K: P4 3.4G, 6800XT, Audigy2, 1GB
XP: i7-975, GTX570, X-Fi, 3GB