Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Getting old DOS games working on modern hardware. (DOSBox topics belong in DOSBox areas below, not here).

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby krcroft » 2018-12-28 @ 02:28

doaks80 wrote:
krcroft wrote:https://drive.google.com/file/d/1jt5Nz8VTTIR-1R8_pOS9zOX41aZJ3c-0/view?usp=drivesdk

Temporary offsite link.


I just tried MI2 with the above using dosbox and an external CM32L and I hear midi out of one set of speakers and sound effects out of the other. Nice work!

Edit: is there a version of this for MI1?


Thanks for confirming the link is healthy.

Passing your thanks onto NewRisingSun, the patch author.

Regarding an equivalent fix for MI1 - there was mention of it here:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=35820#p308762
User avatar
krcroft
Member
 
Posts: 207
Joined: 2017-4-29 @ 15:07
Location: Ogden's Retreat

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby doaks80 » 2018-12-28 @ 03:45

krcroft wrote:
doaks80 wrote:
krcroft wrote:https://drive.google.com/file/d/1jt5Nz8VTTIR-1R8_pOS9zOX41aZJ3c-0/view?usp=drivesdk

Temporary offsite link.


I just tried MI2 with the above using dosbox and an external CM32L and I hear midi out of one set of speakers and sound effects out of the other. Nice work!

Edit: is there a version of this for MI1?


Thanks for confirming the link is healthy.

Passing your thanks onto NewRisingSun, the patch author.

Regarding an equivalent fix for MI1 - there was mention of it here:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=35820#p308762


Tried that with the Steam version of MI1SE and it did not work...music comes out of the Roland but no sound effects or speech :(

Edit: Tried the GOG version and it works! It's pretty nice too. I wonder how it works...does the GoG version somehow include the old dos version somewhere? I know the graphics could be switched back and forward but I thought that was just a feature of the Special Edition.
k6-3+ 400 / s3 virge DX+voodoo1 / awe32(32mb)
via c3 866 / s3 savage4+voodoo2 sli / audigy1+awe64(8mb)
athlon xp 3200+ / voodoo5 5500 / diamond mx300
pentium4 3400 / geforce fx5950U / audigy2 ZS
core2duo E8500 / radeon HD5850 / x-fi titanium
doaks80
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 21:22

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby Burrito78 » 2018-12-30 @ 23:03

Use this link: http://web.archive.org/web/201801012052 ... =7&t=35820

The patch for MI2 is on the first post.
Three patches for different MI1 releases are on page 2 of the thread.
User avatar
Burrito78
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2018-3-13 @ 10:50

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby doaks80 » 2018-12-31 @ 00:00

Burrito78 wrote:Use this link: http://web.archive.org/web/201801012052 ... =7&t=35820

The patch for MI2 is on the first post.
Three patches for different MI1 releases are on page 2 of the thread.


Awesome thanks :) Although I have started playing with the ultimate talkie edition and I like it a lot.
k6-3+ 400 / s3 virge DX+voodoo1 / awe32(32mb)
via c3 866 / s3 savage4+voodoo2 sli / audigy1+awe64(8mb)
athlon xp 3200+ / voodoo5 5500 / diamond mx300
pentium4 3400 / geforce fx5950U / audigy2 ZS
core2duo E8500 / radeon HD5850 / x-fi titanium
doaks80
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 21:22

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby bjwil1991 » 2018-12-31 @ 00:38

Burrito78 wrote:Use this link: http://web.archive.org/web/201801012052 ... =7&t=35820

The patch for MI2 is on the first post.
Three patches for different MI1 releases are on page 2 of the thread.

You're awesome, man.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2314
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby JayAlien » 2019-2-02 @ 04:37

I'm having trouble getting this working. Running original hardware, MT-32, original floppy version (with the copy protection) with Interpreter Verson (sic) 5.2.02 (Nov 21 1991)
I applied the patch, but still no sound effects. I recently played through with SB sounds, and sound effects were there, tempted to play through with Adlib sound now to hear what I missed :)
Any ideas on the patch?
JayAlien
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-2-02 @ 04:33

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby Malik » 2019-2-16 @ 08:48

Why the patches were removed from the original post? No explanations why they were removed either.

Copyright issues, I presume.
User avatar
Malik
l33t
 
Posts: 2490
Joined: 2004-4-10 @ 14:37
Location: Malaysia

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby zarkon » 2019-2-16 @ 11:04

Malik wrote:Why the patches were removed from the original post? No explanations why they were removed either.

Copyright issues, I presume.


It's a big shame, NewRisingSun talked about trying to get the extra fm towns PCM sound effects working in MI2 (I assume like the saw in the carpenters hut). That would have been awesome.
zarkon
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2019-1-26 @ 09:30

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby Lazar81 » 2019-4-25 @ 20:59

Hello I tried the patch for Mi1 and it worked perfectly. For Mi2 it doesn't. I don't know why - followed the instructions and copied the files into the game folder. Ran apply.bat. Then I try to start the game with "monkey2 s" and screen turns black - that's all. I have to reboot then.

Could someone please help me with this. I really would like to have Mi2 running with the patch. Don't know why it doesn't work for me...
Lazar81
Newbie
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2019-4-11 @ 05:49

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby Lazar81 » 2019-5-02 @ 12:36

With support I was able to solve the problem. For everyone, who runs into the same issue: I am using a Soundblaster 16 (CT1740). There are problems with mpu-401 Interface. It can be fixed with a patch file from creative: sbmpufix - everything runs fine now.
Lazar81
Newbie
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2019-4-11 @ 05:49

Re: Monkey Island 1&2: Roland MT-32 + Sound Blaster support

Postby lukeman3000 » 2019-5-14 @ 01:01

Malik wrote:Why the patches were removed from the original post? No explanations why they were removed either.

Copyright issues, I presume.

Uh... not quite.

I'll let you draw your own conclusions. Suffice to say that the patches will live on, so I'm not really sure what this move accomplished other than portraying him in a certain light.
lukeman3000
Member
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 2009-3-17 @ 00:59

Previous

Return to DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests