VOGONS


First post, by kisikis

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

So I recently got into old computers again for nostalgia (and coolness, of course).
One of the computers I've got is a Laser 386SXE that I've been enjoying. It's a 16MHz 386.
A problem that I've encountered is that one of my CRT monitors seems to not work with it anymore.
It's a 15" LEO 15cx
What I've tried so far is testing the computer with other monitors, it works fine, and testing the monitor with other computers, again fine.
What am I missing?

Reply 2 of 8, by weedeewee

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

if your computer works fine with different monitors, and the old monitor works fine on other computers... I'ld guess the problem lies with the connectors.

Right to repair is fundamental. You own it, you're allowed to fix it.
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Do not ask Why !

Reply 3 of 8, by kisikis

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
kixs wrote on 2021-04-20, 20:49:

I would try changing the VGA card.

but the card works fine with other monitors.
Edit: and I don't have another ISA VGA card (yet)

Last edited by kisikis on 2021-04-20, 22:27. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 4 of 8, by kisikis

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
weedeewee wrote on 2021-04-20, 20:55:

if your computer works fine with different monitors, and the old monitor works fine on other computers... I'ld guess the problem lies with the connectors.

It's quite a weird problem.. the VGA cable on the monitor is molded/stuck to the monitor, but that can't be the problem, since it works on multiple other computers. I've looked at the pins in the connector and they don't look bent.

Reply 5 of 8, by gca

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Maybe the display is set for the wrong refresh rate. Had that problem once, did a factory restore on a machine and it would only work with a CRT until I got it adjusted to a rate compatible with newer screens. Though that would only cause the problem when running Windows, DOS shouldn't have that problem.

Reply 6 of 8, by kisikis

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
gca wrote on 2021-04-20, 22:55:

Maybe the display is set for the wrong refresh rate. Had that problem once, did a factory restore on a machine and it would only work with a CRT until I got it adjusted to a rate compatible with newer screens. Though that would only cause the problem when running Windows, DOS shouldn't have that problem.

I guess it's possible. The VGA card (a WD90C00-JK) has DIP switches for refresh rate settings, although I tried some different settings and nothing seemed to work
Edit: and it just displays nothing at any point from flipping the switch to the DOS prompt

Reply 7 of 8, by mr.cat

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

A bit of a long shot, but how does your monitor get its power?
Some of the old ones used the same psu as the actual computer and sometimes that didn't provide enough juice.

Reply 8 of 8, by kisikis

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
mr.cat wrote on 2021-04-21, 10:06:

A bit of a long shot, but how does your monitor get its power?
Some of the old ones used the same psu as the actual computer and sometimes that didn't provide enough juice.

The power cable can be changed, I had it connected to the psu output, but I've also tried it with another cable straight to the wall.
I don't get what the problem is, it's like the monitor doesn't like this particular computer anymore... It worked the day before and I didn't change anything then.
I guess I'll just get another monitor then.